We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“donnydark”
Review of Narasoma Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Narasoma Homestay
Ranked #37 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth City, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“donnydark”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

stayed here in august in room 5 at the new retreat building ( only a few months old )....fantastic place ..great staff...great pool.....really top shelf accommodation with a very nice shared kitchen and eating area)( no aircon in room as yet...but wasn't needed this time of year anyway).....yes there is some construction going on but for me that wasn't an issue.....the only slight negative I could give the place was that there was no safe in rooms of the retreat ( but there was a lockable cupboard which did the job just fine)...i stayed here a year ago and regardless of the construction work i think it was an improvement on last year......

Room Tip: the retreat rooms have some restrictions...no drinking or smoking in rooms or balcony...but....can d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    28
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
33
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is located in a small lane opposite to the football field on Monkey Forest Road. It is built on and around a traditional Balinese home so it has interesting statuettes and knick knacks strewn around. There is also a nice swimming pool on the property. However,it was very noisy with construction going on from early morning until late in the evening, so having a siesta in the afternoons is out of the question - and also sleeping in, which is what we look forward to on holidays.
We stayed on the second floor and the bed was very creaky, so getting sleep even when construction was not happening was very difficult.
The breakfast was also very inadequate with very limited choice- just toast or jaffle, eggs and fruit juice and it became very tedious to have to eat the same thing over and over again during our almost week long stay.
There are nicer and cheaper homestays and other places to stay nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VrindaMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Narasoma for 3 nights at the end of July after switching from a small homestay outside of town. We loved it here. They gave us the suite room, which is actually a separate building. I highly recommend this as it was very nice, updated, air conditioned, and very clean. It only cost us 500000 rph, as they gave us a discount due to the noise from the construction. There was construction during the day, but we do not hang out at our room all day, so it did not bother us. At night however, it is very quiet and away from Monkey Forest Road. I am a light sleeper and slept wonderfully here. The pool was beautiful but very cold. There was a little bit of construction nearby the pool as well.
Breakfast was average, but it is included and they bring it to you, so that is nice.
I think that this place will be really nice once it is complete, but is still a great deal right now.

Room Tip: The suite is it's own building, and is large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crittermedic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you don't mind the sound of drilling and hammering from 8am until 4pm then this place will be fine for you. I didn't use the pool the whole time I was there mainly because I felt uncomfortable lounging around in a swimsuit with construction workers only a couple of metres away. To be honest I wouldn't call it a homestay any more; it's more like a hotel so for the experience I was looking for this was disappointing. The local staff were however very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. The location is very central for the main Ubud attractions though bear in mind that being on Monkey Forest Road means that there is the noise of music late at night. Once the construction is finished I'm sure it will be a much nicer place to stay than I found it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights and it was the best value for money we had in Bali. Beautiful place, we were in 'Cempaka' room on top floor, lovely details and beautiful pool not far to walk away. Breakfast was only just adequate, the banana juice is great! You can easily buy a bit extra food in the street it's so close by. You can easily walk to the Ubud Palace, Markets, and Monkey Temple from Narasoma. All the taxis/drivers know of it too which was great. Was about $40 a night for two people which was great. Good massage place down the road and cooking class next door also!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here twice in June/July and loved it! We stayed on the top floor. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet (we were there while the construction was occurring and aside from having to walk through/around it, didn't notice it). We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, which had great views of the surrounding roof tops and mountains. The pool is just gorgeous and we swam every day. We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, and while the breakfast wasn't anything flash, it was perfectly adequate given the price of the accommodation.

Room Tip: The balconies on the top floor probably have the greatest privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemsdisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverley
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Sadly we are checking out of this place today. We have spent four nights here and loved it. The location is great, the room is clean and spacious and the pool area has a fantastic setting. I used to work in Indonesia so know Bali quite well and am pleased that we found this place. I would definitely recommend it to others and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverleySuze123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 196 in Ubud
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#15 of 575 in Ubud
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#26 of 575 in Ubud
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karma House
Karma House
#56 of 557 in Ubud
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Igna Bungalows
Igna Bungalows
#163 of 575 in Ubud
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Home Stay Griya Jungutan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narasoma Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narasoma Homestay

Property: Narasoma Homestay
Address: Beji Lane, Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Narasoma Homestay Hotel Ubud
Narasoma Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing