We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality was better before” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Sally

Siam Sally
Ranked #94 of 713 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Ubud, Siam Sally offers authentic home-style Thai food, set in a relaxed atmosphere great for a delicious meal or a night of live music and cocktails.
Vaud
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Quality was better before”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I come to this restaurant as often as we can and use to be very satisfied. The presentation of the dishes is always elaborate as well as the taste of the different plate I have tried since yet. But unfortunatly the last time I went there something has changed. There was less quality. My plate was nearly cold and tastless. But as usual the service was perfect. I hope that the restaurant does not content to rest on its laurels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Welcome2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Siam Sally, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Firstly, thanks for coming back. We were sorry to hear you didn't enjoy it as much this time around. We will look into the dishes and heating practices.

We do hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    179
    55
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Hughe menu, tasty juices (try the banana-passionfruit-lychee juice), fantastic food. Very friendly staff. Fresh fish on Thursday. Sometimes live music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandraonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice place, but poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went through Ubud today and decided to try Siam Sally for lunch.

The interior is nice enough and the staff is very friendly.

Unfortunately the food is unspectacular, bland and boring.

Fried rice with duck was tasteless.
Green Curry with Pork was boring and bland.
The duck breast salad came with very little duck and was bland as well.
Do not order the pizza! Its slimy and tasteless.

It seems they're trying to adjust Thai cuisine to the European taste by taking all the spices out.
The prices were a bit on the expensive side though.

Will we go back? No.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grafula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Siam Sally, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We were sorry to see you were not satisfied. Perhaps there was a communication error, as we usually ask each guest what level of spiciness they prefer in their dishes- Mild, Medium, Hot. We will look into this issue with our waitstaff and kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food but disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We ate here last night and enjoyed the food, we had the Penang Curry and the Green curry. The rice portions were quite small however. The cocktails can be slightly pricier than other places in Ubud. The staff were not particularly welcoming. The tiramisu with tart passionfruit sauce was also very disappointing. They also short changed me 50,000 Rupiah which luckily I noticed and they gave me the full change back. I wouldn't come back here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Siam Sally, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, even if critical. We will look into the issues you raised. Our apologies for your less than fantastic experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I ate here for lunch during a solo trip. I ordered a Thai Chicken Salad as I wanted to just have a light meal. While having my meal, I noticed that the chicken was a little too pink so I tried to eat around it.

Unfortunately about an hour later I was throwing up repeatedly. This continued well into the night.

I hope that my experience was a once off, as the restaurant does look good, and the service was excellent. My experience was just unfortunate.

I wouldn't say avoid this restaurant, but just be careful and speak up if you are unhappy with your meal,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cherryripe1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliGoodFood, Owner at Siam Sally, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are so sorry for your bad experience at Siam Sally and hope that you are feeling better. We are very strict with our food hygiene rules and are alarmed that such a thing has happened. I will investigate the matter with the staff. I hope to see you at Siam Sally again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Siam Sally? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing