We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Toko-Toko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toko-Toko
Ranked #147 of 584 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Cheap price. A little out of town, but that is fine in you have a scooter or take the cheap transport available just up the hill a little. Fantastic service and hospitality. Nice breakfasts with reasonable choice. We had a large double room near the pool; we were told the single rooms were a bit smaller and not as nice. So enquire. There was some construction going on when we were there (mid 2012) so it may be noisey if you want to stay in your room during the day; but we didn't and there was no noise in the morning or evening. They arranged transport for me at a very reasonable price. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were told the single rooms were small so enquire.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Toko-Toko
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 55 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

Depending what is your budget, of course:) If you don't need a $100 hotel, this is the best Bali authentic place to stay. It is like a homestay, with the family temple, pool and a few beautiful clean rooms. Heavenly relaxing place. Delicious breakfast options (you have to try black rice pudding or the pancakes). The family and staff is so nice. It's only $2-$3 by taxi ride from downtown Ubud, but you can easily walk 30 mins. Ubud is the safest place on Earth. I cried when I was leaving. I will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are newer and have lots of light.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My family and I went to stay in Toko for 2 weeks for our anniversary. This is the second time we had stayed in the resort and I have to admit that I thought very long and hard about writing this review. But, it would be remiss of me not to write this as the resort is one of the best jewels we found in all of our travels to Asia. Toko, his family and his staff made us feel like we were his family were living in a secure, peaceful, clean compound surrounded by padi fields. The food in the cafe is delish!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Djrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed at Toko Toko for five weeks this past January and February. I debated long and hard before writing this review because I really don't want this place to be known--it is a first-class, hidden jewel that needs to remain as wonderful and as genuine as it is. But I owe it to them, especially Toko and his wife, the kindest people I have ever met.
The hotel is run by Toko, his lovely wife, and a team of kind-hearted, beautiful (inside and out) people who manage the restaurants, the room and the grounds. The landscape is lush and designed in a way that pleases the eye, the pool (in the back of the hotel) opens into the rice fields and is surrounded by statues of Buddha and tropical plants. It is also long enough to allow for full lap swimming and relaxation. The rooms are all spacious, clean and harmonious. Most of them are wood-paneled all around, which makes one feel cozy and the beds are extremely comfortable. The food at the restaurant is tasty, prepared by a couple of kind and humble women who have been working there for a very long time and the waiting staff wants to please and serve at all times. I will not go anywhere else from here on and will be forced to book my trip(s) based on their availability!

Room Tip: Rooms at the top or facing the pool have the most light
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lzucchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Loved staying here. We stayed at multiple places in Ubud and this was well maintained, had newer rooms and a pool overlooking rice fields to completely relax. The staff is so friendly and nice and all the rooms are off the road. Across the street is Indus, one of our favorite restaurants and the area has a more relaxed feel than downtown. Can't beat it for the rates.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed for four nights in Toko Toko in April as it was highly recommended by a friend who is a regular visitor. We had a wonderful time and fell in love with Toko Toko and Ubud. Toko and his wife Chandi and the staff go all out to make us feel comfortable and welcome. It felt like home away from home. The setting is charming and serene. Toko had arranged for Made to take us to and from the airport and he drove us around whilst we where there. We enjoyed it so much that we are actually planning to return next month. Toko has a couple of long term paying guests who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts are delicious and the place is very clean. Highly recommended. It is the type of place that people keep returning to every year so book ahead to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Book well ahead as it gets booked up way in advance from regulars.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyonya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The delightful, clean, comfortable bungalow in this small establishment ensured peace and quiet which made our two-week stay a very memorable experience. The rice terraces provided a place for a quiet walk before breakfast, and a chance to occasionally meet the local people. The food was delicious and we were made to feel special. We did not want for anything - our clothes were laundered, rooms were cleaned daily, with fresh towels and bedlinen supplied regularly, and meals always available. I cannot recommend Toko-Toko highly enough. I will be returning in 2012 and look forward to reliving my Toko-Toko experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rice terraces provide a wonderful view, and are quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kori Ubud Resort & Spa
Kori Ubud Resort & Spa
#123 of 199 in Ubud
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Kusnadi Hotel
Kusnadi Hotel
#45 of 87 in Legian
234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#59 of 199 in Ubud
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anhera Suite
Anhera Suite
#220 of 584 in Ubud
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toko-Toko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toko-Toko

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 584 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Toko-Toko Hotel Ubud
Toko-Toko Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing