We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #7 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
KL
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Loved all the art details in the room. The food was tasty, fresh and reasonably priced! Both of us had a great time here, it was our honeymoon. We came during the rainy season but it was alright as you get umbrellas provided with the room and can take them with you when you go out. This place thinks of all the details...they provide bicycles, and a Mac computer in the lounge if you want to get internet. We are looking forward to come back for more of this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NissaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    60
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
117
325
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The place is charming, the staff was great. We really had a good time there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tissa36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The Purist is a beautifully designed boutique hotel.
We loved our villa (Bamboo) and great service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrei8papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed at the Purist in January 2011 and were extremely impressed with everything about the hotel. It is a boutique style hotel where it feels like you are staying in your own private home. The staff are super friendly and serve every need and beyond with a smile. We stayed in both the Bamboo house and the Timor Villa - both of which are beautifully designed. The Timor takes the cake as it has stupendous views and is nestled into the rainforest. This place was the highlight of the hotels we stayed in throughout our two weeks in Bali. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingypsy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

A well designed private complex of seven villas. We booked the River Residence which is two villas with one large living area. The adjacent villa (jungle Villa) was unoccupied so we had the entire pool to ourselves. Great service, friendly staff and enjoyable daily breakfast in our villa served by our delightful and attentive butler. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmhnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We did a lot of research on Tripadvisor before deciding on the Purist. It had consistently high reviews and we were very impressed with what we read and what we saw on their website. Email contact with the Purist to book our holiday was prompt, courteous and warm. It gave us a good feeling for the holiday to come.

We stayed in the Hill villa with our teenage daughter and had a wonderful time. The Purist is a truly lovely place, not just because of the beautiful villas, gracious layout and serene environment, but also very much because of the staff. We were made to feel so welcome; hospitality and courteousy is a constant theme and it makes for a very relaxed atmosphere. Everyone is so hospitable, from the manager and the reception staff, to the butlers, the massage therapists and the drivers. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always smiling.

The reception staff arranged a few tours of Bali for us (these were conducted by a personal driver and were terrific). They also arranged for us to spend a day with a local family learning to cook authentic Balinese cuisine, which was a great experience.

The food at the Purist is superb. We ate there most evenings, as it was such great food and so relaxing to eat on the deck of our villa, surrounded by beautiful gardens and inquisitive geckos! The breakfasts are also terrific; all the food is so fresh and beautifully presented. It makes for a great way to start the day.

No doubt there are other very nice places to stay in Ubud, but there is something quite special about the Purist. If we go back to Ubud, we know where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels5185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was my second visit to the Purist Villas and everything was as good or even better than I had remembered.

The staff have eyes for detail and hearts of gold. The accommodation is stylish, impeccably clean and homely. The food delicious and varied. The surroundings romantic and embedded in the local culture.

I love the way the Villas are private yet have an open feel that feels inviting and friendly (much like the local way). I really hope people could embrace this wonderful way and for the Villas to remain just the way they are.

I will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#12 of 198 in Ubud
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing