We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
625
74
13
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
74
13
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill villa bamboo villa timor villa private pool jungle room garden suite main pool the river our honeymoon dining table outdoor area town centre shuttle service outdoor shower afternoon tea perfect stay spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Purist is wonderful in every aspect. I only wish it was closer - we would go back in a heartbeat.

THE PROPERTY. The Purist is an easy 5 min drive from central Ubud. (I would recommend using the hotel shuttle service as the road is not pedestrian friendly- no sidewalk or shoulder.) Once you turn off the main road, you are greeted with the open air lobby. Behind the lobby is the quiet oasis of rooms, restaurant and two common pools. The property is beautiful, with a charming water feature running along outside many rooms and beautiful horticulture. Everything is maintained with great care, I believe.

THE ROOM. We were upgraded to Bamboo 2 on arrival, up the stairs near the spa. It is the room furthest from the lobby and adjacent the end of the property. We were able to hear a little vehicle traffic from time to time from the property next door, however I still think our room must be the best! We had the most privacy, I believe, such a beautiful room and patio area, plus the pool, which we used several times between trips to Ubud.

THE RESTAURANT. I highly recommend breakfast at Cafe Balisimo on the property. What a wonderful fresh offering of local fruit with chia to delight the senses and start the day off right - plus it’s included in the hotel price. We ate at the restaurant twice more (a lunch and a dinner) - delicious both times, with lovely, accommodative service.

THE STAFF. That’s right, the Purist staff are just as lovely (and helpful) as the property. I wasn’t feeling well the first night there and Food was delicious from start to finish one of the ladies from the restaurant gave me rice on the house to help settle my stomach. The front desk staff helped us make shuttle and dinner reservations. And the manager gave us a little gift when we checked out. Also, I emailed the info box upon our return to Canada for the ingredients in that wonderful breakfast chia dish, and they replied, with the details, in less than 20 mins!

THE HERB WALK. In and around Ubud, you have lots to do. But I do HIGHLY recommend doing the herb walk with Sudarma from the hotel. It was one of the highlights of our entire trip to Bali. My husband and I got to see the morning market, the roasting of pigs for Babi guling, track through the rice fields and countryside, drink fresh coconut, etc. Loved every minute of it.

I could go on, but won’t. If you are looking for quiet (romantic) bliss, the Purist won’t disappoint.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank misplacedmaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertocortes, General Manager at The Purist Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Misplacemaritimer,

Thank you for choosing The Purist Villas & Spa Ubud during your Bali visit and thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay experiences in details. We are honored and pleased to have you stay with us and very delightful to hear our team able to fulfill your stay expectation. We appreciate your recognition to our room facilities, restaurant, hotel activities and most important we had shared to our entire staff of your compliments and positive reviews to keep maintain high quality service for all of our guests

Once again thank you very much for recommending us and we can not wait to welcome you back at The Purist in the near future.

Best Regards,
Desi Wowor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

OMG... My favorite holiday ever, autentic Balinese experience change my ming status in few days. Exactly what a couple need to refresh body and spirit. Villa are unique with original decoration from all over Indonesia, enjoy the vegetarian meal after all day in our private pool. Special thanks to all staff for the help and for make our stay really special.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Philipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertocortes, General Manager at The Purist Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Philipe C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experiences during your stay at The Purist Villas & Spa, we are delighted to hear you had a special stay with us and your positive review are really appreciated.

We are looking forward to host you back for your next Bali visit and we wish you a pleasant day

Best regards,
Desi Wowor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really loved this place. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and room really well appointed. There are two pools, plus many villas have there own pool. Often we were the only people even at the bigger pool, so felt like our private oasis. Can’t recommend the Purist enough.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 641nickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertocortes, General Manager at The Purist Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear NickP,

Thank you very much for staying at The Purist Villas & Spa. We are glad to hear you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed our villas facilities. We can not wait to welcome you back for another Purist experiences.

Thank you and Best Regards,
Desi Wowor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a stunning complex with unique and private villas. We were in a river villa close to the second pool and it was if it were our own private pool. Daily afternoon tea was served here which was refreshing and the breakfast was outstanding, so much food and a great mix of healthy and things to treat yourself with.

The real highlight however are the staff, absolutely nothing is too much trouble, close if you need them distant when you don’t. They regularly ran us into ubud for circa £3 each way at any time of day or night if the free shuttle didn’t fit your schedule.

We would highly recommend to anyone visiting ubud, our stay was a real delight!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lauraaJ1290LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertocortes, General Manager at The Purist Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Laura,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Purist Villas and Spa and for taking the time to share your experiences. We appreciated your compliments towards our staff and we're glad to know our property facilities and our team able to make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you again for recommending us and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Desi Wowor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an incredibly beautiful place this was. I stayed in a Jungle Villa , with a wooden deck overlooking the river, a private swimming pool, an outdoor shower, and all the space and comfort you could wish for. The hotel grounds are equally beautiful with lush greenery, fish ponds and many other ornamental features along pathways and anywhere you look. The restaurant serves good food with equivalent attention to detail. Members of staff were very friendly and helpful too. A little piece of paradise where you can relax to the sounds of all the nature around.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank YvesTripAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertocortes, General Manager at The Purist Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear YvesTripAd,

It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us at The Purist Villas & Spa recently.

Thank you so much for taking your time to share a wonderful review. We are glad to hear you had a relaxing time with us. Your positive review are sincerely appreciated

We look forward to welcoming you back for at The Purist Villas & Spa soon!

Best Regards,
Desi Wowor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews