We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SLICE OF PARADISE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Purist Villas and Spa to your Saves list
The Purist Villas and Spa
4.5 of 5 Spa   |   Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 160 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A SLICE OF PARADISE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June for 4 nights. Our only regret was for not staying longer. It was one of the best places we have stayed at in Bali. The villas are beautifully appointed - comfortable beds and pillows, fantastic lounging areas (we were in River Villa 2), constantly replenished towels and toiletries. It was such a relief to get back to this oasis of calm after being in the chaotic mayhem that Ubud sometimes is. The staff here are truly wonderful. They are attentive, but not intrusive. Nothing seems too much trouble for any of them, they are truly a credit to the owners. Only one small niggle was the sound of construction next door where they are building more villas. But, as they say, "you can't make an omlette without breaking eggs!" The manager took me on a tour of the new villas (to be finished approx.this.dec) WOW! WOW! WOW! cant wait to return here next year to check out the new villas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Every aspect of the villa resort was beautifully designed. The Hill Villa was large and luxurious with a fantastic outdoor bath and shower, private swimming pool and great outside lounging areas in jungle-like surroundings. Staff were very friendly and extremenly helpful with every aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Ubud and could not have enjoyed it more thanks to the amazing staff at The Purist. We knew we were in for a great experience from the moment we arrived and were not disappointed. The staff are all genuinely friendly and make it clear your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance. Our River Villa was lovely, spacious and felt private even though there were other villas close by. Believe the reviews! The meals are delicious. We chose to eat our meals in our villa and were always pleasantly surprised by the lovely table service laid out for us. The courses arrived at the right pace and food was clearly just prepared. One suggestion, if you plan a tour day and know you will be wanting to dine in that evening, order your meal in advance. We arrived back about 7 p.m. and found most guests had also decided to stay in for dinner causing about a 2 hour wait for our meal. Again, the excellent staff made sure we could get an appetizer rather quickly to hold us until our meal was ready. Crisis averted! We will be back and will recommend this property to friends.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, make sure to request a room away from construction. We were not awakened no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 11 nights at The Purist from mid-June and everything exceeded our expectations - the standard of the accommodation, decor, the phenomenal service of the staff, quality of food and overall experience of being treated like a part of a small family.
The villas are beautifully designed and very comfortable and all the butlers are extremely attentive yet discreet enough in the service they provide. Our daughter was almost adopted by them with the great rapport and relationship she developed instantly upon arrival.
In addition, they were very helpful and provided good insight into recommended tours, restaurants, surrounding areas to make our experience in Bali a memorable one.
Thank you for the wonderful memories and we hope to come back soon for another fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Not having seen most of the other villas, the Timor villa is fantastic in its space, decor and outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I just returned from an amazing week in Ubud and it was made absolutely perfect by staying at The Purist. We stayed in the Hill Villa for 6 nights and it was the most blissful place to call home during this time. The rooms are second to none, with the most delightful decor which actually showcases the amazing talent of local artisans to the food... All I can say, is that I never wanted the meals to end! Fresh, tasty and full of great flavour, put together with the flair that you expect from a silver service restaurant, delivered by the most fantastic staff I've had the pleasure to deal with. The staff will and did go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible and the day spa is to die for. While you might be paying a bit extra than in downtown Ubud, the friendly and talented girls make it worthwhile, with the hot stone massage my absolute favourite. What else can I say? I could be here forever...

Room Tip: The Hill Villa is great if two couples are travelling together, as there is another king bed downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had 5 nights here recently - first time travelling with our 11 month old son. First impressions was the wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The Hill villa was clean featuring traditional Balinese furniture. The bedroom was upstairs which was a pain if you wanted to go to the toilet at night. This Villa was not suitable to let your children crawl around so my wife and I were carrying him most of the time. The pool area got afternoon sun only - also the pool area is not private. On a few occasion the staff walked passed while i was playing with my son which I didn't like.
The food was sensational. Every meal was without fault and very tasty. The staff also helped us out with preparing some steamed veggies for our son.
Also, be prepared to pay for the transfer into Ubud. I found this odd as the last place I stayed in Ubud (Chedi Club) was complimentary and very handy.
I have to also mention the noise of construction close by. I believe they are building a new villa which naturally comes with loud building noises.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisS-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Bamboo Villa at the Purist, having read the reviews here on Trip Advisor and been impressed by the rating and we weren't disappointed!. It really was a beautiful oasis amidst the chaos of the Balinese streets. Everything from the attention to detail in the rooms, the service from the wonderful butlers to the food on the room service menu was excellent.
We hired a driver for a half day, which was well worth while as he took us to all the most interesting temples around Ubud as well as the obligatory Monkey Forest.
While other reviews mention the wait for food ordered off the menu, we found that this seemed fairly prompt so it was never an issue and we absolutely loved the amazing breakfasts we were served at the table in our private courtyard every morning.
We were also impressed by the small personal touches like the gift of a beautiful box with some wooden bangles that the manager gave us as we were leaving.
All in all a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend the Purist to anyone planning on staying near Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bambam9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 160 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 160 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#13 of 160 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
#17 of 160 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#5 of 160 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Purist Villas and Spa, a PURE HAVEN of relaxation near the heart of Bali’s spiritual and artistic homeland. The Purist Villas & Spa is a hip designer’s hideaway nestled just behind a rustic Balinese village, where you can still see all aspects of traditional rural life, including daily offerings, traditional dances and music. Comprised of seventeen uniquely styled and tastefully appointed villas, this enchanting property at The Purist offers privacy, design-led luxury and a deep sense of tranquility set in breathtaking, natural surroundings. Manifesting a true feeling of the Magical Island Of The Gods. Each villa is an oasis of calm, created using natural materials and all have living spaces which open directly to the outdoors, overlooking the lush tropical Jungle. HOMAGE TO THE INDONESIAN ARCHIPELAGO The JOG-LO house, The LIMASAN Residence and The TIMOR Residence, are a combination of three villas reflecting an ancient Indonesian architecture, fully renovated and modernized with high-grade facilities. All beautifully reassembled with modern convenience in mind, they are all ideally suited to accommodate extended families or groups of friends, and perfect for special events like weddings. The Purist Villas & Spa embody the ancient Hindu beliefs of balance, harmony and purity of spirit; to this, we add a deep respect for the natural environment. Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes have worked closely with architect Joost van Grieken to create a truly spectacular experience, a tasteful, beautiful resort designed in harmony with its landscape - the fragrant, lush hills of Bali’s magical Ubud region. We use an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, authentic Indonesian artifacts, natural lava and lime stone and green river stones. Our wish is to connect our guests with Bali’s many spiritual and artistic traditions. That’s why we’ve furnished The Purist with only the most beautiful and authentic artifacts which we’ve slowly accumulated on our travels among the various Indonesian islands. In the peaceful Purist environment, we honor the slow food philosophy – it comes to you freshly organic, fair and delicious in harmony with the environment and seasons. That said, we cater to all dietary requirements and understand that culinary pleasure is an essential part of your stay. For that reason in particular, we select our chefs from among Bali’s finest and offer both Indonesian and International dining options. Complete with a unique Asian flare, traditional Balinese spices mixed with international delicacies. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and well~being, focusing on re-balancing energy. With training that includes meditation and yoga, our therapists are deeply attuned to the practice of working with energy, and have mastered the art of mindful touch. The term ‘thank you’ in 'Bahasa Indonesia' implies both ‘giving’ and ‘receiving’ – our therapists are skilled at giving all they have, while inviting you to take all you need. You simply say ‘Terima Kasih’ – thank you. Still the mind and become fully present to the beauty around you by taking a yoga session or two. Our yoga teachers have trained abroad in some of the world’s finest yoga schools and can be booked for private sessions, in small intimate groups of four. You’ll find yoga mats in your room, simply let us know what style of yoga you prefer – if you have a preference - and we will ensure to bring the right teacher to your door. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on the traffic situation. With The Purist, Yvonne and Alberto succeeded in creating yet another home away from home, which has become their trademark signature. The Purist offers only seven private villas, making it the smallest boutique hotel in Bali. In this way, we can meet any of your personal and specific needs. The Purist: sophisticated hospitality stripped to the essence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#