We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property, staff, dining - fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #11 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Ubud and could not have enjoyed it more thanks to the amazing staff at The Purist. We knew we were in for a great experience from the moment we arrived and were not disappointed. The staff are all genuinely friendly and make it clear your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance. Our River Villa was lovely, spacious and felt private even though there were other villas close by. Believe the reviews! The meals are delicious. We chose to eat our meals in our villa and were always pleasantly surprised by the lovely table service laid out for us. The courses arrived at the right pace and food was clearly just prepared. One suggestion, if you plan a tour day and know you will be wanting to dine in that evening, order your meal in advance. We arrived back about 7 p.m. and found most guests had also decided to stay in for dinner causing about a 2 hour wait for our meal. Again, the excellent staff made sure we could get an appetizer rather quickly to hold us until our meal was ready. Crisis averted! We will be back and will recommend this property to friends.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, make sure to request a room away from construction. We were not awakened no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 11 nights at The Purist from mid-June and everything exceeded our expectations - the standard of the accommodation, decor, the phenomenal service of the staff, quality of food and overall experience of being treated like a part of a small family.
The villas are beautifully designed and very comfortable and all the butlers are extremely attentive yet discreet enough in the service they provide. Our daughter was almost adopted by them with the great rapport and relationship she developed instantly upon arrival.
In addition, they were very helpful and provided good insight into recommended tours, restaurants, surrounding areas to make our experience in Bali a memorable one.
Thank you for the wonderful memories and we hope to come back soon for another fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Not having seen most of the other villas, the Timor villa is fantastic in its space, decor and outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I just returned from an amazing week in Ubud and it was made absolutely perfect by staying at The Purist. We stayed in the Hill Villa for 6 nights and it was the most blissful place to call home during this time. The rooms are second to none, with the most delightful decor which actually showcases the amazing talent of local artisans to the food... All I can say, is that I never wanted the meals to end! Fresh, tasty and full of great flavour, put together with the flair that you expect from a silver service restaurant, delivered by the most fantastic staff I've had the pleasure to deal with. The staff will and did go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible and the day spa is to die for. While you might be paying a bit extra than in downtown Ubud, the friendly and talented girls make it worthwhile, with the hot stone massage my absolute favourite. What else can I say? I could be here forever...

Room Tip: The Hill Villa is great if two couples are travelling together, as there is another king bed downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had 5 nights here recently - first time travelling with our 11 month old son. First impressions was the wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The Hill villa was clean featuring traditional Balinese furniture. The bedroom was upstairs which was a pain if you wanted to go to the toilet at night. This Villa was not suitable to let your children crawl around so my wife and I were carrying him most of the time. The pool area got afternoon sun only - also the pool area is not private. On a few occasion the staff walked passed while i was playing with my son which I didn't like.
The food was sensational. Every meal was without fault and very tasty. The staff also helped us out with preparing some steamed veggies for our son.
Also, be prepared to pay for the transfer into Ubud. I found this odd as the last place I stayed in Ubud (Chedi Club) was complimentary and very handy.
I have to also mention the noise of construction close by. I believe they are building a new villa which naturally comes with loud building noises.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisS-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Bamboo Villa at the Purist, having read the reviews here on Trip Advisor and been impressed by the rating and we weren't disappointed!. It really was a beautiful oasis amidst the chaos of the Balinese streets. Everything from the attention to detail in the rooms, the service from the wonderful butlers to the food on the room service menu was excellent.
We hired a driver for a half day, which was well worth while as he took us to all the most interesting temples around Ubud as well as the obligatory Monkey Forest.
While other reviews mention the wait for food ordered off the menu, we found that this seemed fairly prompt so it was never an issue and we absolutely loved the amazing breakfasts we were served at the table in our private courtyard every morning.
We were also impressed by the small personal touches like the gift of a beautiful box with some wooden bangles that the manager gave us as we were leaving.
All in all a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend the Purist to anyone planning on staying near Ubud.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bambam9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently stayed at The Purist and it was absolutely fabulous is all aspects.

The accommodation is outstanding, staff and service absolutely fantastic and the food was equivalent to dining at a top end restaurant.

The day spa facilities and service were once again of the highest standard.

Whether you are a couple or family (we travelled with our two children 16/14) the Purist represents wonderful value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAC3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just stayed at The Purist for four nights with extended family and just have to say that it was fantastic. Both our adults and children loved the place and the staff are amazing. Our family thought Antara was delightful. Everything that has been said by previous T.A. reviewers is correct!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gamsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 200 in Ubud
1,342 reviews
0.6 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#6 of 200 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 200 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $169 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing