We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, magical , perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #7 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barnara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, magical , perfect!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I went to Ubud by myself to restore, rejuvenate and experience the Balinese culture. I stayed in the jungle room and I felt completely relaxed and pampered throughout my stay. The fresh juice and meals are heathy and delicious. The staff was wonderful!!! I became very attached to the sweet Baby Koi fish that resided in my bathroom. The butlers where great, I'm not used to being waited on hand and foot. I found the surroundings bueatiful, peaceful and magical. They provide the guests with bycycles and I rode the the rice terraces , and I also walked into town. The Purist is a great location and place of peace and serenity. I want to mention my driver Wyman who was wonderful and taught me how to speak a little Balinese. I wish more Americans would take the time to speak a couple of words in a different language when they travel. Good morning and thank you can really make a difference in interacting with different cultures. My most memorable experience was learning about Bali and making friends with the bueatiful people. Thank you Purist and Wyman, I will be back!! Sukes somo!

Room Tip: The jungle room was great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharkyLarkyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    60
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
117
327
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was at the Purist for my honeymoon a couple of weeks back. Most of the reviews are spot on and I was very close to giving the Purist a perfect score, if it were not for a couple of items that kept me from doing so.

First the Pros:
-The service is unbelievable, best I have ever experienced on holiday. Our butler and the night manager deserve special note here as they were excellent. Always there with a smile to help you out.
-The villas are beautiful, unique, spacious and decorated very nicely.
-If you are looking for seclusion this place has it. We barely saw other guests. It is not really walkable to town if that is what you are looking for, but its a quick drive away.

Unfortunately the Cons:
-We reserved one of the River Villas and were brought to the Timor Villa without mention from the manager. I didnt realize this until the next day, and honestly I was fine with the Timor villa instead. However, they should have mentioned why I wasn't getting what I reserved or at least asked me.
-There is construction next door. Apparently they are adding new villas (I believe 7 more), which I hope doesn't take away the charm of the place. When we arrived, we could hear the noise from the construction and see workers from our outdoor area. The day manager told us to just contact him if we want them to stop working, which we did everytime we were at the villa during the day. For the money and the expected secluded quietness, we weren't expecting to deal with construction next to our villa. It wasn't horrible noise but a little annoying. However, once we called the manager, they would stop shortly after.
-The power goes out sometimes in the afternoon, but typically restarts in a short amount of time. There was only one time where it was off for more than a few minutes (not sure how long as we were in the process of heading into town). I wasn't going to note this as it really didnt affect us. However, we read in their book that they have a generator and power will automatically restart within 15 seconds of going out. We were later told that there is no generator on the property as it would cause to much noise for the surrounding village. That is fine if that is the case, but they shouldn't mis-advertise in their book when it is not true.

The Pros heavily outweigh the Cons we dealt with. I do highly recommend the Villas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This small property (only 7 villas) is on a beautiful property, with an infinity pool overlooking a ravine with palms and tall stands of bamboo. The room was extremely comfortable. One evening we were walking back towards the hotel (not realizing we were really too far away to walk, when a driver from the hotel saw us, recognized us, and stopped to pick us up! That was service above and beyond. The included breakfasts were elegantly served and with plenty of choices. We ordered two other meals, and they were reasonably priced, and the food was excellent.
One note--the sign for the Purist is extremely difficult to find--small, white on white, and not on the main street, but on the driveway leading to the hotel. You should ask for other nearby landmarks or signs when you book the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our first visit was on November 2010 for 5 days and we were amazed! Superb design in every little detail. We stayed in the Garden villa (the one with the pool), and had the time of our lives there.
Two years later we returned for just 2 days, and stayed at the river villas. Our friends were blown out because they could not believe that what we described as the best Bali experience was true!
The staff (and by that we mean all the staff, every one of them) is elegant and gentle. They tended every single thing we asked them for. Unfortunately we had so little time, but if we are to return to Bali again, we will definitely stay for 4-5 days. Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpotamianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was my boyfriend 21st Birthday and I decided to stay in The Purist to surprise him. I'm really glad that I've made this decision, The Purist was really amazing in every sense. Our hired driver did spent some times to find the villa, but everything was great from the moment we arrived. It was quite impressive that each of the staffs could called us by our name and greeted us with warm & lovely smile all the time. Jungle villa was totally incredible and the pictures don't do the justice. They welcomed us with flower petals on the bed and a nicely decorated rose bath. We felt like royalty throughout our stay in The Purist. On the second night, we have the In Villa Romantic Candlelight Dinner. Antara was a great looking butler who provided us with five star hotel service standards, Gede or Oktri if you are reading this, he really deserves a salary raise! Though we did encountered some problems during our stay, but the staffs were really helpful and always be there for us even in the middle of the night. We were upgraded to the Hill Villa on the last night and the management also offered us a complimentary Reflexology treatment as a birthday gift for my boyfriend. The spa treatment in The Purist is a must to do lists in Bali, their therapists were really amazing. I just can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Jungle villa provide more privacy as it is in a more secluded part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleMeowYiWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

After a rough drive from Amed to Ubud we were delighted to arrive at The Purist. From the very start we knew this place would be a special experience and it did not fail to deliver. We stayed at the hill villa, perched above the river villas. The house just oozed style and comfort and was so tastefully appointed. It was hard to leave the villa each day for the 5 minute drive to central Ubud as we spent so much time just lazing around in the pool enjoying the jungle surrounds. Consider using the bicycles as its a pleasant ride through the local streets to the centre. Had a great massage that was included in our rates after we extended our stay. The staff at all levels were professional and courteous, even offering to stop the construction work for the extension so that the noise would not disturb us, it was minor and did not bother us at all. Our stay at The Purist was one of the highlights of our Bali honeymoon, oh and we rate rate the nightly turn down service as the best in the business!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipsbowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 5 amazing nights at The Purist for our honeymoon and we didn't ever want to leave. We stayed in the Jungle Villa and it was incredible. The staff were the nicest and most helpful we have ever encountered, nothing is too much trouble for them. They serve breakfast in your villa every morning which adds to the secluded & intimate feel. It is about a 20min walk from the centre of Ubud however they offer a free shuttle bus and are only too happy to pick up throughout the day & night.
I would highly recommend The Purist if you are staying in Ubud and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Jungle Villa, it is very secluded and away from the other villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 198 in Ubud
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing