We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peaceful and chill villa with great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #10 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peaceful and chill villa with great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at River 2 villa, which is connected to the public pool but since there is so little villas we got the pool to ourselves for 2 of our 3 day stay!

The villa is done tastefully and luxurious and the service is immacable! We have our own butler, breakfast can be serve anywhere we want to. We had such an enjoyable time and will recommend any couple or small family there! My bf esp loved the outdoor shower!

The only minor pain point is the distance to central ubud. But the villa provides 2 daily shuttle service (fixed time) to ubud central.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    56
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
295
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and i honeymooned at the purist for 5 days, we stayed in the hill villa and loved it & we never wanted to leave. Starting with our driver Wayan who is a great guy, was all to happy to share his knowledge of Bali and its culture with us,all the butlers ,reception,the kitchen staff,the groundskeepers everyone at this villa made our stay exceptional.The food is the best we have ever had on any vacation anywhere,everyone was friendly and nothing was to much trouble.Would recommend this to anyone.Had great reflexology massage from Ketut,she has magic hands.The Hill villa was great,own pool,very private,big and spacious,and very comfortable,cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in the hill villa for 3 nights. We had the best Bali experience. We travelled with 2 small children (1+3y old) and it was wonderfull to have dinner on your own terrace with the restaurant experience. The food was amazing as was the staff of the hotel. We had our own pool and 2 bedrooms and an outdoor shower and bath. The villa is very tastfull but still feels homy.
The breakfast is fantastic and the service is excellent.
A warm welcome and stay. For us the Purist is the best hotel in Bali.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in the Purist. All the villa's are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Odettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have never stayed in Ubud before, even though we have been to Bali many times. I decided on the Purist after reading many reviews, and I am so glad that I did. We stayed four nights in River Villa 1, it was beautifully and tastefully decorated. It was very peaceful and quiet, and even though we didn't have our own pool, we only saw one other person using the main pool in our whole stay. We enjoyed breakfast each day in our villa and afternoon tea by the pool. We ate one dinner in the villa and that was very enjoyable, accompanied by a huge thunderstorm and heavy rain!

The most wonderful thing about the Purist, though, is the staff. So friendly and helpful, always on hand for whatever was needed - thank you Sugeng, Gede, Agus, Antara and "little" Gede - you helped to make our holiday the best ever.

I would highly recommend the Purist to anyone looking for a peaceful and serene holiday within easy reach of the joys of Ubud.

PS: look out for their new property, Villa Levi, in Canggu coming up later in the year - WOW! Maybe if the Purist got the same soft pillows as the ones at Villa Levi, it would be even better :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We got in after a 2 hour taxi drive from Jimbaran, where we stayed for one night after a late arrival in Denpasar. After having been in Jakarta for a 3-day business trip, the serenity of The Purist was great.

We weren't allowed to carry one of our own bags because and I quote: "It's your holiday sir". Service like this continued throughout our stay. Always with a smile, the butlers catered to our every need and were very friendly.

The villa was great. There's we were staying in the Jungle Villa which has lots of privacy, a great bathroom with stone bath, open shower and little fish in a pond (yes... in the bathroom). Also there's a spacious private deck with lounge bed and a stone-with-wood dining table. The villa's doors lead to the excellent shared pool (infinity style) and both the pool and the villa look out over the jungle. After a refreshing shower, we had lunch on the private deck.

It was my girlfriend's birthday (which the staff had figured out by themselves, without my letting them know) that day, so we decided to stay in for the night and have a romantic dinner. This is a special of the resort, $100-125 per couple. We came back from Ubud and were welcomed in the greatest of all surprises: flowers on the deck, followed by flower on the bed, followed by (open up the bathroom door) a flower bath. Incense in the rooms and on the deck. Just WONDERFUL! We first had a bath, after which our dinner was setup.

The dinner was amazing as well. A 4-course with choices between a European-style menu and a traditional Balinese menu. We opted for the latter and that was great!

During the night I got sick. According to my (medically skilled) girlfriend, it was a food infection, cause by something I ate a few days ago. I was in bed all day next day and the staff took care of me with special herbal tea and other niceties. All-in-all not a bed place to catch a little sickness in.

A few minor things that could be improved (not that it really bothered during this otherwise GREAT never to forget experience)
- the bed pillow are a bit on the hard side for our taste (note that we didn't bother to ask for softer ones, maybe they're around)
- all the toiletries are great, natural ingredients. The conditioner however can best be avoided if you have curly hair because it gets tangled
- the taxi drop to the airport is a bit pricey. We took a normal taxi from Jimbaran (further than the airport) which was about half the price

Don't let these minor things put you off by the way. In total, it's a great place!! We'd love to be back some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jungle Villa. This was really nice; but not if you want a private swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlefArendsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from 4 days at the Purist Ubud, Bali. This is a truly remarkable place in the sense that as soon as you check in you feel totally relaxed, and pampered. The staff are superb, and nothing was to much trouble for them. We had come to stay in Ubud from Seminyak, which is a much more hustle and bustle town. The whole feeling of both the Purist and Ubud is so chilled that you dont want to leave. We stayed in River Villa 1. im sure our butler thought we were a little stupid, as when we entered our villa my partner and I just looked at each other agog, and didnt say a word. Our terraces, one from the lounge and the other from our bedroom, look out onto jungle, which is quite amazing. The outside bathroom is great with a stone bath and a fabulous separate shower. There is a dressing room area with a stone sink pedistal. The bedroom is very large with a kingsize bed, looking out to the jungle. My only complaint and this is very minor is that there could be more drawer space. We tend to travel with lots of luggage so notice things like this, but normal people would probably find the drawer space adequate. There is a great infinity pool, shred with three of the villas, but we hardly saw the other people so it was almost like having a private pool. Would definately go back to the Purist and hope to in 2014. Steve

Room Tip: Try either River Villa 1 or 2 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevefrombushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wonderful trip at The Purist. We stayed in the Hill Villa for 4 nights. The room, or shall I say house was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. Our private pool was beautiful as well, honestly wish we could have spent more time in our actual room! The service was fantastic, all of the butlers who helped us were very friendly and gracious. The front desk assistance was great and they were always able to arrange transportation with ease. We would love to come back one day and spend more time at the hotel as it is definitely a special experience.

Room Tip: The Hill Villa offers a very private stay as it's location is higher up above some of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#4 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.1 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#9 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Purist Villas and Spa, a PURE HAVEN of relaxation near the heart of Bali’s spiritual and artistic homeland. The Purist Villas & Spa is a hip designer’s hideaway nestled just behind a rustic Balinese village, where you can still see all aspects of traditional rural life, including daily offerings, traditional dances and music. Comprised of seventeen uniquely styled and tastefully appointed villas, this enchanting property at The Purist offers privacy, design-led luxury and a deep sense of tranquility set in breathtaking, natural surroundings. Manifesting a true feeling of the Magical Island Of The Gods. Each villa is an oasis of calm, created using natural materials and all have living spaces which open directly to the outdoors, overlooking the lush tropical Jungle. HOMAGE TO THE INDONESIAN ARCHIPELAGO The JOG-LO house, The LIMASAN Residence and The TIMOR Residence, are a combination of three villas reflecting an ancient Indonesian architecture, fully renovated and modernized with high-grade facilities. All beautifully reassembled with modern convenience in mind, they are all ideally suited to accommodate extended families or groups of friends, and perfect for special events like weddings. The Purist Villas & Spa embody the ancient Hindu beliefs of balance, harmony and purity of spirit; to this, we add a deep respect for the natural environment. Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes have worked closely with architect Joost van Grieken to create a truly spectacular experience, a tasteful, beautiful resort designed in harmony with its landscape - the fragrant, lush hills of Bali’s magical Ubud region. We use an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, authentic Indonesian artifacts, natural lava and lime stone and green river stones. Our wish is to connect our guests with Bali’s many spiritual and artistic traditions. That’s why we’ve furnished The Purist with only the most beautiful and authentic artifacts which we’ve slowly accumulated on our travels among the various Indonesian islands. In the peaceful Purist environment, we honor the slow food philosophy – it comes to you freshly organic, fair and delicious in harmony with the environment and seasons. That said, we cater to all dietary requirements and understand that culinary pleasure is an essential part of your stay. For that reason in particular, we select our chefs from among Bali’s finest and offer both Indonesian and International dining options. Complete with a unique Asian flare, traditional Balinese spices mixed with international delicacies. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and well~being, focusing on re-balancing energy. With training that includes meditation and yoga, our therapists are deeply attuned to the practice of working with energy, and have mastered the art of mindful touch. The term ‘thank you’ in 'Bahasa Indonesia' implies both ‘giving’ and ‘receiving’ – our therapists are skilled at giving all they have, while inviting you to take all you need. You simply say ‘Terima Kasih’ – thank you. Still the mind and become fully present to the beauty around you by taking a yoga session or two. Our yoga teachers have trained abroad in some of the world’s finest yoga schools and can be booked for private sessions, in small intimate groups of four. You’ll find yoga mats in your room, simply let us know what style of yoga you prefer – if you have a preference - and we will ensure to bring the right teacher to your door. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on the traffic situation. With The Purist, Yvonne and Alberto succeeded in creating yet another home away from home, which has become their trademark signature. The Purist offers only seven private villas, making it the smallest boutique hotel in Bali. In this way, we can meet any of your personal and specific needs. The Purist: sophisticated hospitality stripped to the essence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing