We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #7 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed in River Villa 1 during April and had the most amazing stay. Gorgeous villas with private entrance and our own butler plus a beautiful daily breakfast were just some of the amazing things this place has to offer. We were able to do yoga every morning on the yoga deck with our own teacher and the Purist is only 5 mins drive from the town centre. Definately will stay here again next time we visit Ubud.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerpetualTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    60
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
117
327
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Lovely, relaxing stay at the Purist, we spent one night in the Bamboo Villa and two nights in the Hill Villa for our honeymoon in July. Both villas were stunning, really interesting art decorating the rooms and both had private pools (there was no availability in the Hill Villa for us to stay three nights in one villa, it’s a popular place so book well in advance!). The team are all very nice and helped us in any way they could.
The breakfast served in our villa dining area each morning by our butler was fantastic and the selection from eggs to pancakes to fruit was always tasty and set us up for the day. Each afternoon we took afternoon tea in our villa which is a nice treat with amazing local Balinese tea. There are hundreds of restaurants to choose from in Ubud, we tried one out and then opted for in-villa dining for three nights and much preferred the Purist menus. Amazing food, particularly the shredded chicken starter and prawn curry main so we would definitely recommend a meal in on at least one of your nights.
The walk to Ubud central is quite far, we did it twice (it takes about 25 minutes) and then got a cab back to the Purist. There is a minibus that goes from the Purist twice a day but the times never suited us and taxis booked from the street are really quite cheap. Would recommend a visit to the central markets for lots of haggling for your souvenirs!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingtoNYin4days!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Purist with my 2 children 10 and 13 years. We stayed in the gorgeous Hill Villa. From the moment we arrived, the staff bent over backwards to help with every beck and call, nothing was a problem, always going the extra mile to please us. They were super friendly, happy, smiley, warm and caring. The resort was a little way out of Ubud, up a lane that proved a little difficult to locate by our driver from Seminyak. The food, served on our deck overlooking the jungle and wet edge pool, was wonderful, fresh and healthy. We requested vegan food, it was all amazing and we are very fussy! We would probably choose somewhere cheaper to stay with the children next time, it was the most expensive place we stayed at in Bali - we didn't spend much time there due to all day activities away in Ubud, White water rafting, Happy Bike Tour etc and so didn't take full advantage of the place. This said though, the quality of the Resort grounds/decor and the staff would be unsurpassed in Bali and would be amazing and unforgettable if you wanted to really get away from it all and be totally pampered.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The good:
rooms are nicely decorated and you really felt that a lot of thought had gone into the design

The stay was comfortable and the staff were friendly and very considerate when my gf got sick

Loved the pools (especially in bamboo villa which by the way is so much better value for money than the jungle villas ..pay up its worth it)

We ordered takeaway one night from a local restaurant (forget the name but they will have it) best nasi goreng i had whilst in indonesia

Dislikes

Firstly it was pot luck if you phoned reception from your room wether it would be answered. For a place of this quality this isn't really acceptable

Upon arrival we were starving but because it was late they couldn't offer us any kind of food at all, kitchen was closed and so all they had was some fruit and cookies.

It isn't that close to the centre of ubud and you need a transfer to get back. If you try and walk you have to battle packs of dogs that roam the street between the hotel and main street - don't bother.

When we stayed at bamboo villa the neighbors were very noisy, either building things or shouting. We asked reception to tell them to keep it down but to no avail. Wasn't as peaceful as I would have liked. To be fair to the hotel they gave us a free massage due to the complaint which was unexpected and very good actually (better than the kirwana spa even!) so thanks for that

If I was to have my time again I would firstly stay in seminyak not ubud and given how expensive this place is I may not stay here again but thats nothing against that hotel itself, staff were nice and I think its a good institution but I think there are better places in bali

Room Tip: get the bamboo villa, much better than jungle villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon and had great stay. The design of the hotel is brilliantly individual and each room has it's own unique style and outdoor area. It is istuated in a quiet village about a 20 min walk from central Ubud (or 5 min cycle) but when in the hotel you feel like you're staying in the middle of the jungle. We stayed in the Garden Villa and had an enormous private pool just for the two of us. Breakfasts are sumptuous and incredibly tasty (especially the pastry basket!). We also dined in the villa one evening choosing the 'romantic meal for two' and were served an amazing Indonesian 4 course meal complete with scattered rose petals and a candlelit poolside - very 'honeymoony' indeed! The massage in the spa was one of the best we had in Bali also.

The staff there really make an effort to get to know you and make every effort to ensure your stay in Ubud is just right for you. We took the free bikes out one day and followed a stunning route that they planned for us. They were alo really helpful in helping us with our onward travel when there were a couple of difficulties. As there are only 7 rooms in the Purist you really get that personalised touch and staying in such a warm and friendly place really made a difference to our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colonial99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

A truly gorgeous resort...the villas are stunning, the staff lovely and attentive, and the food delicious. Only regret was the decision to stay just two nights--definitely too short! We chose the VIP service to minimize lines with customs--I highly recommend this service if your stay at The Purist is first on your itinerary in Bali. We were literally whisked through customs and then greeted by the manager of the resort and a driver. The manager was full of useful information on our drive to Ubud. We had pre-arranged dinner for after our arrival and the resort was in contact with the car about our estimated arrival in order to ensure dinner was as timely as possible (traffic is unpredictable in Bali). The food was outstanding (highly recommend the prawns) and I love how it was served in the villa. The villa itself was truly stunning (we were in the Hill villa--one thing that may be a deciding factor when trying to decide between all of their gorgeous villas is that the bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs)! The only issue (which will be true of any place you stay in Ubud) is there are many barking dogs and roosters cock-a-doodling at all hours of the night. I'm a light sleeper so turned on some white noise on my computer and it drowned everything out. But again, this issue is in no way a reflection on The Purist, where I will definitely stay again when returning to Bali.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandC1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was my second stay and loved it even more. I didn't review it before as, selfishly, I wanted to keep it a secret but the cat is out of the bag now. The owners deserve every success as they have put enormous effort into creating a wonderful place. Fabulous design, great architecture and great food. I thought the idea of ordering meals two hours ahead would be a problem as I tend to be quite spontaneous but in practice it works really well and the staff couldn't be nicer.
We stayed in the river residences which worked really well for friends travelling together as we had our own space to chill but shared the dining/ sitting room and had the adjacent pool usually to ourselves. All the villas are different so I look forward to checking out the other villas next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baliboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,084 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 198 in Ubud
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing