We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exquisite Jewel”
Review of Villa Sabandari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Sabandari
Ranked #6 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

At this charming 6-room family-run place they simply get everything right! The location, the architecture and design, the amenities, the landscaping, the many included services, the helpful and friendly staff ... all exceeded my expectations, which were already high from the reviews and photos. The icing on the cake was the charming and ebullient daughter of the family, Esther, a welcoming and gracious hostess during our stay.

Room Tip: Upper-floor Barong Room has best views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frankef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 416 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay at Villa Sabandari, but this time with my husband. We stayed 6 nights as part of our honeymoon, and he fell in love with it just as I had in 2010.

I chose the Lenso room again, which is on the edge of the property, ground floor, right next to the rice fields. It is an amazing spot for privacy and for lovely mornings with breakfast while watching the farmers tend their crops. The outdoor shower is also very nice, but be aware your whole bathroom is outdoors, so you have lots of little visitors. We didn't mind and it adds to the charm.

Breakfast is very good and changes daily. The car service to/from town is very good, too, but Monday is the usual driver's day off, so you may have a bit of a wait while they arrange a partner driving firm to pick you up. Be sure to give as much notice as you can to avoid overly long waits.

One request we have that might improve things a bit is to have some sort of fan on the terraces. The air can be a bit still and with a few flies, so a fan would make it more comfortable.

We loved our stay and can't recommend it enough to everyone. The location is SO IDEAL: in the beautiful, quiet countryside, yet only a tiny drive into Ubud. The staff are FANTASTIC and so attentive and sweet. The property is immaculate and well-designed. As far as we are concerned, it is the only place we will stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place is heaven! So relaxing. Beautiful view (facing the rice fields), room (well designed with outdoor shower) and swimming pool. The service is perfect (driver, breakfast and tea). I have tried a balinese massage that was also perfect. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sissiburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in October. Lovely rooms, quiet location, no children This is a beautiful couples retreat overlooking rice fields. The staff were wonderful and there are added services such as free shuttles to and from Ubud, a free day trip with driver if you stay 3 or more days, free transfer to airport (one way) . Breakfasts and afternoon teas were included and delicious. It's not that far to walk to Ubud but after doing that once or twice we got lazy and used the shuttle.
There are only 6 rooms so it is definitely a couples place.
The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. There is free Wi Fi if you need it.
I am not sure if I'd bother having the complimentary massage if I went back.

Room Tip: All seemed pretty good.Our room was apparently the only one with a TV, which we didn't use but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have to say that our stay at Villa Sabandari went even beyond our expectations. Beautiful location, very quiet and facing rice paddies, very close to the city of Ubud but miles away from the relentless agitation of the city center! Staff is unbelievably nice, rooms are very clean, and breakfast and afternoon tea very tasty. I would recommend to get the upstairs rooms if possible, to enjoy having your breakfast on the nice balcony overlooking the swimming pool and rice fields!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clement S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very nice, clean rooms with a great terrace. Good service, tasty breakfasts and afternoon teas. Quiet location next to the rice fields. They have a shuttle service to bring you to the center of Ubud. Since we stayed 4 nighths, we had a complimentary day trip with a driver on the island.
Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrietDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Wow! This place is spectacular. Gorgeous grounds & pool overlooking rice paddies & a small temple, all within an easy walk of town. If you're feeling a bit lazy though (& who wouldn't be, staying here) the staff are happy to drive you into town & back again at a moments notice. The resort is constructed and decorated to a beautiful standard and we enjoyed staying in the lap of luxury. Service is first class and never intrusive - and of course, nothing is a trouble. Breakfasts & afternoon teas (included) on our balcony or by the pool were a delight. Similarly the spa is fantastic and Ayu, the massage therapist, has hands of gold. We enjoyed a number of the treatments on offer and all were blissful. Our room, Barong, had fabulous views of the paddies and the farmers going about their daily work and we really felt part of the Bali experience. Ubud has already had every superlative said about it & we can only agree. We'll definitely be back to Ubud & Villa Sabandari very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#6 of 199 in Ubud
374 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 640 in Ubud
219 reviews
6.3 mi away
Saudara Home
Saudara Home
#3 of 640 in Ubud
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byasa Ubud
Byasa Ubud
#1 of 613 in Ubud
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sabandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sabandari

Address: Jalan Pura Gunung Sari 4 | Banjar Ambengan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sabandari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel hidden in the rice fields, yet at walking distance from the center of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Sabandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sabandari Hotel Ubud
Villa Sabandari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing