We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced budget accomodation”
Review of Casa Ganesha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Ganesha
Ranked #258 of 554 Ubud B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced budget accomodation”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed at this hotel largely based on the reviews of others on this site. I would agree that the staff are friendly and helpful. That's about all I can agree with. The hotel used to be old cheap apartments. A lot of money has been spent to make the gardens look nice but they must have run out of funds to do anything with the rooms other than put in a new basic (futon style) bed. The rooms were not secure (the lock consists of a padlock handed at arrival) and let in lots of mosquitos (mosquito net was provided). The ceiling was covered in mould and there were cockroaches in the bathroom (not to mention rats in the eating area at breakfast that were also interesting). It is really just cheap backpacker accomodation (not that there's anything wrong with that- I've stayed at places like this before but the price should be about $10-$15US, not $50US!)

Its also located on a busy street some way out of town and the walk consists of walking an hour along broken pavement above sewers. You can't stay in though as (putting to oneside the mosquitos) the Wi-fi was no more than a crawl pace and tv consisted of BBC news as the only English station.

We tried to leave after the first night but because we booked through a website (latestays.com) we had to cancel through the site direct and were charged large admin fee (still preferable to staying another night there)

Really disappointed with this place. Was the first time I felt really misled by the reviews on Tripadviser (unless the "superior room we had just happened to be the worst in the hotel...)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
16
58
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed at Casa Ganesha with a friend in July and would highy recommend it. Ayu, the manager and her staff made my stay (and my 30th birthday celebrations!) extremely memorable.

For those of you looking for a traditional Balinese place to stay with first class service over a boring predictable souless hotel, then you must stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Clean and constructed to stay clean, there's a lot of that white "bathroom" tile on stairwells and balconies. I'd rather stay in a place of that sort than a wonderfully mossy, slippery, rocky, niche-y, statue-y (meaning: authentic Ubud type architecture) place that was grubby.

The rice paddies behind the hotel have long been developed into bungalows and so there's not much of a view to be had from their bamboo lookout tower. The only garden atmosphere is the long lily and fish pond running through the centre of the joint. Your view will be of that and the opposite guests' wet bathing costumes slung over their balustrade.

Other guests' negative reviews of the bathrooms are correct. There's so little shelf space, and no actual shower space (whole bathroom is your shower), guaranteeing everything in the whole room gets wet.

The pool is next to the big, flourescent-lit, Chinese-style fish tanks for the restaurant (eeyw) and the parking lot and street are so close you will hear the motobikes roaring by, day or night, while using the pool. Would you really pay $45 (published rate) for that?

That said, the value of the place is on a par any of the low internet rates. Anyone with the time and ability to walk in off the street and compare this place to any of a number of Ubud places (eg, Ubud Inn and Fibra Inn are comparable in rate & miles ahead in atmosphere and privacy) will not pay the published rate but go elsewhere.

Here's what's great about Casa Ganesha: Exposure of rooms means great security. And you will have a small electronic safe in the room. The beautiful teak bed was very very comfortable and there was a mosquito net. The air con worked, as did the great little mini fridge. There's a decent tv with a couple of international channels. The desk is big enough for actual work. The terrace seating is comfy. My upper room was bright by day, cheery.

Breakfast was on the small side for Bali, but it was high quality. Excellent coffee, even in terms of Bali's varieties.

Curtains all clean and lacy and cute, everything in good condition. And the best thing is, it really was a very clean place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrugalMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydnay
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Ever stayed in a hotel and thought to yourself, "Why do I have to leave?" I was there only for several days and I was already trying to Recreate the Balinese atmosphere when I returned home back to my normal life~

I miss all the delicious goodies the chef conjured up in the kitchen~ truly mouth watering dishes~ There will definitely be special something in there for everyone and the chef is so nice he doesn't mind to adjust to your taste~

The service there in general was tiptop~ They were all so friendly and happy to help with anything~ gave me illusions of grandeur thinking I was some kind of god, Truly pleased and appreciated

The establishment was absolutely great, it all seemed custom made and had this strong traditional influence with its cultural architecture, the rooms themselves were very cosy and concise~

And the location was just perfect, it was close to several tourist destinations like the monkey forest and various markets

For the money spent I got way more value than I deserved~ Frankly speaking.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monmon202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel is in Ubud away from all the noisy stuff. We were so contented here that we didn't really want to go outside the hotel grounds. The restaurant is amazingly good and the chef will prepare your order to your taste. Inexpensive and good value. The rooms on ist floor with balcony were best because of the light and view. Rooms were small and basic but really good shower pressure and hot water. Staff were sooooooo lovely and always smiling and helpful. Highly recommended to the tourist who is not too difficult to please but loves good food!!!!!!!!!!!! I asked if i could rent the spa for an hour a day to teach my friend some medical procedures and this was quickly given the ok and at a very reasonable cost. We also rented the taxi driver to be the "body model" His name is AGUS... Peter from Australia

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydchiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

we've just returned from 1 week stay in this little hotel. As noted by the previous reviewer, the bathrooms are tiny & need attention. However, unlike some hotels we've stayed at, the shower head was excellent & hot water quick a very plentiful. Towells lovely thick & fresh - air conditioning unit new , quiet & efficient - TV new - bed lovely & comfy with fresh & clean linen. There needs to be bedside cabinet & lighting on BOTH sides of the bed - also another power outlet at convenient height for guests own use. In room safe was a welcome surprise in a budget hotel. Cleaning staff need more training - they are doing their best , but understaffed & undertrained - we had to tell them that glasses need replacing every day. The little restaurant attached was excellent - the chef 'Made' went out of his way to prepare meals to suit our individual tastes & requirements. These are the little touches that you would never receive at a larger establishment. Massage area excellent - reception staff wonderful. We were given FREE transport in & out of Ubud centre - shared balcony could be a problem, however we travelled with friends so it was great. Overall we would recommend this little hotel for anyone on a budget who doesn't mind a smallish room & bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie23015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel is only 6 months old & is a few minutes walk past Pizza Bagus on the same side. I booked to stay there for 6 nights, but checked out after only 1.

This hotel is very motel-like, with two blocks of two levels facing each other over a long fish pond. Sound echoes through the space between & I could hear the TV from the restaurant bar well into the night. The balcony or terrace is shared by the adjoining room.

The room was very small and the tiled floor looked grubby with scuff marks & blobs of builder's material. The queen size bed was comfortable and the linen looked clean. There was only one bedside table. I moved the bedside table looking for a power outlet & found alot of dust, a plastic fork and some lolly wrappers behind it. Eww!

The bathroom is the tiniest I've seen but was cleaner than the room. The shower has no recess or curtain, thus half the bathroom gets wet including the toilet which is right next to it. There are 2 narrow shelves either side of the wash basin, one completely taken up by a dish of complimentary soap & shampoo. To reach the shelf you had to step out of the shower spray, so it was handier to put my shampoo & gel on the closed toilet lid within reach. There is a towel rack above the toilet but no other storage space. There is a mirror over the wash basin but no power outlet. The bathroom was the deal-breaker for me.

The only power outlets are under the desk, opposite the end of the bed and are in use by the minibar & TV. There is no mirror near an outlet, making shaving or hair styling with a dryer difficult.

The walk-in robe or alcove is in the corner opposite the bathroom door has no door itself. There is a hanging rail within & a ledge which is the only place for folded clothes, and is shared by the room safe. There is a luggage rack between the walk-in robe and bathroom.

The room is locked by threading a long necked padlock through two flimsy metal rings on either side of the door.

Breakfast was nice but the portion stingy. Breakfast is served in the restaurant, which overlooks the small pool at the front of the property.

On the plus size: small welcome fruit bowl, thick towels, free WiFi in room & friendly staff.

However, friendly staff are found in most hotels & I think you can do better for the money with a bit more research. I did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#148 of 198 in Ubud
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ubud Raya Hotel
Ubud Raya Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sayan
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#146 of 198 in Ubud
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Puspa Ubud
The Puspa Ubud
#251 of 554 in Ubud
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#113 of 198 in Ubud
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Prasanthi
Villa Prasanthi
#244 of 542 in Ubud
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ganesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ganesha

Property: Casa Ganesha
Address: Jln. Raya Pengosekan | Next to Toyo Clinic and opposite Pertamina Petrol Station, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Ganesha 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Ganesha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ganesha Hotel Ubud
Casa Ganesha Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing