We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Bali”
Review of Casa Ganesha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Ganesha
Ranked #255 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trip to Bali”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent 5 nights at the Casa Ganesha....after a long tiring and stressful journey from HongKong we arrived at the hotel to a friendly welcome and a nice refreshing drink....we were quickly taken to our room.....it was cool...clean and comfortable....and the staff were extremely helpful....the meals at the hotel were excellent....the pool was clean and towels laid out for us ...the staff were also happy to advise us on hiring either a car/scooter.
I would recommend that anyone going to Ubud should take a torch...as the pavements were quite uneven.
I also used the laundry service while i was there.....quick and cheap....

There are lots of shops within walking distance and a very good market....but it took us around 40 minutes to walk there.....

Room Tip: make sure your room is not too near the trees ....lots of mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
16
58
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We ate at the resturant and clearly it was one of our best meals at Ubud. Also loved the service, very friendly and warmth showed by schaliwage and yuli.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavitaBagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The manager of this hotel took "customer service" to the next level. I was injured a short distance from the hotel whilst staying at Casa Ganesha and they assisted with coordinating clinics and providing the use of the hotel shuttle for travel.

The food at this place is AMAZING, I think they call it the Fish Pond Cafe, but it's slightly off the main street and was unparalleled for quality. A MUST if you are in ubud.

The hotel was otherwise very lovely, clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: They're upgrading a few rooms as we speak, so it might be worth asking for one of the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant for lunch and dinner. The ribs are top notch. All in all, the rooms are nice, reasonably priced (although quite small) and the location is decent. You can rent a scooter across the road if you fancy checking out some nearby sights such as gunung kawi. The monkey temple is about a 12 minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This used to be a good little urban place to be based for business in Ubud. Cheap and cheerful with no frills. But I was dismayed to read the owner's poor excuses to TripAdvisor Traveler review entitled Don't Go There. Owner will simply not own up to the facts that rats can be trapped and criminal employees can be fired.

The lack of security with the in-room safe is unconscionable.

So the cons of this place are the owner's lack of control on the security issue and the terrible bathrooms with no shelf for your stuff and no shower enclosure. Noisy and exposed pool area right along the entrance to the hotel. Easy to hear other guests' noises. Room for one guest but even two people feels pretty cramped in these rooms. There's a little "viewing pavillion" in back of the place that may have once had some sort of padi view.

Pros are the furnishings, which, though spartan, feel elegant. Location is good if you are spending time at ARMA museum or going to the monkey forest, but you are a very long walk from the market and most performance venues.

I am pretty freaked out about that security situation and the owner's dismissal of responsibility. Stop defending yourself, Mr. Paul Hadiwanata! Just fire your thieves! And buy a mouse trap or two or three at the hardware store!

There are many other little hotels in this area which manage to keep a rural feeling and they are always full. But this place reminds me a lot of some of the cramped little places in Legian alleyways, without gardens and near motorcycle traffic. But why stay in Ubud if you can't wake up to see a padi, a ravine, or a statue-filled garden?

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to loan you the override keys to your safe for the duration of your stay. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queen_of_expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The hotel was clean, staff were friendly. Rooms were very small though and shower has no screens - when you have a shower the toilet is right next to you and everything gets wet.
The location was good - on the main road leading into the town centre - about 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_E_S_S_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This hotel is not very clean, many rats in the food area. Worse is we put valuables in the safe and a mobile phone was taken whilst we were out, when we tackled the reception staff about it they didnt offer to investigate the theft. We went and sat by the pool for a while and then decided that we hadnt better leave anything valuable in the room. On returning to the room to remove other valuables we found that the mobile had been put back in to the safe. Another guest also found her safe open after leaving it locked. We did speak to the manageress about this incident and were told that there are two Bali's, she claimed that the mobile must have dissapeared to the other Bali and then returned from there again, she even assured me that people also dissapear like this. I the UK we would call this kidnap.Dont go to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGanesha, Owner at Casa Ganesha, responded to this review, April 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your opinions of Casa Ganesha, Ubud to us. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was unsatisfactory.

We hope you come to understand that Casa Ganesha is located within close proximity to rice fields and that it is inevitable that some animals are seen roaming the grounds. Though we understand your concerns, it is difficult for us to avoid these circumstances. We would like to let you know, however, that our premises are always maintained to a high standard.

In regards to the safety deposit box, we are glad that your valuables were eventually found in the safe. As for the lack of response from the staff, we would like to let you know that the police were contacted, but that they weren't needed as your valuables were recovered. We can see that the manageress' explanation of Bali's spiritual beliefs caused some misunderstanding and we would like to apologise on her behalf. She was only attempting to share with you what the Balinese believe.

Once again, we thank you for the time that you have taken to share your experiences and we hope that this does not prevent you from visiting Bali again.

Kind Regards,

Paul Hadiwinata
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#149 of 198 in Ubud
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ubud Raya Hotel
Ubud Raya Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sayan
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#103 of 198 in Ubud
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Puspa Ubud
The Puspa Ubud
#249 of 555 in Ubud
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#114 of 198 in Ubud
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Prasanthi
Villa Prasanthi
#264 of 542 in Ubud
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ganesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ganesha

Property: Casa Ganesha
Address: Jln. Raya Pengosekan | Next to Toyo Clinic and opposite Pertamina Petrol Station, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Ganesha 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Ganesha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ganesha Hotel Ubud
Casa Ganesha Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing