We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Gayatri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gayatri Bungalows
Ranked #11 of 622 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked 4 nights based on positive trip-advisor reviews but were hugely disappointed. We were put in room no. 15 which they said is a "luxury" room and the most expensive one on their property. After climbing steep and dangerous fleet of steps we were shocked to see the room. The toilet doors did not close at all, the toilet has mold growing everywhere, same with the bath-tub, the AC did not work at all and the linens were dirty. I immediately ran down - (there is no intercom either- for every request you need to go down 3 story and up again ) and told them that I won't be paying the price they asked for such a terrible room where nothing works. I was promised that within an hour they will change the room and put us in room no. 13 which according to them was better.
Room no. 13: AC worked better- atleast we could sleep, but out of two beds, one had a dirty stain so I , my husband and my 3 yr old had to sleep in one bed which was not all that comfortable. This room also had all the other problems listed above too - just the AC was better. The room doesnt stay closed either. Even after locking it, there is a big gap inviting mosquitoes.
The breakfast was ok on day 1 but on day 3 of our trip we were served bread with mold on it which was totally unacceptable. I immediately took the bread to show it to the manager and she says "we are sorry but we are only humans" !! This attitude goes on to prove how much they care about their customers. After I blasted them that no this was not acceptable and we could have fallen sick eating their molded bread, some manager guy came to talk to me. He was polite and offered to reduce our total price by one day- which was a nice gesture.
When we checked out this guy comes running behind us saying that we opened a bottle of water from Room no 15 and we should pay for that!! Now- that is quite some service- They FORGET to clean the bathrooms, FORGET to Check the AC, FORGET to Check the sheets or even basically look at their breakfast before serving but DO NOT FORGET to charge you extra!

NOT RECOMMENDED Even to enemies.

Room Tip: DO NOT Stay in Room no. 15. They will assign it to you even when they know that it is not livable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayu I, Owner at Gayatri Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear miniz16,

Thank you for your review. The harsh words were well deserved and we admit that we are at a fault. Some of the rooms are indeed dated and have not been well maintained over the many years that Gayatri Bungalows has been operational.

We apologise, again, for the terrible experience you had with us and hope that you were still able to enjoy your holiday.

Gayatri Bungalows is 20 years old, and this can really be seen in the traditional style of the buildings and gardens. However, as the owner grew increasingly sick with cancer, his interest in managing the hotel decreased. This is no excuse for the bad conditions, but it does hopefully explain why we, the children of our deceased father, are still struggling with learning the ropes of running a hotel.

We have alredy repaired, fixed, replaced, and improved many aspects here at Gayatri Bungalows, but there is infinitely more to be done. We have begun renovations of the rooms in order to avoid more our customers having experiences such as yours and we are constantly training our staff to match international standards.

We are very sorry to have caused you such distress and I apologise once again on behalf of myself, my brother and my sister.

Thank you.

Kindest regards,
Ayu, Bagus and Cinta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 254 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spotted this place during my last stay at the highly rated and personal Ubud favorite Tegal Sari resort. Thought to give Gayatri a try considering their closer location to shops and cheaper rate for our overnight stay in this trip.

Good :
1. Fair deal for the price. At only USD30 per night, we got what we paid for.
2. Location hidden away from main road yet access is convenient to shops, ubud market, restaurants..etc. however you will need to rent a motorbike at USD5 per day to get to the famous and awesome Naughty Nuri's restaurant for the MUST-TRY barbecued ribs. It gets better with every visit. Miss it already.
3. Friendly service.

Could be better
1. Place is aging and will need some patching up to keep up with competition. The beds are worn, the lights are dim, shower need stronger water flow and better coffee making facility welcome.
2. We booked 2 rooms and one came with aircon while the other with fan only. Yet both were charged same price. Not sure why 1 had an aircon short. We were in room 2 and room 3 downstairs facing the reception. Better views are those facing the paddy field and small swimming pool.

All in all, fair deal if looking for good location at bargain price. However not good enough for us to consider staying here again when so many choices are available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2adults2kidsonBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayu I, Owner at Gayatri Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear 2kids2adultsonbudget,

Thank you for your review!

The place is indeed aging, which is why we have started renovations on the rooms. Perhaps on the next visit you can see for yourself how much effort, time, love (and money!) we have put on the interior of the rooms. The idea is to have a kind of Boutique Bungalow with each and every room individually designed. We here are all very excited to see the rooms!

So hopefully you might still change your mind on staying with us again, as I can guarantee you that the renovated rooms will be stunning!

Kind regards,
Ayu, Bagus and Cinta

P.S. The idea is to actually widen the price range to include truly cheap budget rooms for backpackers as well as the new and improved deluxe rooms for those craving a bit of luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Centrally located in Ubud, tucked away at the bottom of an alley, you will find a terracotta and pink group of bungalows in the local architectural style. The gardens are lush, well maintained and peaceful. The pool is clean and large enough, with a lower end suited for small children. The rooms are basic, many in need of repair, but clean, airy and good value for the price you are paying. I recommend the deluxe rooms high up, with beautiful views and cooling breezes. There is a new management which will surely invest in renovations. However, this has already been a very pleasant stay with good quality for the price.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Maylis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Gayatri Bungalows 2 and we were a little disappointed in the room. We were put in room 16 which is a large room somewhat separate from the others. The stairs to the room were steep, narrow and dangerous. The bathroom was not particularly clean and the smell of sewage was overwhelming ,so much so, that we had to burn mosquito coils all night to mask the smell. The sheets on the bed only covered two thirds of the mattress. The fan had one speed of 5 that worked, cyclonic or off was the choice. The complimentary tea and coffee did not appear in our room despite several requests and the excellent breakfast that was supplied by the Gayatri restaurant in the main street is no more. Breakfast ( ordinary) is served to your room. What a shame this used to be a good place to stay at a moderate price. Definitely not worth it now.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the pool are reasonably good but maybe not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judit731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We're glad to have stayed here because of many things. First off, the location was great, it is situated near the center of town. Market place, police station, groceries, restaurants are all accessible. Also, place itself is very nice to stay in. We stayed in a fan room, although aircon rooms are also available. They have a pool that is very nice after a long days travel around Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renjay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gayatri 2 for only one night in Ubud before heading further out of town. We wished we had of stayed longer. It was in a great location, lovely room, beautiful pool that over looked a rice paddy field.
The room was full of character & the gardens were gorgeous.
The service of all the staff was quick & they all understood English.
I would highly recommend this hotel & we will def stay there again when we head back to ubud.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillipndee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a lovely little place to stay. Basic but clean and welcoming. Outstanding location half way down Monkey Forrest Rd close to some of the best restaurants in Ubud. We have stayed there twice and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. A bit hard to find because its up a small ally way but that just makes it quiet. Lovely rice paddy views from almost every room and large swimming pool completes a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Walk in and check out what's available. The free standing cottages is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foamcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.7 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gayatri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayatri Bungalows

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest no. 41, Beji Lane | Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 622 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $28 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gayatri Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gayatri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gayatri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Gayatri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing