We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean room”
Review of Gayatri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gayatri Bungalows
Ranked #76 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in a room here in may 2012, and really enjoyed the place. Our room was basic and clean with a very nice shower and a good fan which you hardly heared during the night.The breakfast, in the cafe on monkey forest road was really nice and more than enough. The last night we had to move to another room, I think it was room number 2, which had airco, which we didn't use, and no water coming out of the shower, not really nice but ok for us for just one night, but I can't really recommend that room. The swimming pool was very nice and clean, and great to dive into after a long and hot day. The place is very central, on a small gang just off monkey forest road,just in the center of Ubud, next to the local school, but despite all that, very quiet and peacefully during both day and night. Wonderful staff and good service.

Room Tip: Just check the shower before you take a room. We stayed at number 4, which was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjanneFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ok so it's not the Ritz, but for IDR250k (USD25) per night for a room with a ceiling fan, hot water, a view all-round, wifi, & nice gardens & pool, I was happy here. The room was basic but decent. I'd stayed nearby for over double the price, & will it was nicer, it wasn't THAT much nicer. So I definitely improved my spend/value by moving here.
It's very close to the main drag, so easy to get in & out. The staff were amazing in accommodating my needs like very early departure, even making up a packed breakfast for me to take away.
They're linked to the nearby Gayatri Cafe and travel service, so they can do everything for you - car, motorbike, tour, etc.
If you're not on a big budget, this is an excellent choice!

Room Tip: Look around to ensure u get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterStk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Booked three nights here for our honeymoon due to positive reviews on tripadvisor. We arrived and checked in and shown to our 'upgraded' room overlooking the rice fields. After looking around the room we decided we were unhappy with the quality of accommodation for the price we paid and asked to speak to the manager to see if we could cancel our booking. Unfortunately as we had booked in through an online agent and not the hotel directly we were unable to do so without incurring a cancellation fee so we had to endure 3 nights there...

Room 14 was very spacious for 2 people (almost too big as it had in it two double beds), however it was not at all well maintained. Mould on the walls, cracked window, a bathroom that looked like it had been installed in the 60's, duck tape around the bath tap, shower positioned on the wall too low so you had to hold it to wash your hair. The residue/ limescale in the bathroom suggested that it hasn't had a good deep clean for a long time!

After two nights in this room we were moved to room 15 (as someone has specifically requested to stay in 14- not sure why!) Room 15 was of a better standard (despite 14 being sold to us as the 'upgrade!' ) - the sheets actually fitted the bed and the bathroom wasn't held together by duck tape . The bathroom however was still very old fashioned and the place needed a thorough clean

All all in all a very disappointing stay for the price we paid - we visited other hotels on the same street offering rooms for the same price and they were much better appointed and maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizilooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Usually we book lodging after a fair bit of research, but this time we chose Gayatri Bungalows because of the visual appeal. The bungalows are set in a beautiful and well maintained garden, with the addition of one of the nicest swimming pools I've been in, with a view of rice fields cut through by a stone path. The atmosphere of the place was serene and quiet. We stayed in the older building on the first floor (the bottom floor is called ground level). I recommend staying on the first floor or above for the view, the light and for the greater privacy. Our large veranda looked out over the distant rice fields and palm trees, where we could watch birds and squirrels. I like that the veranda had a huge drying rack. Our room was also a good size with a four poster bed and lots of windows with good curtains. It felt a little like being in a tree house. The shower was excellent. I also give many kudos to the complimentary breakfast - superb banana pancakes, great fruit salad, good coffee, perfeclty fried eggs were only some of the choices.

Now the downsides, which number two. The staff cleaned each day, which was great. I'd like to see them take some cleanser to the bathroom, though - really give it a good cleaning. I thought it was a bit dingy. Also, the sheets were a bit too small for the bed, which meant they came out and I found myself sleeping on the bare mattress. Easy, easy fixes. However, against the good rates, the great staff, the beautiful swimming pool and grounds, these are trifling problems.

Room Tip: Not the ground level - higher floors have more of a view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a very good place, and pretty good value by Ubud standards. Our room on the second floor (by American count; first floor to others) was pretty. The wooden bed had a four-poster mosquito net frame (no net, but not a problem) which was attractive. The sheet really wasn't quite big enough for the bed, and pulled out as we slept every night.The armoire was very functional, but a little worn. Our veranda was large and pretty with all sorts of Balinese embellishments in stone and carved wood. The view out over tile roofs and trees with glimpses of ricefields was especially nice. The pool is excellent -- not huge, but big enough and with a view out to ricefields. The room was cleaned every day, the bed remade, and fresh towels provided.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed at Gayatri Bungalow for 4 nights in April 2012 and had a wonderful time. The location is just perfect, on Beiji lane before the football field (opposite the famous Ibu Rai), 50 meters from Jalan Monkey Forest, less than 5 minutes walk to Ubud Market, very convenient. The surrounding is very peaceful and relaxing, green garden, swimming pool with rice field view.

My room is a standard room (No.7) on the second floor so it gets a lot of sun light. The room and bathroom are basic, not very big but clean and comfortable. I emailed Asti, the manager many times before my arrival and she'd been very helpful. All staffs are friendly and helpful as well. The hotel started renovating the swimming pool on the third day of my stay, and Asti offered me a discount for my not being able to use the pool, which is very kind of her.

The breakfast is served from 8-11 AM at Gayatri Cafe, 3 minutes walk from the hotel, which is fine with me. The food is delicious, I get to choose 3 items from the menu. The last day I had to leave early, so they arrange the breakfast to served early in the morning in my room.

I highly recommend this place for its location, wonderful staffs, great service, and peaceful atmosphere. I hope to go back there again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarWorawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I felt safe there. I was surrounded by a beautiful garden and friendly staff. The balcony was large and private, so I spent many serene and peaceful days there. There is also nice restaurant, Cafe Gayatri, near by where the food was one of the best Bali. Good value!

Room Tip: Luxory rooms number 10, 12 and 14 have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_north_jjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#62 of 200 in Ubud
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#159 of 200 in Ubud
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#113 of 200 in Ubud
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
6.6 mi away
Saudara Home
Saudara Home
#1 of 11 in Tegalalang
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gayatri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayatri Bungalows

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest no. 41, Beji Lane | Gianyar, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range: $31 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gayatri Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gayatri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gayatri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Gayatri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing