We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok”
Review of Sagittarius Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sagittarius Inn
Ranked #413 of 543 Ubud B&B and Inns
Bedford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The location is brilliant, really close to the monkey forest and shops, restaurants etc.
there is a nice pool and sun loungers. The room we had was big but we requested a double bed and got twins, not a massive deal. The room didnt get cleaned for 3 days. We hired a scooter and the guy at reception didnt tell us we needed an international license so we got stopped by the police. Could have been prevented if he had told us before taking our money.
Breakfast is simple fruit and eggs. Don't bother paying for it, there are plenty of cheap and better alternatives at the cafes near by.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
33
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in Sagitarius twice on our trip to Bali and it became our favourite guest house. When we first arrived to Ubud we went around looking for a nice hostel with a pool, which was actually really hard to find. Sagitarius however has it all; it is not too expensive, the rooms are clean and spacious and the garden is peaceful and the staff friendly.

My favourite part of Sagitarius was the pool though. It is quite big, clean and calm and surrounded by plants so you can't see it from outside. And there's plenty of sun loungers for many guests, unlike in some places. It was super relaxing! The breakfast is also really good compared to lot of budget hotels I've seen and it changes every morning. Sometimes pancakes, sometimes toast but always fresh fruit and coffee.

The room we had was for three people, and Sagitarius was one of the few hotels in Ubud that had a room for three people that had a double bed and a single bed in one room. The only downside is that sometimes at night you can hear the loud music from the street to your room, but the further back in the garden your room is located the more quieter it will get.

The Sagitarius restaurant in front of the hotel is also amazing, the best food in Ubud and it's so cheap! We ate there almost every day during our stay. I recommend the grilled chicken or the grilled vegetables, but anything there will taste amazing really.

I recommend Sagittarius Inn to everyone, you will love it!

Room Tip: Rooms further back in the garden are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed a couple of times and in different rooms- the first was an upstairs deluxe with TV, DVD, large ensuite and was more than adequate and the 2nd was a cheaper room on the ground floor with a fan and no aircon. Both were well priced for what you got. The only problem was there doesn't seem to be any insulation between rooms as the noise carried alot. Other than that the grounds were beautiful and the pool was clean and lovely. the staff are very friendly and obliging. The breakfasts were adequate- lots of fruit and a different cooked choice each day. I prefer to stay at the other end of Monkey Forest, but this is ok and priced well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beyond the bustle of monkey street is a beautiful oasis of calm ! The larger rooms were fantastic with king size canopy beds and very big beautiful bathroom with huge corner bath and a walk in large shower ,lovely veranda with a kind of colonial style tea tray set out each morning breakfasts good lovely pool and gardens ...staff very friendly ...some rooms have fans only but the bigger ones a/c which you really need for the humidity ! All in all a wonderful place to stay to explore the surrounding treats if you are on a budget .....

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms further down the gardens on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julıaıscrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights checking out Ubud and the surrounding area. We bartered for a nice room on a second level. It was large and clean, with a nice bathroom and the grounds were very well kept. The breakfast each morning was very good, and the restaurant that is attached served fantastic meals- mie goreng and a house salad that I still think about! Other necessities, laundry, snacks/beer, were close by. We rented one of their scooters for a day to go out into the country side and happened upon a cock fight with 700 local men. Whether you like them or not, we felt like we were "in the mix"- a goal of our travels and were very happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I see varied reviews of Sagittarius Inn, Ubud. I stayed there 3 nights in late November 2012 and was very happy. All was clean and garden beautiful. Was nice to have a pool in which to cool off after a day of touring. My room was just beyond the pool, A/C, and far enough from the street to be quiet. One day, breakfast included banana pancake, another day - egg sandwich, the third day - fried eggs. In addition, on the buffet was all the fruit you wanted - pineapple, papaya, banana, oranges. Plus plenty of coffee, tea. A computer is available for Internet, plus free WiFi - all that I needed.

Room Tip: Choose beyond the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenJ_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in one of the budged rooms in the front. The room was nice, we had a fan which was enough, it was clean and big with a nice veranda. The pool was great. breakfast was very good, everyday something else and more that enough too. Good location, central but very quiet, friendly staff. Value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#175 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rice Paddy Bungalows
Rice Paddy Bungalows
#180 of 543 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gerebig Bungalows
Gerebig Bungalows
#123 of 543 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jati 3 Bungalows
Jati 3 Bungalows
#214 of 543 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagittarius Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagittarius Inn

Property: Sagittarius Inn
Address: Monkey Forest Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 543 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sagittarius Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagittarius Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagittarius Hotel Ubud
Sagittarius Inn Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing