We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but the bathroom door could be more private”
Review of Ubud Garden Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ubud Garden Villa
Ranked #191 of 622 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 22, 2013

After seeing the D'Omah in Yogyakarta, I was prepared to be stunned by the roominess of the one in Bali. It was not quite the luxurious spaciousness of the one in Jogja. However, the service was very accommodating--we were able to order a meal at 10 p.m. after our late arrival. As I was sharing a room with a colleague, the bathroom was just not very private--it was roomy, but the door was a weave and not very soundproof. I think there are other boutique hotels that may be more value for your money. Also--don't try to compare this hotel to its sister in Jogja--it would be unfair.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 293 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is an old hotel, which is good news and bad news. The good news is a wonderful, mature garden, huge swimming pools, a quiet and secluded setting, a very pleasant restaurant and delightful staff. The bad news is - as many other reviewers have commented - the hotel is run down. The price is reasonable and the service is charming, but it is wearing to confront every day the evidence of neglect and lack of maintenance in the rooms, gardens and pools.

Room Tip: Choose one of the verandah suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supriyanto M, Manager at Ubud Garden Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your review it is very much appreciate.Our hotel is currently undergoing a well deserved facelift and some TLC to restore it to its former beauty and charm.We have started painting our rooms and external areas which is already giving a fresh new look to the property.
We intend to offer a new selection of services and pamper options which will cater to our guests individual needs.
Once again we thank you for your feedback and we hope you return to experience the changes being made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A jungle setting with beautiful flowers, birds, the deep ribbits of the small and tiny frogs and coi pond lets one know that you are worlds away where you came from. The hotels is tired and could use some updating, bedding okay, no bath tub, food acceptable. The service was always provided with a warm and welcoming smile. I would come back and visit this place again when visiting Penestanan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My review is very overdue as we stayed over 6 months ago. Our first room appeared to be lovely, until we saw the stained mattress and the bath and sink were cracked and bacteria was growing. We were moved to the private Villa.wonderful concept but tired and dirty. A glass coffee table was broken on the corner and dangerous. The pool was uninviting and not clear. We went to the hotel pool which was so tired. There were no rungs on one of the pool steps and no loungers.the pool was used by lots of outsiders which makes you question security. The hotel safe was unacceptable, everything just put in together, no sealed envelopes etc as is usual.

The owner needs to refurbish this hotel and spend money on it.

We never reviewed before but now we are going back to Ubud we thought we should. What made our stay was the Manager, Rodney and the butler in the villa who sadly have both left this hotel.They were first class and couldn't do enough to help you.

Room Tip: None, until refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here 25-27 Sept 2013. The hotel is located a couple of kms from the city.
Service was good by staff.
This hotel definitely needs to be upgraded or refurbished.
The price was US$70 per night via Asia rooms website.

Very dim lights in the rooms; aircon was a bit noisy, bathroom floors need to renovated as they are too old and look unhygienic.
We visited the massage rooms twice and noticed that the lights hanging above the massage bed had massive spider cobwebs. Masseurs were alright, nothing exceptional; could be improved with better oils and ambience.
Housekeeping did not change bed sheets everyday which was unhygienic.
Not sufficient ventilation in the rooms which may suffocate.
Room size was small.
Too many mosquitoes in this area; the staff were kind to provide repellents.

Visited the restaurant for breakfast in the morning - 1st morning omlette was made to perfection, 2nd and 3rd day omlettes were not so well prepared.
3rd day coffee served was cold; asked the waitress to get a hot one which she is immediately got one.
Prices in the restaurant are as expensive as outside restaurants but nothing exceptional. Ambience is average overlooking the garden.

The garden & swimming pool is well look after. The mattresses near the swimming pool had bird poo and dust on it. Shows that the staff don't really care about cleaning it regularly.

If you plan to walk from city to this hotel at night, please be careful along the road as there are many man-holes on the footpath and blind spots along the road with no street lighting.

Overall, an average hotel for the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are small and dim lighted...not much ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripdhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

we stayed at D;Omah end September for 4 night in a veranda suite we where up stairs over looking a pool our room was called ginger not a new hotel but that adds to its charm gardens are lovely the room was large heaps of room 4 poster bed in middle with tv fridge large bathroom bath shower windows +doors opened up to the large veranda with table chairs and day bed the room was clean and sheets +towels clean every day the round bar at front of the hotel was great for a night cap all the staff are nice and friendly only 20 mins walk into ubud or the hotel will drive you we will stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: all rooms are nice but veranda suits are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in the garden room. Would have preferred verandah room with fridge but on booking it there was none on offer. But there are and they said we could have upgraded when we got here.
But staff very accommodating as we got our own kettle and mugs then would get milk from restaurant area.
Breakfast cooked fresh with lots of choice and not much more if you want something different. Great banana bread and fruit plate or fresh juice as starters.
20 min walk into town. Narrow road and no path. Shuttle each hour.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meldi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Wayan 1
Villa Wayan 1
#273 of 599 in Ubud
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pugig Homestay
Pugig Homestay
#156 of 622 in Ubud
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Dream Resort
Bali Dream Resort
#18 of 622 in Ubud
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saka Village Resort Ubud
Saka Village Resort Ubud
#147 of 199 in Ubud
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Munut Balinese Resort
0.8 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#50 of 622 in Ubud
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Garden Villa

Address: Jl. Campuhan | Panestanan Klod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly d'Omah Hotel Bali)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 622 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $26 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ubud Garden Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud Garden Villa, a retreat place located in Penestanan, a little village just 15 minutes outside Ubud and has been known as an artist’s village where Walter Spies and Arie Smit used to live. Ubud Garden Villa creates an ambiance of complete serenity. In this magical retreat for couples, families and groups, guests will enjoy gracious Balinese hospitality throughout their stay as we have been welcoming guests since Mar 9, 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Ubud Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Garden Villa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing