We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ubud Villas and Spa
Ranked #135 of 567 Ubud B&B and Inns
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

As usual images are deceiving.

I stayed 2 nights in D'omah with 2 other couples and we didn't expected the Villa to be as what we thought.

Bathroom
To me the bathroom is the priority. The internet images of the bathroom look heavenly but as usual the wear and tear has taken place. The heater doesn't work for long,it needs time to reheat. The dim lights in the bathroom doesn't help either.

Bedroom
I don't like marble floors because we asian don't use shoes or sandals in the room hence the dirtiness. They do not provide room slippers so I end up with a dirty feet on the bed.

Breakfast
The complimentary breakfast is limited, we had only 3 options out of the many. You will have to pay if its not within the 3 complimentary choices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    127
    44
    10
    9
See reviews for
62
111
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I had already booked Hotel D'Domah for myself and two adult daughters when friends told us the accommodation had seen better days. When we arrived it looked like absolute paradise, beautiful outside living area and truly glorious gardens. The upstairs bedroom was really lovely, pool beautiful. However the stay was spoiled with the downstairs bedroom being dingy, bathroom in had condition and cockroaches in the bed. We decided to cut our stay short and avail ourselves of the cancellation policy which clearly stated we would forfeit the cost of only one night's accommodation. This was not honoured and an extremely uncomfortable conversation followed with the staff, where there seemed to be a stubborn refusal to accept the clearly worded policy conditions. It was embarassing and very unpleasant. The hotel debited our credit card with what we believe to be an inappropriate charge. Have not had this happen elsewhere at any hotel in any country ever. Until this happened the staff were wonderfully helpful, but it was extremely distressing and upset us so much as a family that it was a struggle to move on from this and enjoy the last few days of our long awaited holidy together. The real test customer service is how management respond when things go wrong and when there are differing views. We felt bullied by the staff and that there was a misappropriation on funds. This left us with all of the drama of having to recover these funds via the bank on our return to Australia and left a very had taste at the end of our stay in Hotel D'Omah. We would recommend against staying here and against providing credit card details over the internet. If you do decide to stay here we would recommend dealing in cash only.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine Villa. Upstairs room was lovely, unfortunately contrasted by downstairs roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay at the d'Omah Hotel in the Jasmine Vila while vacationing in Ubud and enjoyed every aspect. The grounds are beautiful, the room elegant and every aspect of service was helpful and accommodating. No request was too big and each was met with a smile and the warmth that the Balinese people are well known for. In addition, Manager Rod Harris and staff provided helpful tips about places to see, where to eat, the best times to visit the markets and the Sacred Monkey Forest and etc. d'Omah is located on a side street, at the top of a well-travelled, steep hill where you can find a number of retailers, the Round Bar and several eateries, including Mendes Wyong. When trekking up or down the hill seemed a bit daunting, d'Omah's complimentary shuttle service provided an easy way to get into town. That said, the hotel's location is up and away from the hustle and bustle of central Ubud and is central enough so that no area within this expanding community is too far to negotiate. Adding to the restive aspect of the property is the on-site spa that provides massages, pedicures and etc at rates that are easily affordable and can be provided, upon request, in the comfort of your room. d'Omah is a great choice for those who like outstanding service at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The single rooms are very basic, but include air conditioning, an internal bath and are poolside. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSaidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed for a few nights in a Veranda Suite and found it really good value for money. It was almost like having your own private pool villa, except you shared the pool with 3 other neighbours.

The staff were awesome and helpful, offering unbiased recommendations and suggesting things to do. Check out Bali Eco Cycling which you can book through reception. This was the highlight of our trip.

We hired a moped from reception for about $7 AUD per day and went exploring the surrounding areas and rice fields away from all of the tourists. I would totally recommend this if you end up staying here as Monkey Forest Road is a 5 minute motorbike ride away and there's not too much around D'omah except for other hotels and villas. There are some great restaurants and bars with live music nightly along Monkey Forest Rd and the hotel offer a free mini bus that will drop you off here every hour till 9:00pm.

The room had its own veranda with a full size bar with mini fridge, day bed and views of the pool. The room was a good size with 10 english movie cable channels, air conditioning and a private outdoor garden that you couldn't really use. the bathroom opened up over this garden with a semi outdoor shower and a massive bath tub.

There were other pools around the grounds, breakfast was not that great, and a uber modern cocktail bar out the front of the hotel which really didn't fit in with the local area.

This is a great option for someone wanting the Ubud villa holiday but not wanting to spend hundreds of dollars.

Room Tip: Veranda Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benoz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Thank you to Rod Harris and his team at d'Omah Hotel, Ubud. Rod made sure that our stay was relaxed, happy and gave great personalised service. The location is good - handy to day spas (try Botannica & Sedona - both awesome) and fantastic restaurants like Bridges. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

d'Omah was very highly recommended by a local ex-pat and I'm glad it was. My experience of service has been ordinary to poor in Bali but the service here is exceptional. Very accommodating for all needs, late check outs, fixing any problems straight away and recommending local gems like Sari organics, a restaurant surrounded by rice paddies.

Bridges restaurant is just down the hill, it's very elegant and a beautiful three course meal costs less than a third of what it would in Australia.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent a week at the D'Omah hotel and it was a great Bali experience. The hotel is quite rustic but this style of hotel is not unusual in Ubud and the highly humid, tropical Indoneisan climate. We were here for a wedding taking place at another hotel, and due to the amount of people descending on Ubud for the wedding, i had the privilege of seeing quite a few other hotels in Ubud. I can honestly say that the D'Omah is as good and better than other places, especially the more expensive ones. The service at the D'Omah is excellent and it is also easily accessible to Ubud town and most taxi drivers know it or can find it - something not to be underestimated in a countryside location. Ubud is not small but finding hotels can be a challenge for even the local drivers at the best of times.

The hotel is clean and well maintained but it would be considered 'rustic' by western, 'quality' hotel criteria/standards. Don't let this deter you as the charm of being in Ubud or off-the-beaten-track-Bali works its magic through this hotel. The staff are incredibly helpful from top manager Rodney, all they way down, and everyone is always cheerful - you will soon relax and enjoy the place for all that it offers in no time.

We were a large group with several adult families. We had 3 rooms in the main hotel and 5 rooms in the villa annex, which was accessed via a pathway round the back of the hotel. The rooms are a great size and the beds comfortable. The main gripe some of us had was the cockerel waking us rather too early, hardly the hotel's fault!! The only other gripe we had was the lighting in the rooms. There is simply not enough light, and you can't actually read using the bedside lamps due to too low wattage bulbs. Overall the rooms are comfortable and the decor is atmospheric, but it all gets too dim at night.

I did not use the spa, but several members of our party had massages, which they enjoyed. We went swimming in all the pools. They are all clean. Free wifi is available in all the communal areas and it is true that you can pretty much feel like the hotel is all yours, due to the amount of secluded areas.

Being in the annex had its (somewhat unexpected) advantages. We had a full team in the kitchen at our beck and call. We had a 'butler' in the form of the brilliantly resourceful Cadek, who simply couldn't do enough to make sure everything on our trip was the best it could be. If he could tuck us up in bed at night, i am sure he would! Superman!

I think this was what really made it for us - the personalised hospitality, the unique location of the hotel, the constant cries of cockerels, the weird and wonderful insects, the pet dog who is actually a cat crossbreed, the spicy noodle 'me goreng' for breakfast.... It was like staying at someone's house in Bali - different, indulgent, memorable - altogether our stay in Bali was an unforgettable holiday, not just due to the beautiful surroundings but this wonderfully unique hotel and its staff. Highly recommended if you are looking for something different and special in your holiday in Bali but equally need the usual mod cons.

Room Tip: Rooms in the villa annex are great for groups or large families as you can be together in your own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SashaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
d'Omah Bali Hotel
#181 of 198 in Ubud
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Dream Resort
Bali Dream Resort
#14 of 567 in Ubud
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Wayan 1
Villa Wayan 1
#257 of 553 in Ubud
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Esa Ubud
Villa Esa Ubud
#389 of 553 in Ubud
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shift Hotel
The Shift Hotel
#142 of 553 in Ubud
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rumah Pakir Dormy Inn
Rumah Pakir Dormy Inn
#175 of 553 in Ubud
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Villas and Spa

Property: Ubud Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Campuhan | Panestanan Klod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly d'Omah Hotel Bali)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ubud Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Villas And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing