We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ubud Villas and Spa
Ranked #137 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Divine!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Whilst I admit that the rooms are a bit 'tired', that's Bali, that's the effect of time and humidity! We loved this place SO MUCH. We stayed at the Jasmine suite and we all adored it. The staff are super lovely and helpful and all in all we were really sad to leave and would come back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Jasmine Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    127
    44
    10
    9
See reviews for
62
111
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I read some reviews and wonder sometimes if folks forget what country they're in: Indonesia which = subpar sewer systems,(had a tremendous downpour which leaked into the bathroom, but was quickly cleaned by staff and once the rain subsided, no problems.) maintenance and other things those of us from "western" countries take for granted. The overall general cleanliness of the hotel, and more importantly the outstanding friendliness of the staff, made this a nice retreat from the madness of Ubud central.

If you feel you *must* be in the thick of restaurants, shops, and general chaos, this is not the place for you.

I was *very* pleased with our choice, but I will say do book an upstairs room. We had booked the "Veranda" Room and it was a lower level, with no view and the bed was a "double" bed. With a 6'5 husband, I was bound to be on the floor so we asked for another room. We then moved to the "Ginger" Suite and it had an nice view of the rice paddy, with a breeze to boot. The room was large and had wonderful full length windowed doors. Our room also overlooked one of the smaller of the three pools.

The hike into town is just that -- easily 30 minutes, at a leisurely pace -- to/from Ubud Palace. The hotel has a free shuttle to town, and good grief if you will surely find a taxi back if you can't manage the couple kilometer hike.

Not sure about most appetites but I felt the breakfast was more than adequate: coffee, fruit plate, and a choice of eggs or pancakes, etc. Free internet/WifFi. Three pools, Hardly see any other guest. Glad to have found it rather than always choosing something "in the book."

Beware of booking engines, however. I booked first with hotels.com and came out with ~150USD incl. tax but found their website and the same room, incl tax, was 90USD.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlJini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were confused by the somewhat disconnected layout of d'Omah - until the staff explained that it had originally been 2 adjacent hotels. The 'Garden Villas' are tiny buildings consisting of a small bedroom/bathroom at each end, connected in the middle by a shared outdoor lounge area. A central stair well leads up to an empty "loft for meditation" (i.e. no furniture, not even a chair). At $130 for the 2 rooms, I guess this would suit a family with 2 older children (although there is no TV/DVD). If you were a couple who did not want to socialize it would be easy to get frustrated from being forced on top of your neighbors.
Follow the path around (to what used to be 'next door') and you end up at the luxurious Veranda Suites - spacious rooms with full-length windows, loads of wardrobes and drawers, quiet effective A/C, quiet mini-bar & TV/DVD. The Upstairs Veranda Suite feature a balcony around half of the building with views to local rice paddies. Downstairs Verandah Suites have large outdoor sitting areas with gardens providing some privacy, but it's only natural that guests look in as they walk past on the way to the pool etc.
The d'Omah would really benefit from some general maintenance - both pools were clean but had tiles lifting. The bathroom towels were well passed their use-by date so we used the pool towels, which were large and new. Our old bathroom sink featured a stain along a lengthy crack, but otherwise the room was kept clean. As others have mentioned, breakfast is included and is sufficient - but nothing to write home about. Cafe Mendez, an easy 5 minutes walk away - is Sensational! It's easy to over order though - a $3 entree easily filled us up. We're both early 50's and the steep 10 minute walk back from Ubud town did not worry us at all.
We consider ourselves easy travelers to please - but we are a little surprised that this hotel gets such rave reviews. D'Omah has it's pros and cons - that said, we were more than happy to return to our Upstairs Veranda Suite and the choice of two pools at the end of each day.
On our first night we were kept awake by the continuous barking of a neighbor's dog. The next morning we wearily mentioned this to Reception not expecting that anything could be done. To our amazement the dog was swiftly "moved to a cousins house" - whatever that means - and from then on we fell to sleep to the sounds of frogs, forest and distant roosters.
We took a hint from another reviewer on Trip Advisor and booked through Bali Friendly and got the room at a 35% discount.

Room Tip: Upstairs Verandah Suites are lovely. All other rooms looked problematic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard-and-Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great location, Staff could not do enough for you and we loved the facilities. Our room was very clean and quite big. There were two pools which were more than adequate and the hotel has an awesome new bar at the front (Roundbar, Ubud) which gives ou 30% OFF just for being a d'Omah guest. We will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Villas with two bedrooms are also available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here in January, 2011. I booked directly with D'Omah over the internet and paid via BPay which was convenient. All my queries were answered promptly when we arrived we found out room to be on the ground floor as requested, it had a lovely huge private outdoor area surrounded by beautiful pond full of fish, a relaxing day bed and outdoor bar and fridge area, the insense filled the air and we knew this was a great spot to relax after our hectic time spent in Seminyak.
Staff were extremely helpfull, as we had to do some business whilst staying with them and needed access to eftpos machine etc they allowed our buying agent to hook into their phone line to complete transactions etc - which saved us a trip to Denpasar to complete things.
We had breakfast included in our amazingly cheap price and it was quite nice. We did actually eat at D'Omah on one evening.
The pool that was outside our room was a lovely area (the smaller of the two). We never saw anyone else in it - so it was almost an area we enjoyed on our own.
On the downside - yes the cats around the dining table were a bit of a nusience but we found it amuzing at times. To stay here you must understand that it is - out of town and not an easy walk - we are walkers but the road was too steep without footpaths so we did not attempt it - you can get a lift into town although at times we found it hard to get back home.
We loved the relaxed atmosphere here just keep in mind its not 5 star.

Room Tip: ground floor verandah near to small pool was a great choice for us - three sharing - one queen bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedievictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We just returned from the D'Omah. Had a verandah suite - it was fantastic. We booked through Bali Friendly - had organised a driver from the airport through them also - all went very smoothly. Lovely quiet location, we were in a room near the smaller swimming pool which no one else used so it was like having our private pool. About a 20 minute walk into Ubud proper but we found the shuttle which leaves on the hour very handy. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place if you are looking for a real Balinese experience. The gardens and koi ponds were beautiful. Lots of frogs and even had fireflies outside our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Mosquitoes were not a problems as they provide coils, repellant and a smaller zapper in your room. Didn't get one bite!!!All amenities were extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. If you want to have peace and quiet whilst at your hotel this is the place to be.Used the spa quite a few times and all treatments were truly amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandR024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We booked a Veranda Suite through Agoda.com and it was Awesome!
We had our own outdoor sitting area complete with koi pond, bar and kitchen sink, couch and table. Our room was really big with a very comfortable bed & mosquito net.
The bathroom was incredibly gorgeous – not an open air bathroom but you showered in a huge triangular bath with an open window overlooking a tiny private garden! It was gorgeous.
There are 2 main pools, both are beautiful. Beautiful gardens and fish ponds throughout the property, and lots of frogs and wildlife at night. Remember where you are – its almost jungle, so expect insects! The hotel provides mosquito coils so make sure to use them, and keep the doors in between bathrooms and bedrooms shut so that you don’t flood your room with bugs attracted to the lights. (I always carry insect repellent with me in Ubud, since get bitten once landed me in hospital a year ago!)
The free WIFI in the lobby was great. They also lend free DVDs. The breakfast was good, but go check out Murni’s Warung down the hill if you get a chance. TRY THE OXTAIL SOUP FROM ROOM SERVICE, its only 50,000 rupiah and smells and tastes amazing.
The staff were all super friendly and helpful. It is an enjoyable trek into town but if you don't want to walk you can use the free (one way) shuttle or hire a taxi (less than 50,000).
The only thing I didn’t like were all the cats, it seemed like there were a hundred of them! They spent their time killing big lizards, and waking us up during the night to fight with each other or beg for food.
Apart from the cats, I recommend this hotel and I would go back in a heartbeat.

(A bit about Ubud: Ubud is beautiful. Dont go for the nightlife! Go to get away from the nightlife of Kuta and see the real Bali!
The people are super friendly, the weather is a tiny bit cooler, there is jungle and rivers everywhere. Go see the Temples (especially the holy springs), the Elephant Rescue Park at Taro, go white water rafting (even just to enjoy the view - the carvings alongs the banks of the Ayung River are amazing.)Take yourself on some walks, do an easy downhill bicycle tour and drop into a class at the Yoga Barn.
Try the suckling pig at ibu oka, Any of the dishes at Nomad or the Ibu Rai and the cool wares that the locals have for sale.
Avoid the monkey forest, they will steal your stuff!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kendal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
d'Omah Bali Hotel
#181 of 198 in Ubud
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Dream Resort
Bali Dream Resort
#13 of 555 in Ubud
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Wayan 1
Villa Wayan 1
#252 of 542 in Ubud
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Sowan Ubud
The Sowan Ubud
#68 of 555 in Ubud
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Esa Ubud
Villa Esa Ubud
#377 of 542 in Ubud
1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Villas and Spa

Property: Ubud Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Campuhan | Panestanan Klod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly d'Omah Hotel Bali)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ubud Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Villas And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing