We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but pushy staff”
Review of Raka House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raka House
Ranked #350 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location but pushy staff”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights while in ubud. The location was near everything so that was perfect. Breakfast is also included. The only downfall was one of the staff members tried to sell us things or convince us to book trips through them 3 times a day, which got annoying after just the first day. They also allow all their relatives and friends into the complex to try and sell you things while you try to eat or read. But otherwise a nice enough place and we'd stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccall25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and hospitably people, they are really helpful!they made some calls for us for the next stay, and also for a good driver.
The rooms are basic, we got one with open windows, so in the morning it was a little bit loud, cause they're many rooster in the in the near..but the other 4 of the six rooms have windows, try to get one of them or take earplugs with you:)
The location of the guesthouse is very central, just 10 minwalking distance from the ubud palace, through the market!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

First the good: Raka and his family members are nice. The rooms are basic with comfortable beds but only fans and are a little old but kept quite clean on the surface. Just don't lift the bed covers or you might be frightened off. Covered with water damage and mold in some spots. The grounds were nice as was their pool and the atmosphere was relaxed and quiet. Only little things could be done to really improve this place such as a window curtain in the bathroom or at least some kind of window covering. Also, a hook for the shower head would be nice, too.The windows seem to be tinted so we weren’t overly worried about someone being able to look in from the house above, but it might add a better sense of privacy for guests., replace the tired mattresses, coverings and pillows.

The bad: Only thing that would have made this place a more pleasant stay is if we weren't constantly being asked what we were doing that day by the two boys who maintain the place. Especially during breakfast, when we just want to enjoy our time and relax before planning our day. I understand that's the way of things there, that's how they make a little extra cash, but every day over breakfast is a bit much, and don't get annoyed at us if we decline politely. We had already rented a scooter so that we could drive around and find a place to stay, so I think they felt a bit put out that we didn't rent it from them. We also felt pushed out of our accommodation on the last day by the boys so they can hurry and clean. They were hovering by our door asking us if we were done every couple of minutes or so. There was a bit of rudeness from them as we were departing that we didn't appreciate.

But the family who live there are really nice and they helped us out by keeping one of our bags as we traveled around Bali for a few weeks and overall, it was an ok budget friendly option that included a pool and hot water.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Absolutely loved my time at Raka House, Raka himself and his family are so sweet and really helpful, especially his 2 sons and they have good English. Through them we organised a cycling trip, day at spa, evening traditional dance performance, cooking class, they even arranged our taxi to the next place. The family compound itself is beautiful and has it's own temple. There was a family celebration at the temple during our stay which was amazing to see and they were so welcoming. Lovely breakfast every morning, nice swimming pool, it's small but deep, great location, they help out in anyway possible. Rooms are basic but fine, really clean and felt very safe. I definitely would recommend anyone to stay here during their time in ubud, just wish we had the time to stay longer! LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Swimpool, Wifi, cheap price, nice staff : What else ?
Good breakfast with fruit salad
Facilities for renting scooters

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

the family was lovely, the room simple and clean and the location was perfect for all ubud could offer. the pool was a lovely addition and i was there for a family festival and was welcomed. breakfast every morning was hot and tasty. mr. raka is an amazing resource for trip planning in bali.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

There's so much to see in and around Ubud. Raka was very helpful with organising, they recommend a really good taxidriver (Nyoman Janten), the breakfast is wonderful, the pool is clean, the bathroom big (with tub), can negotiate on the price when staying longer. All the rooms look the same from the inside, are quiet and safe. if there's an option go for the rooms on the first level! Would certainly go back there again because it's in the very heart of Ubud!

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schweppes2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#135 of 198 in Ubud
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Pension
Nirvana Pension
#172 of 542 in Ubud
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayong House
Sayong House
#105 of 555 in Ubud
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Budi House Bungalows
Budi House Bungalows
#197 of 542 in Ubud
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alit Bungalow & Warung
Alit Bungalow & Warung
#303 of 542 in Ubud
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wahyu Bungalow
Wahyu Bungalow
#417 of 555 in Ubud
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raka House

Property: Raka House
Address: Jalan Dewi Sita | Gang Maruti No. 108, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Raka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raka House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing