We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly staff, super central but quiet. Highly recommended.”
Review of Ibunda Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ibunda Inn
Ranked #419 of 536 Ubud B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly staff, super central but quiet. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Came to stay here after the one I booked sight unseen was too far out of the main part of Ubud. Walked in off the street and they could not have been more helpful!

Quiet clean room, with air conditioner and fan, small fridge and bathroom. a balcony at the front of each room looks out on a tranquil garden and pool area. You'd never think you were 50 m from Monkey Forest Rd! Some staff have limited English but they quickly find a colleague to help when required. Extended my stay an extra day it was so relaxing!

Room Tip: A room upstairs will be quieter than downstairs. The further back on the property the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacrobertsonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
18
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Amazing value for a lovely, quiet resort with a great location in the centre of Ubud, its actually located on Monkey Forest Road but set back far enough to eliminate all traffic noise.

We took a fan room for 200,000 IRP a night including breakast, The aircon rooms are 350,000 if you get a bit sweaty in the tropics. The room was large, airy, full of light and clean which is not always guaranteed in Bali no matter how much you pay. There isn't a restaurant to speak of (there are countless restaurants minutes away) and breakfast was served daily on the balcony at what appeared to be whatever time you were hungry. A few times we slept late expecting to have missed breakfast but we still got our pancakes, eggs or nasi goreng served with a smile.

A huge bonus is the swimming pool. Large, clean and in a beautiful garden setting.

The staff are all extremely friendly and I would absolutely stay here again. A great find in Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeneKoLanta_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I move here after 4 weeks at Nirwa Homestay which I loved. Ibunda felt tired and unloved..it has so much potential. The room smelt like a mix of bleach and dry cleaning fluid. ..it was so strong on the bedding that I had to put the pillows outside the room at night. They looked like the had been quite mouldy, at times. The towel was old, holey and stained..it was prompty changed. The bathroom was dated. Nice grounds and good fruit plate for breakfast. The pool is dated too. Quiet consdering the area. I think that a good "Homestay" is better value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at Ibunda located in Monkey Forest road. The convenient location is the main drawcard and the affordability. Ibunda has not really altered over the years, the bathrooms are tired requiring updating. Value for money, yes, you cannot really complain even with the extra tariff I had to pay for peak season being New Year. The rooms are traditional style, airconditioned and now even have refrigeration. The gardens have certainly developed appearing more lush and there were many beautiful plants flowering.
Breakfast is ample, you have three choices, Bali Style, American and Indonesian. Down the back there is a private pool which is kept clean. The staff are friendly and eager to please. They also offer massage treatments in the front two rooms. If you want a meal at night, without hesitation, the staff will collect the menu from a restaurant out the front, wait while you place your order, and then bring the food direct to your room. The room I stayed in smelt a bit musty as if it had not been aired for a while, but it seemed that all rooms were occupied during my stay. Great airconditioning, or alternatively, there is a ceiling fan too. The walk up to Ubud market is about ten minutes, and in the opposite direction, you will encounter the monkey forest after a short walk. There are a plethora of choices for restaurants, depending on your budget. I find Ubud is a little more pricey than elsewhere and everyone seems to hit you with that extra sales tax. But, undoubtedly, I will be back as this little hotel meets all my requirements when I am in Ubud.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Cant say enough good things about this wonderful location. Room excellent. Pool excellent. Grounds landscaped daily were so nice you forget you are in middle of Ubud. Complimentary breakfast excellent. Everything on par with much larger resort location, without all the people. Really enjoyed the intimate setting.

Location within yards of dozens of good eating establishments, convenience store, shopping, and of course the must see monkey forest!

Staff and service fast, friendly, and efficient. Will definitely be staying here again and again. The owner, Ketut, personally made sure our trip was awesome!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndoCurrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed 1 night at the dirty Warsa's Garden Bungalows (I had pre-booked without viewing it) and checked out the next morning to move to Ibunda. The staff at Ibunda are so welcoming and friendly, truly made the stay. The room was clean, so clean, bright and airy (windows on 3 sides), good quality furnishings, great a/c and a good price since I have stayed in more expensive places for less quality in Ubud. The quirky Art Kafe is nearby for great food and atmosphere too.

Only drawback was the poor water pressure in the shower, but there was hot water and I certainly survived without too much bother. There was even a fridge in the room..

I would definitely stay here again. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkp018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

we stayed in ibunda Inn in Dec 2009 for 2 weeks and in may 2010, the pool area is nice and the pool for a hotel in this price range quite large. The rooms are cleaned every day, the bed sheets and the towels are getting old and grey, its time buying new ones! breakfast is good: you can choose between toast with eggs, Mie goreng, nasi goreng and with that you get a large plate of fruitsalad or fruit juice. athough very central-on monkey forest road-ibunda is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.2 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibunda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibunda Inn

Property: Ibunda Inn
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 536 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibunda Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ibunda Hotel Ubud
Ibunda Inn Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing