We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets in Ubud!”

Ibu Rai Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 731 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our menu is specially selected for nutrition and natural flavors using the best and the freshest ingredients. We hope our pleasing presentation and friendly service will add enjoyment to your meal.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Ubud!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been coming to Ubud for decades and this is one of our mainstay restaurants, if not our very favourite in the whole town. Although on the Main Street it is a beautiful little restaurant with a very warm atmosphere and at night the lighting makes it look like a fairy grotto! Food is always of a very high standard and the service impeccable. great value and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    706
    262
    75
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
“Bad food in a nice place”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Tne food here was probably the worst food I ever had in Bali! Was directed here by my hotels and we were truly disappointed. The beef stir fry was lukewarm and tasted like it came from a steam table not from a hot pan! My wife's noodles dish was also steam table quality. Very little taste except for the spices added. We would not recommend this place to anyone who likes food. If your in the mood for back home mediocre quality stuff then go here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbyresesiana, Admin Director Manager at Ibu Rai Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Bob J, thank's for write review to our restaurant. I would like to inform you that in our restaurant are not used a steamed table for serving a food. Specially for noddles dish and beef stir fry we do wok method. We always do a best standard for served food and beverages in our restaurant. and i would like to thank that your review will make going better and better. We are sorry about unexpected food when you in our restaurant. we glad for you to back again to our restaurant. see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.Yummy food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had dinner, drinks and dessert here.restaurant was packed! Food took a while to come out but it was worth the wait.staff were wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsie_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly terrible service”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have to say getting bad service from a Balinese 2nd generation restaurant seemed so out of character, but I am sad to say that is exactly what we got. Literally were "allowed" a table and then completely ignored for 20+ minutes. No menus, hello, be with you soon, etc. I was shocked, the Balinese people are incredibly hospitable and welcoming so it was so out of character, especially considering the reputation this restaurant has for it's service and food. Maybe they thought we were Aussies... who knows.

Anyway, the food and ambiance were excellent when we finally were able to order, although they somehow mistook calamari for prawns in a spicy tomato dish but it was still delightful.

Side note... we also had the joy of dealing with an incredibly idiotic Chinese tourist who so overtly and dramatically covered his face when I lit a smoke that I literally wanted to crush him. I was 15 feet away sitting in a restaurant that has no walls and right against the outside area. Dude, it's Bali, people smoke everywhere possible. Get used to it or go home.

Overall, I would hesitantly recommend as I think the service was a fluke. But come on Ibu, you have to up your game, food just isn't enough to keep people coming. (1 star for service, 4 for food = average of 2.5 rounded to 3).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbyresesiana, Admin Director Manager at Ibu Rai Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
we are very sorry for any inconvenience during your meal in our restaurant. we always emphasize to our staff in order to meet the hospitality procedures when serving customers in any situation. Our restaurant is renowned for its hospitality and the food was tasty and fresh. we always serve it with a beautiful presentation and perfect. but if there were less willing we are very sorry and we'll fix it. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An ordinary restaurant of very good quality”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have returned several times to Ibu Rai, both for Asian and European food ( yes sometimes you just feel like having a simple steak ) . We have never been disappointed with the food and the service has always been excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank European123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ibu Rai Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ibu Rai Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing