We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic relaxing place in a quiet village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Graha Moding Villas
Ranked #31 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing place in a quiet village”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after having spent 10 nights in busy/hot Surabaya. So we were looking for a relaxing and quiet place to recharge our batteries, we could not have chosen a better place. Graha Moding Villas are great if you looking for peace and a place to recharge your life again. Good value and great breakfast. Every morning they serve you breakfast in your room. The hotel only have like 8 rooms so don’t expect many people, in fact we did not see anyone in the nice infinity pool they have, so it’s not a crowded place. Some people here write about bugs, and yes there are some bugs around, you live right next door to the jungle. For the price you pay this is a great place to stay. Great management and staff. And when you want to make a tour just go to the next door house, they have a sign “transportation” ask for Mr Sumada a great English speaking driver with a nice car.

Room Tip: I would only book the villas, the ones overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    72
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
154
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent 17 nights in this wonderful place. The hotel and the team make your stay the more pleasant we ever had. The rooms are big, clean, breakfast are complete and you have the choice. The whole crew is please to help you in any requests, Ubud is only few minutes by motorbike. You can easily have a tour of your choice. The swimming pool is clean and has a beautiful view.
Nothing else to say that we will come back for sure, and we highly recommend this authentic place in a quite and peaceful atmosphere. Thank you for this peace of paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuables time to post your comment on our Trip Advisor page regarding your recent visit at Graha Moding Villas, members of Pramana Hotels & Villas Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

At this stage behalf of all staff Graha Moding Villas, we look forward to welcoming you back at Graha Moding Villas in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The villa certainly lived up to its expectations from the comments found on tripadvisor. The managers and villa staff here are very accomodating and are able to help you with any queries or requests.

It takes about a 10-15mins drive from the Ubud city area to the villa and they provides free shuttle service at fixed timings to help you travel to and fro. Otherwise, you can just pay $5USD for a taxi to bring you to town and the hotel is able to help you to book it.

Breakfast is great and is served right outside your room, and you can choose between local, continental or american breakfast which is great. There is also a alluring infinity pool and the setting is good for people who seek a quiet environment away from the city.

Advantages
-Swimming pool
-Great staff
-Good breakfast
-Peaceful environment

Disadvantages
-Lack of space to hang clothes with hangers
-No AC but the weather is real cold at night and it is really windy so there is no real need for any AC
-Slightly far from the town(10-15mins drive)
-Abit dim in the night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelsng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, members of Pramana Hotels & Villas Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were generally satisfied with the services rendered.

We also thank you for your comments that you found more light need in the bedroom. We will most definitely look into your comments to ensure the best overall guest experience and to further improve our service and facilities.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Being outside the hustle and bustle of Ubud, and far away from a handy walk to the centre might be a problem for many people, but we chose this place right because of these reasons!!
We considered the distance from the centre of Ubub, waking up with no noise rather then the birds and the river, the free shuttle twice daily from/to the hotel to Ubub and the fact that hotel has only few bedrooms and private villas.
We loved it as soon as we walked in! The entrance is on top of the stairs, and from there you can have a good look of the place and surrounding! Lots of green and typical forest trees, rice fields all around and the hotel that seems to be full part of the nature!
We've been welcomed from friendly staff, the 2 managers are always smiling with an incredible positive attitude, talking and suggestion tours and things to do in the neighbourhood!
We had a welcome drink, a fresh watermelon juice and then we've been escorted to our room.
There are 2 main buildings, the first one where the reception is, and few bedrooms upstairs, the spa and the kitchen, and after few steps, the bedrooms building, where there are only 4, maybe 5, definitely 2 on the bottom and 2 upstairs.
Our one was on the bottom, in front of the swimming pool, extremely big, not too bright, in a typical Balinese style. The bathroom was all in nice stone, bright due to a glass ceiling, with a bath tube.
everything was clean, no insects inside the bedroom, just the mosquito net with few stains...maybe they could wash it sometimes!

Negative points: - only 2 bath towel are provided, anything else to dry hands/face like a face towel unfortunately.
- There are no hooks for towel/cloths, we had to use 2 hungers, wrapping the towel on top of them and put them outside to let them dry so that we could re use the towel whenever we needed.
- There's no wardrobe or anything like that, except for a big chair that we used to put our clothes on, and a long chest drawers, not handy enough to be used.
- The bedroom is a bit too dark, even in day time, but all in all, you don't have to spend too much time in there!

The breakky was the best we had during our holiday, between 5 different hotels. 3styles, continental, American and Indonesian, with a fresh juice and a pineapple(or banana)pancake not to be missed.
And the option to consume it at the table just outside our bedroom, in front of the pool...with the poor staff members going up and down the stairs with trays full of goodness!
We didn't use much the pool as we didn't spend too much time at the hotel, but we could see the lounge chairs full of ants all the time. Other customers asked to the staff to give them a clean, and the guy seemed to be happy to do it...it just didn't last for long!
The shuttle service is very efficient, just be sure to tell the manager on duty that you need it so he can call the driver...otherwise i'm not too sure he comes to the hotel anyway!
we never walked from the hotel to Ubud, it just seemed too far with few steep parts of the road, ad the driving is pleasant, maybe 10/15 minutes. All the drivers were always on time, especially at night time, after a day long of walking around, we couldn't wait to go back and have a shower and they were always there 15 minutes before the appointment! good job!

Overall, we loved it and if we will ever go back to Ubud, we'll choose Graha Moding again and again...maybe next time picking the room upstairs, so we don't have to hear each and every step that our "neighbours" take, as the whole building is in wood!

Room Tip: top floor, overlooking the river and the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatAbility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, members of Pramana Hotels & Villas Bali.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were generally satisfied with the services rendered.

We also thank you for your comments that regarding no towel rack provide in room. As well as wardrobe and light in the room. We will most definitely look into your comments to ensure the best overall guest experience and to further improve our service and facilities.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was relaxed from the moment I sat my bags down, to the moment I left graha moding. The staff were polite, helpful, wonderful chefs and always excited to acompany me into town at the drop of a hat. Ketut the owner, extended his wishes to use Eco friendly accomodation to ensure a more sustainable environment for Bali. What I loved the most was that for a small price, I had a local yoga instructor practice her methods with me on my balcony, the perfect space with the perfect flow. This and breakfast cooked fresh and brought to my room every morning. I recomend highly to enjoy your stay at graha.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanna808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Graha Moding Villas, a peculair home but wonderful.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were generally satisfied with the services rendered.

We also thank you for your comments regarding yoga lesson you had during your stay. As well as our concept to built sustainable eco tourism in area.

Behalf of all staff Graha Moding Villas, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Graha Moding Villas in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatouage
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at Graha Moding Villas with high expections after reading the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. I can only describe the place as a hut instead of villa (although we all have our own interpretations of what a villa is). The reception is located after going down a flight of stairs with 3 baggages. We were glad our driver was there to help. The reception was dark and dingy although the manager in charge that day was a very friendly and welcoming man.

We had the River Edge Villa right at the bottom of the property. We could only hear there was a river, but it was not possible to see it because of the luscious greens surrounding the property. More flights of cobbled stairs to conquer (my 7-year-old son managed to count 139 steps...unsure if this is correct) past the infinity pool.

The room was itself quite charming. The lighting could be better, but it made for a good sleep. The luscious natural greenery and serenity were incomparable. We absolutely loved the different sounds to be heard and the clearness of the sky at night; we could stare up at the night sky for days on end. However it is the cleanliness of the place we were terribly dissatisfied with.

The mosquito net had some holes and some black spots, from mildew I suppose, and the cloth on top of the bed was filled with everything from dead insects to dust and spots. This was very clear at night when we laid in bed. It was like watching “The dead insects shadow puppet show” – could make for great entertainment in lieu of the missing television. My son felt uncomfortable looking at that he had his face covered with the pillow the whole time until he fell asleep. The dust cover on top of the fridge was filthy, no word could describe it. The curtains which used to be off-white had now extra details thanks to dried lizard droppings.

There were no extra contact switches, so we had to unplug the fridge and one of the lights making the room even darker.

The bathroom was spacious. However I wouldn’t spend more than 5 minutes in there. The wash basin was the only clean spot I could compliment the place on albeit the presence of scurrying ants, the occasional moth and spider. I was glad I “presented” myself with rooms slippers from the previous hotel.

The toilet was old, although it was clean inside. The wastepaper was of old plastic and dirty. The bathtub was chipped. Hot water comes out from the hand-held shower head around 5-10 minutes after turning it on, while more ants of all shapes and sizes and functions, spiders and worms pass by, oblivious to their guests. There were dispensers for soap and shampoo, however they were empty. Towels were provided, however they smelled musty after one use, as if they had been folded before they were totally dried. Some parts of the wall were green likewise the floor. You could tell it had been an “open-bathroom”.

We had booked to stay for 4 nights here, but had already planned our escape the same night. We checked out after 2 nights. We didn’t even ask to be refunded for the rest of the 2 nights. We refused to accept sub-standard cleanliness after flying halfway round the globe to be here. We understand that some things are old and subjected to wear and tear. However things can be kept clean even though they are old. A good old wash and scrub wouldn’t hurt.

I have no issue with ants and other crawling and or flying insects either; we were after all guests in their environment – although I still think ants do not belong in hotel rooms or any rooms for that matter. Anyway, my issue is with dead insects and their droppings left behind such that they have become part of the décor. That is just a sign of plain laziness and careless attitude.

We had a good talk with the manager of the day, Mr Suyasa, on the day we checked out. He apologized for the hotel’s shortcomings and promised us the management had plans on renovating the place as it was quite an old property. Again, for me old does not equate dirty. Laziness does. But it was good he accepted our explanation.

Would I recommend anyone to stay here? I would say no if you are used to and therefore expect clean environment. If you are used to not washing your hair for weeks and think dead insects add to good karma, this would be just the place for you. The great view, fresh air and good sleep are just a small consolation. You can find other properties which offer that and more. We wouldn’t return here but would really like to keep in touch to see how the renovations and improvisations as promised are coming along.

Facilities:
Wifi: Good internet connection although can be slow at times.
Infinity pool: During our stay we didn’t see anyone using the pool, maybe everyone was out on their walkabouts or tours of the lovely area. We wouldn’t use it as the water in the pool was green and the sundecks were covered with crawling ants
F&B: Not a full restaurant, only breakfast, tea and snacks. Breakfast is served at your verandah, you can choose between continental, American or Indonesian breakfast. I always go for the local menu. You cannot go wrong with it and it keeps you full on your long tours. I loved the banana pancakes as well. Tea is served either at your verandah or the common kitchen with local cakes/sweets with coffee/tea.
Turn-down service: They just hang the mosquito nets down and switch on the mosquito zapper.
Shuttle service: To and from central Ubud 3 times daily
Safety-box: In the cupboard. However I didn’t see how much it would help seeing that the lock to the main door of the hut is just a small padlock.
Activities: Walking tours, yoga
Spa: Didn’t try this. Couldn’t imagine how the facilities would be…
Tours: The hotel can organize tours and arrange the transport for you. We used this service and stayed out of the hotel the whole day. There is also a taxi service and bike rental available next door.

Pluses:
- Luscious greens, cool fresh air (no air-conditioning needed), quiet surroundings, stargazing in your own verandah
- We loved breakfast being served to us in courses; a change from the usual rush at buffet breakfasts. We just felt sorry for the boys and girls who had to bear full loads of trays down the numerous steps. We heard 1 of them fell down..ouch…
- Shuttle service
- Staff: Most of them we encountered were very accommodating, courteous and nice. Although we found they (or perhaps some) should be more attentive to the surroundings. We still found glasses and cups of tea/juice in the room after they have been in the room for turn-down service, which, of course attracted more ants to the room. The managers were very professional and well-informed. We also had a star driver, Mr Nyoman who took us around the city and a tour around Ubud and other places we were interested in. He even picked us up from the city outside of the normal shuttle pick-up times. We hired him to drive us to our next destination and were quite sad to see him leave.

Minuses:
- The cleanliness (or lack of it!)
- Due to the stairs, this property would not be good for those with walking disabilities or small children
- Children could feel out of place without TV and having to be quiet all the time as the place is quiet and most of the guests are here for relaxation

All in all I give this place 2 out of 5 stars: 1 for the possibility to enjoy stargazing and the tranquility and 1 for Mr Nyoman.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, if you are squirmish about living and dead insects and dirty rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatouage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangsudirga, Director of Sales at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at Graha Moding Villas Ubud.

I was sorry to read that our property was out of your expectation as much detail we display on our website. We are a local owned cottages, a community based tourism and practice the Balinese Genius Life Concept TRI HITA KARANA, to live in harmony with God, People and Environment. Since the opening we have committed to deliver an efficient and effective service from deep our heart. We regret to hear that it happened to you, We would therefore do apologize for an inconvenient caused.

We appreciate your frank and honest feedback about your experience. Your comments and suggestions will be helpful in reviewing, analyzing, and retraining in areas when and if required.

I appreciate your patronage of Graha Moding and would be delighted if we could have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day.

Please do not hesitate to be in contact with us if we can assist with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My fight arrived at 1PM, but the driver came at 3PM, due to the mis-communication between their staffs that we have to wait for 2 hours at the airport, and no compensate for our long waiting hm...

Other than that, this place is very nice, quiet and peaceful place.We stayed in a room which overlooking the forest and river (but cannot see the river as it's covered by trees). Having breakfast at the balcony outside the room is truly amazing.

The swimming pool is nice as well. but the minus point is that the view from the infinity pool is covered by the rood of the room below and the resort at the opposite so it's not really what I was looking for a lush green view.

If you rent a scooter and ride yourself, be careful on the way back because when night falls, it's hardly to see the road as there is no lights.

The flushing in the toilet has a bit problem, the water too weak to flush.

The house next door has various scooters/bikes for rent at 50,000 rupiah per day and 5000 rupiah per hour. Rent directly from them instead of the villas, as I was quoted 80,000 rupiah when I asked the villas reception.

Room Tip: choose a room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thao323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketut_13, Manager at Graha Moding Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at Graha Moding Villas, members of Pramana Hotels & Villas.

I am delighted to note that most of the service, environment, and style of Graha Moding Villas have met with your expectations.
I was sorry to read that our driver was late to pick you up on arrival time from Airport. Due miscommunication internally about your flight schedule. We have clarify to our team that you had informed about bike rental was IDR 50,000 per day ( 24 hours ).
We appreciate your frank and honest feedback about your experience. Your comments and suggestions will be helpful in reviewing, analyzing, and retraining in areas when and if required.
I appreciate your patronage of Graha Moding Villas and would be delighted if we could have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#10 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pajar House Ubud
Pajar House Ubud
#15 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#11 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#36 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bali Bohemia Huts
Bali Bohemia Huts
#12 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lily Lane Villas
Lily Lane Villas
#14 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graha Moding Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graha Moding Villas

Property: Graha Moding Villas
Address: Moding St, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graha Moding Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Graha Moding Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graha Moding Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing