We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - best restaurant in Ubud.”

IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with Chope
IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 971 Restaurants in Ubud
Description: IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen - serving delicious eclectic Pan Asian share plates and Cocktails + All Day Breakfast! Open from 8:00am until late! Enjoy a relaxed dinner with friends or take a seat at the bar and try one of our signature cocktails created by owner and head Bartender Ketut.
Restaurant details
Description: IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen - serving delicious eclectic Pan Asian share plates and Cocktails + All Day Breakfast! Open from 8:00am until late! Enjoy a relaxed dinner with friends or take a seat at the bar and try one of our signature cocktails created by owner and head Bartender Ketut.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across this place by chance and it was packed in comparison to the surrounding restaurants which were all dead at around 9pm. As soon as we sat down, we quickly realised how friendly and attentive, as well as knowledgeable, the staff were.

The food was out of this world. We opted for a mix of small plates - chicken satay with peanut sauce and taramin butter, Peking duck pancakes with hoisin sauce, Korean fried chicken and finally some chicken and prawn dim sum with an extra portion of fries. Everything was incredible and tasted fantastic. So fresh and full of flavour. The drinks were equally delightful and so well thought out being garnished perfectly.

The final touch was how engaged and welcoming the owner was, constantly talking to his customers and just being brilliant in general.

I could not rate a restaurant any higher and would urge anyone in Ubud to make it a must visit destination.

1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandadventurer88, Owner at IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hi Katie,

Thank you so much for the 5 bubbles and comprehensive review we really do appreciate it! We are also very happy to hear you enjoyed our food and cocktails so much :) we put a lot of love and hard work into what we do and it's reviews like this that make it all worth while! Thanks again and we hope to host you again on your next trip to Ubud!

Cheers,

Ketut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 407 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018

This new restaurant radiates enthusiasm. Everything we tried on the menu has an original little twist, and presentation was beautiful. The young owner Ketut is friendly and involved in everything, which is why his business has taken off. The first night we couldn’t get a booking, but after that we booked a couple of nights ahead. Had a wonderful meal.

On our last night, we had a sick child and had to cancel our ‘return to our favourite restaurant’ booking and get takeaway from Ibu Susu’s. It started to rain heavily. Ketut lent me an umbrella which I was so grateful for. It’s indicative of the restaurant’s friendliness that they offered me an umbrella to return the next day, on trust.

Ketut studied/trained in Melbourne and we felt sure that his food standards, were as good as the stylish, warm decor. Great job. We’re sure your little restaurant will continue to be a big success.

1  Thank LittleLaurie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandadventurer88, Owner at IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hi LittleLaurie008,

Wow thank you so much for the great review! It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our food the most out of all the meals you had during your stay in Bali :) We always try and go the extra mile for our guests because we truly want them to have the best possible experience not only at our Restaurant but in general during their time in Bali. We hope you had a safe journey home and that you will come back and visit us again next time!

Cheers,

Ketut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Gorgeous restaurant and bar. Great service and wonderful owner. Delicious food with a great cocktail menu. Excellent value.

Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandadventurer88, Owner at IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hi Rachael,

Thank you so much for the 5 bubble review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor and hope you will visit us again next time!

Thanks again!

Ketut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

This was the best meal that we are on Ubud! The beef rendang was amazing and duck pancakes we're delicious. The cocktail menu is interesting and the cocktails themselves are fantastic (and strong). Make sure that you make a booking as it can get quite busy.

1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandadventurer88, Owner at IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hi Rachel,

Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write it and hope you will visit us again next time for some more rendang and some super strong cocktails :)

Cheers,

Ketut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

I had an amazing time at Ibu Susu - the team was so friendly and the cocktails were just perfect. A great selection of original mixes, using local fruits and flavor. My favourites were the Bali Julep and Salted Caramel Expresso Martini, a must try!

The food could not be faulted as well; absolutely stunning flavours. Highly recommend the beef rendang and the pork belly steamed buns!

Thank you Ibu Susu team for a great night full of laughters :)

1  Thank MCM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandadventurer88, Owner at IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hi Miyuki,

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed our signature cocktails including our Bali Julep and Salted Caramel Espresso Martini :) and also our Beef Rendang and pork belly steamed buns! We love to laugh here at IBU SUSU so when we get to host customers who also love to laugh it makes for a truly great evening! Hoping to host you again next time!

Cheers,

Ketut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to IBU SUSU Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing