We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay at Hibiscus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hibiscus Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Cottages
Ranked #100 of 526 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Second stay at Hibiscus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am currently staying at Hibiscus for the second time. Just love this place, the family are delightful, nothing too much trouble, delicious breakfast, clean rooms and so convenient to the main street of Ubud but far enough away in the rice fields to experience the peace and quiet, the only sounds at night are the frogs croaking away in the moonlight.

Room Tip: Room 7, recently renovated, air conditioned no ceiling fan, lovely, rm 4 probably oldest in complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
61
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Ubud-- what can I say. It was probably an incredible place to visit before the hoards of SHOPPERS and SEEKERS arrived, and before there were at least 10 drivers on every corner touting for your business. But, alas, I arrived probably 10 years to late--- with that being said:
If you are a shopper or a seeker and find yourself in Ubud, stay with Ketut Balloon at Hibiscus Cottages. It is truly a magical place right in the middle of the most amazing rice paddy. The paddy is so full of life-- from the tiniest of noisy insects to the "herds" of ducks that pass through. It is an ecosystem in and of itself. Its off the main drag-- so much less hectic.
Mr. Balloon is a warm and charismatic man who will go out of his way to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: fan room with windows all around is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vayabien29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed here In July. With so many choices, Ubud can be overwhelming, so we found Hibiscus on Tripadvisor and booked it based on positive reviews. We were glad we did, because choosing a hotel in the city upon arrival would have been time consuming!

It was very clean, well located for walking everywhere, and a good value. Breakfast was great, and there was always hot water, coffee and tea left for us on our balcony table. The staff was very nice and the room was small but perfect, with a nice walk through the paddies from the main road. Although the flowers on the bed are a nice touch, we did find they had ants in them, but we just brushed them away:) We also had to keep asking for toilet paper because they did not refill it, but such a small detail for an otherwise fantastic stay! I would stay here again and I thank the hosts for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I represent my parents who stayed in Hibiscus Hotel for 2 nights..

Very warm staff, good view for paddy field, cool climate, clean, cheap, good accesories in room. My mom also wants to say thank you for Ketut Balon +6281933023614 (owner of Hibiscus) for helping her to find tour package.

Will recommend this Hotel to everyone who wants to come to Ubud

Room Tip: Choose room with no AC (the air is cool enough for Asian)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatasura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Good spot, off the main thoroughfares of Ubud, so much quieter, but just a 5 minute walk to monkey forest road. The room I stayed in was nice, large and affordable. Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at Hibiscus Cottages for three and a half weeks in February and I had a wonderful time. It is picturesque and quiet, yet it's a stones throw away from Ubud centre. Thank you to Mr. Balloon and his wonderful staff for being so welcoming and attentive. I really could recommend the place highly enough. I still miss the delicious green breakfast pancakes and fresh pinapple juice! If you are on a budget but still want a pretty, clean and generous place to stay look no further.

Yasmin

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World trip
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We loved staying in Hibiscus Cottage. The place feels like a homestay, because the family lives next to the cottages, but it's much more luxurious than a usual Indonesian homestay. The cottage was very spacious, the bed was great (with mosquito net) and the bathroom is really nice (with a bath for two people!). The free wifi is good too.

The owner and his family is really friendly and they put flowers on the bed everyday.

The breakfast is really good and is served on your own terrace. Jum! :-)

Room Tip: The aircon rooms are a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.0 mi away
Uma Sari Cottage
Uma Sari Cottage
#219 of 526 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puji Bungalow
Puji Bungalow
#59 of 523 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
Nick's Hidden Cottages
#10 of 523 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karma House
Karma House
#62 of 526 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#84 of 523 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meruhdani Guest House
Meruhdani Guest House
#5 of 45 in Gianyar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Cottages

Property: Hibiscus Cottages
Address: Jl Bisma Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 526 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hibiscus Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Cottages Hotel Ubud
Hibiscus Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing