We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Merthayasa Bungalows
Ranked #158 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are great for the price, the staff are friendly and quick to help with anything you need. It's quiet and is very central, just up the road from the monkey Forrest and a short walk to the yoga barn.
It has a nice pool and breakfast is included in the price

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cborchardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
28
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Charming swiming pool and well located (15mn by walk from the center, meaning city palace), very nice shopping street and a lot of Nice restaurant very near. Weak point though is rooms, enough espace but toilets, towels and sheets not so clean. That's ok for the price but dont expect too much.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceOWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We moved from Ubud Bungalows (literally across the road) as it was far too noisy and the road kept us awake all night, Merthayasa had a lovely pool, friendly staff and brought breakfast to your room! Banana pancake, fruit salad and tea which was lovely, although a monkey tried to steal it one morning which was fairly entertaining! For what we paid it was a great deal and I would recommend to anyone on a budget :)

Room Tip: Further away from the road is better for noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

To be absolutely fair we stayed in Merthayaysa 2 off Hanoman street also run by Winarsih and her family but they don't have a dedicated page yet (will be writing one a review as soon as it does).

The room was cheap 20000irp a night fan cooled clean good quality bathroom with hot water. As a home stay there was a beautiful family temple and calm surroundings. Only critism is there are currently 2 rooms and the walls are pretty thin. We were not a fan of our neighbours who liked to sing pop tunes at 8am.

Winarsih was SO helpful showing us where to go and renting us a bike and lending us a sarong for a local ceremony. We were also told we could use the swimming pool in Merthayasa 1 if we wanted but we never gpt rpund to it. So happy here we really did feel likethert of the family!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We knew the place, because we rent a motorbike with them and we decided to stay there for the last 2 days in Ubud!
The room has a nice view to the swimming pool and garden. We had breaksfast at the balcony, and some monkeys appeared to join us! It was a greaaaat experince, we suggest just to take care and advise the staff before the monkeys make a mess with all your food (monkeys know the staff and they are afraid of them!)
The room was pretty good but the bathroom was old! It is funny because seems that the bathroom doesnt belong to the same room. And they arrange a really nice taxi driver to go to the airport!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and love it. It's at the quite end of monkey forest road and there are some nice restaurants very close by.
It is fairly clean and cheap. With a pool!

Didn't like people coming to the door trying to sell stuff while we where having down time. I expect to be bothered on the street but not people knocking on my door.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Freeniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Merthayasa twice on this trip & found it to be an excellent budget place in downtown Ubud. The location is at the 'quieter' end of Monkey Forest rd -a decent walk up to Jl. Raya, but close to excellent coffee (Maha is nearly across the road) and restaurants. Downstairs rooms have great wifi coverage. The pool is really nice to come back to after being out exploring. The rooms are average, good sized, clean and with a comfortable bed and pillows. Definitely no bedbugs here as another reviewer claimed! Staff are friendly and unobtrusive -available to help you if you need, nice & pleasant when they serve brekkie in the morning on your balcony, not pushy (which is a great change). Overall I think this place is well run & a fantastic budget option. Most of their rooms were full the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzaren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#160 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pande Permai Bungalows
Pande Permai Bungalows
#174 of 199 in Ubud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#134 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#133 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#155 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#175 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merthayasa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merthayasa Bungalows

Property: Merthayasa Bungalows
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Merthayasa Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merthayasa Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing