We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will come again”
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #135 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Will come again”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The best service we got in Ubud, even we move to the ayanna we still miss our room called Brahma villa in Villa Sarna! Only 7 villas there means private like you stay at your home! Thank you guys for everything during our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urslulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in their Brahma room for a few nights & found the room to be nicely furnished, giving a warm & pleasant feeling. The villa only has a few rooms, which keeps the place relatively private. Being away from Ubud town also meant more seclusion. View from the room is beautiful & relaxing, looking out onto a small ravine with greenery everywhere.
Negative points: Bathroom is not as spacious as it should be, since there is no private pool. No tub, breakfast is so-so. Staff are generally ok, but some speak poor english. When we arrived at 1030pm, we waited for a very long time (15-20?min) before being shown to our room. Lastly, a bit expensive overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Yes, as other reviews will indicate, when you choose Villa Sarna, you are within walking distance of, well, nothing in Ubud short of the same restaurant a hilly half-kilometer away that produces food for room service. But when a hotel itself is so attractive, it seems worth it.

Villa Sarna consists of a handful of rooms and suites that are located on a steep slope about 15 minutes drive from central Ubud. For the few days we visited, we made use of the free mini-van to take us into town, and hired inexpensive cabs to bring us back. Some rooms are more private than others: The Arjuna, among the less expensive, offers maximal privacy, though could risk slight mustiness; the Saraswati, which we had booked, had a not-very-well conceived second room that is the result of a clumsy renovation; on reflection, we might have hired the Krishna, located directly above the Saraswati, for greater privacy, less mustiness up on the second floor, and an even better view from the balcony. But no matter: It was all beautiful.

One strains to describe the rich verdant views across the valley where Villa Sarna is located, as well as the fine attention to the gardens surrounding the hotel, its topiary, and its statuary. The highlight, which still manages to be hidden away given the terrain, is the spectacular pool and gazebo one or two levels down in the garden from the rooms.

Service at the hotel was optimal, from an easy check in and check out, to a delicious breakfast served on a small deck perched again in the hills.

While we had no problems at the hotel, it seems obvious that anyone with mobility issues would be challenged by all the stone stairs, stairs which were doubly tricky to navigate in between heavy rains during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThoughtfulGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I recently traveled to Bali for the first time. Villa Sarna was the first place I stayed during my trip. After 26 hours of travel it was like arriving in paradise. The grounds and decor are beautiful. I stayed in the Arjuna villa. It is private, clean and very spacious. I was so happy that there was wifi in the villas as well as the property lounge and outdoor dining room. The staff was wonderful and the food was quite good. The daily transportation to and from Ubud center made it so convenient to stay a bit outside of the busy town. The only reason why I am not giving Villa Sarna an excellent review is because the towels were a bit worn out and my shower leaked. Other than that, I highly recommend staying at Villa Sarna!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedLotusMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for the review that has been given! We are so glad that you had a great time with us. We're so sorry that you experienced a leaky shower and worn towels. We can assure you that the shower has been fixed and new/fresh towels are most definitely always provided! If there is ever any issue, just let our staff know and we'll rectify it immediately. Thanks again and we appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Villa Sarna in may 2012 for 5 nights. We had a reservation for 6 nights but we left a day earlier. The surroundings of villa Sarna are amazing. It's at walking distance from the beautiful sawa's Tegalalang. We had a mountainbike trip, organised by the staff of Villa Sarna and the guide took us to traditional Balinese family's, really wonderful. We stayed at the Vishnu room. It has a nice terras with a bed were we could read a bit. The dvd-player was broken ad the wifi didn't work properly. At six a clock it was dark and quiet and in the surrounding there was nothing but jungle. The nearest restaurant closed at half past nine and we were the only guests. So thats why we used the free transfer to Ubud a lot. It is 20 minutes driving to the centre of Ubud. We knew this before we made the reservation but you know what it feels like only after you experience it yourself. For us it didn't work, we missed the freedom of visiting and leaving Ubud without constantly looking at our watch. But for people who are searching for rest, Villa Sarna is great! Friendly staff, very good breakfast. What was very pitiful was the cold swimming pool. We read at Trip advisor they had fixed a heater but believe us, that's not true. The pool is for a quick refreshment but not for relaxing and not suitable for children. We missed a nice relaxing, cosy sunny pool area so that's why we left a day earlier.

Room Tip: Vishnu room is the most private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We loved this place! Peace and quiet just outside of Ubud. From the moment we were collected from the airport to the moment we left we were made to feel so special. The staff could not do enough. We were on honeymoon and my husband had emailed ahead. We were greeted with petals everywhere!! On the stairs up to our room (Shiva) to all around the bed, on the bed and in the shower. It must have taken hours! We were also given a fruit basket and a half hour free massage each which was amazing! The sounds of nature as you fall asleep were fantastic and the breakfasts in the morning were great, pancakes especially!
This place is outside Ubud and takes about 20 minutes to get there but there are taxis there and back. Last back is 9.30pm and it may have been nice to have an option of a 10.30pm pick up. Other than that no others criticisms! Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roiya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place is just delightful!
We spent 6 nights at Villa Sarna with our 2 kids aged 5 and 1 in the Ganesha Suite. The suite was spacious and well located with not to many steps to climb (by Ubud standards). We had a very large king bed and lots of floor space! The sitting room had a nice sofa and second TV (most handy with kids) and was made up with a cot bed and infant cot for the kids.
The staff were delightful and so accommodating, so engaging for the kids and spoilt us all! They organised tours and transport with ease.The shuttle service was super handy into Ubud so we could get a little taste of the action, but come 'home' to the tranquility and away from the 'toot-toot' of central Ubud!
The breakfast was yummy, fresh fruits, eggs to order or pancakes/donuts if you fancy! The in house spa treatments great. We had several meals at the nearby Kampung Cafe with transport there on request from the villa and return transport by the restaurant. This was very handy to access meals in the early evening, after a day of sightseeing, without needing to go too far with 2 hungry kids ;) The meals were very good and reasonably priced for the convenience. The pool was a little chilly to swim (day 1 only to appease the kids) as to be expected in this environment.
We loved the nature surrounds and the kids found big snails in the garden, frogs on the door step and the thrill of a (little friendly) lizard in our room one night! None of us got a mozzie bite surprisingly.
This place was just what we were looking for.
Terima Kasi Villa Sarna! We miss you already.

Room Tip: Ganesha Suite HUGE with very large bathroom and separate sitting room with TV, easily accommodated t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcdavies7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
7.0 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#139 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#115 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#76 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#104 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing