We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Sarna Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sarna Ubud
Ranked #128 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great place to stay, the staff are all very attentive and helpful. Breakfast was made to order, small selection but good. Each villa feels very private even though it is a smaller place. Lovely design.
We paid for one of the villas drivers to take us out and show us around one day, his name was Dewa and he was very good. It was our first time to Bali and he was very helpful. He was only there during their busy period but he said he is a driver in Ubud also.
The only problem is that it is not so close to town, probably a 15 min van drive so not really walkable at all but there are scooters available in town and they do have a van that goes in every hour or so but this is dependant on the staff being available but they do try their very best to accomodate your needs, just a bit a planning is needed! little bit more expensive that other places but it is well worth it if you want a more romantic, private, out of the way place to relax. (stayed July 2010)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LemonadeTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    78
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
226
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed in this little hotel in the Brahma room for five nights at the end of August.

Not so great first impression as the hotel didn't come to collect us from the airport when we arrived as planned via email with staff. Our flight arrived half an hour early and we waited for forty minutes scanning all the drivers and we gave up and got a taxi. This was not a great first impression. Expecially as the taxi driver had no idea haha. What an adventure we finally made our way despite this. The receptionist made us some excuse although we waited and waited past the time of the scheduled pick-up time. I honestly think they just forgot.

The hotel was lovely and the room was spacious and very clean. The Brahma room has a big balcony with great views. We enjoyed the room and the comfy bed.

The pool is okay but hardly gets any sun. The gardens are emaculate with lovely statues and a peaceful atmosphere.

The breakfast/restaurant/bar location lacks ambience. The breakfast is okay. The eggs are not that nice. The toast was hard. The fruit was lovely and the watermellon juice was yummo. We had dinner one night at the restaurant. OH dear the dinner menu is made offsite and delivered to the hotel and is not that nice. The restaurant lacks ambience at night time. Unsure why they don't have some low level relaxing music playing. Our suggestion is have dinner in Ubud centre it is much MUCH MUCH better.

On the second night we stayed the hotel shuttle bus broke down in the middle of the road due to no petrol. It was very funny. The shuttle bus service is not that great. They say every two hours throughout the day and last pick up at night at 9.30pm. HOWEVER if you do not tell them when you would like to come back they wont show up. We were fed up with the long ride to and from Ubud center every day and night. I am sure that they are flexible with pick-ups however next time we will be staying closer to Ubud center.

I had a massage by the pool. The lady was very friendly but not that great. Technique was lacking. However I am a massage therapist so I have high expectations.

Overall the staff are very friendly and you can tell that they try their best to ensure you are happy.

I don't think I would stay here again. It is too far away from the action of Ubud. If you are on your honeymoon or want an escape then this is probably the best place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jocelyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villasarna, Owner at Villa Sarna Ubud, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for the review that was given and we appreciate all comments, as always. Please allow us to explain and clarify all the concerns in this review, so that all Tripadvisor readers can understand everything from both angles.

Regarding the airport pick-up, we absolutely did not forget to go to the airport to pick up the guest. We track the flights of all our guests and according to the airline tracking system, the flight was scheduled to arrive on time at 4pm. Our driver arrived right on schedule and waited for over 90 minutes for the guests to come out but they did not. It was only until the guests arrived at Villa Sarna by their own taxi did our staff realize that the flight arrived earlier than the online system had indicated. If the system would have indicated that the flight was arriving much earlier than anticipated, we would have surely been at the airport long before. We apologize that this mishap anticipated and because we felt so bad for the inconvenience that was caused, we surely reimbursed the guests the fare of the taxi.

Regarding the breakfast area and restaurant, we are sorry that the guest felt that it lacked ambiance. To the contrary, most guests absolutely love the sitting area, as it is perched up high, overlooking the picturesque and lush green valley. The restaurant also has a similar view and is quite breathtaking, so we are a little confused as to the concern that the breakfast area and restaurant lack ambiance, as most guests consider that to be absolutely not the case. It is a very highly rated Cafe that is featured in many travel magazines and as a hotel, we are very fortunate to have joined hands with them to be our exclusive restaurant partner and room service provider. Regarding the eggs for breakfast, we purchase them from a very reputable source and they are farm fresh. The bread is also purchased fresh from a bakery, and not a normal supermarket. The ingredients may be different from Western countries, but I assure you it is from the better places that Indonesia has to offer.

Regarding our shuttle running out of petrol, all I can say is that we apologize that it ever occurred in the first place. We can only chalk it down to human error. The driver should have checked the fuel gauge and not let it ever get to empty. I sincerely apologize for this. As soon as this happened, the driver called the hotel and another shuttle was dispatched immediately to pick up the guests in less than 10 minutes.

Regarding our hotel shuttle, we believe that our service is quite extensive; especially considering our small hotel size and compared to any other hotel in general. Our shuttles are available every two hours and if a guest requires a shuttle pick-up or drop off at another time, we have no problem accommodating all guests if a shuttle is available. We will bend over backwards to do everything possible for our guests with shuttle transportation, but we have to state a schedule of every two hours to provide structure and clarity to all guests. But at the same time, we are very, very flexible. In terms of pick up from the Ubud city center, we request that guests tell us beforehand or give us a call exactly when they would like to be picked up, and we absolutely do it. It is very difficult for a hotel of our size to have shuttles going to the city center and then coming back empty. It's also better for guests since they can have flexibility as to when they would like to come back to the hotel.

And regarding the distance from the Ubud city center, it is only a 15 minute ride and most guests and people in general would not and do not consider it a frustrating distance at all. In fact, they rather appreciate that we are close enough to get to hustle and bustle of Ubud, yet far enough to enjoy absolute peace and tranquility. It is kind of like having the 'best of both worlds," as some guests have put it.

Our massage therapists are very well trained by one of the leading people in the field who is also responsible for training therapists in many of the 5 star hotels in Bali. The guest being a massage therapist him or herself, it is understandable how one can be very critical.

Thanks so much for guests reading this response and we hope that it addressed all the concerns in this review satisfactorily. We look forward to serving all guests in the very near future at Villa Sarna. We do our very best to take care of everyone and make sure they have an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

If your thing is a big international hotel, then this may not be your thing. But if you've had your fair share of Hilton, Oberoi and Melia and want a small boutique hotel, without compromising on any of the facilities (wifi, int'l channels, spa treatments etc) coupled with impeccable service and tranquil atmosphere - then make this your temporary home.

The owner is very friendly and all the staff, in particular the wonderful lady Komang, are always ready to go the extra mile.
We happily recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RikardS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This place is simply put...PARADISE!
The customer service was impeccable, always ready to help with anything and everything. Patient and relaxing!
The pictures do not do it justice, they really don't even show 10% of what a jewel this place really is!
I saw the hotel rated in the top 500 worldwide on Expedia's Insider's list and thought to check it out. It's not my first time to Bali, so I was a little skeptical, but OH MY was I impressed... After Eat Pray Love I was so anxious to go back and to experience it in such a perfect ambience at such a reasonable price, the experience is simply unbeatable!

Room Tip: Krishna was magical! I really suggest for anyone staying at this hotel to try and book this room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anjelika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Villa Sarna for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The place is a real "retreat" from the busy Ubud and we loved it. The staff were really attentive and friendly and gave us a free massage each to celebrate our honeymoon. The accomodation is about a 10-15min shuttle drive into Ubud and Villa Sarna lay on free shuttles that take you in and out of town every two hours - they are easy, on time and really reliable. This is one of the best run places we have ever been to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Villa Sarna has a beautiful and relaxing hillside setting in a quiet area outside of Ubud. The grounds are lush and perfectly maintained with a lovely (heated when necessary) jewel of a pool. There are a number of small buildings on the property, each housing 1-3 rooms or suites. Each one has been nicely decorated in the local style and has an up-to-date bathroom and usually small terrace. The staff is wonderfully friendly and extremely accomodating. I would even hate to say that I had any problems there but I did find myself allergic to something in one of the rooms and they move me to another one very quickly even though they were nearly full.

Overall, the feeling is one of complete peace and relaxtion. As some of the reviews have noted, it is a bit outside of Ubud - approx. 15 minutes by car. The shuttle runs regularly and you might have to adjust your schedule to catch it but they are often a bit flexible as well since the hotel has, at most, a small number of guests at any given time. If you are comfortable driving a moto, you could also rent one for added freedom. As a solo traveler, I found the hotel's car service invaluable. I hired them by the day or half day more than once and they proved to be great guides - each time tailoring the trip to what I wanted to see. Although I would also consider something closer in to Ubud center, I also recommend the beautiful Villa Sarna to anyone!

It's also worth trying the 'room-service' delivered from the restaurant at the end of the road because the food is excellent and it's lovely to have a leisurely meal on your terrace! A visit by the hotel's resident golden retriever is an extra treat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

This was our first visit to Bali - and our stay at Villa Sarna has certainly made us decide to go back!
The service from staff was excellent, from the airport pick up, the reception staff, to the spa therapists and especially the guides who showed us the 'real' Bali.
We can definitely recommend staying here if you wish to feel pampered and well-looked after in a quiet and beautiful location. A perfect central place to be based for seeing rural areas, and despite being out of Ubud itself the transport service offered from the hotel made it really easy to access town and other places of interest.
Thank you Villa Sarna for making our holiday a special experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.6 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
7.0 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#139 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
Radha Phala Resort & Spa
#120 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sungu Resort & Spa
The Sungu Resort & Spa
#96 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sarna Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sarna Ubud

Property: Villa Sarna Ubud
Address: Banjar Tangkup | Desa Kedisan Tegalalang, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#72 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#100 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sarna Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern and traditional Balinese design, Villa Sarna is one of Ubud's most unique boutique villas. The Villa blends harmoniously with nature's rich and ancient traditions. We are built in an enchanting and secluded setting overlooking the Agung Mountain, a short drive from the many cultural activities in nearby Ubud. Spa facilities offer an array of treatments, massages, and therapies that allow guests to truly lose themselves in Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Sarna Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sarna Hotel Ubud
Sarna Hotel Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing