We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Rendezvousdoux

Rendezvousdoux
Ranked #200 of 751 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A nice restaurant but nothing special really. Maybe even a bit highly priced for the quality.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hanna1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth eating here”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

It's a shame, because it looks like such a quaint quirky restaurant. There's little atmosphere however and the staff stood at our table while we tried to decide what to order.
I ordered the veggie curry and my boyfriend ordered the lemon papaya chicken, but they both tasted bland and something that I would whip up in a rush on a Tuesday night.
My boyfriend and I left straight after eating and wished we could be hungry again so we could go to another restaurant which served better food.
I hate to leave a bad review and I hear this place is good for cocktails and desserts, but I'd miss out on the dinner.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank elliet86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“French in the heart of Ubud”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

It's busy during the day, but a nice place to come and watch old black and white movies at night, to see what you missed in the 1930s!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smokers allowed to smoke all over you indoors. Food was yesterday's leftovers.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very disappointing. We were looking forward to a pleasant lunch but unfortunately both the service and food were a huge let down.
My husband and I both ordered dishes off the daily special menu knowing that those dishes are usually what they have fresh from the market.

While we waited for our food the next table lit up their cigarettes and smoked all over us even though we were indoors in an air- conditioned room.
I asked the waiter if smoking was allowed inside a closed area and he just shrugged. We have eaten in dozens of restaurants in Bali over the last three weeks and this has never happened.

Food arrived- my 'fresh tuna' dish of the day tasted like old leathery chicken. My staff were even unable to tell us the ingredients in my husband's strange-looking pasta
sauce. When we complained we were met with shrugs and the bill. Stay away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agberthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Refreshing Stop at the Ubud Market”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Rendezvousdoux couldn't be in a better location- an air-conditioned cafe across from the Ubud market just when you need a break. Cool, quiet and air-conditioned comfort. Unique set up with library to browse through, good menu of light foods, chatty French owner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LemonAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendezvousdoux also viewed

 

Been to Rendezvousdoux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing