We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for brunch - awesome view!”
Review of Indus Restaurant

Indus Restaurant
Ranked #104 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Indus enjoys one of Bali's most breath-taking views over the Tjampuhan valley and the volcano,Mount Agung. This breezy restaurant is an elegant mix of Balinese meets Indian and features an eclectic Pan-Asian menu. Specialities include salted squid salad, warm tofu salad, salmon in banana leaves, organic salad bowls,tempe in fresh tomato sambal, lamb shank rendang and a generous nasi campur. Lime tart, chocolate divinity and creme caramel are part of the desert line-up. From 5-7pm, enjoy happy hour and complimentary tapas on the terrace, with your loved one, for a truly memorable and romantic experience.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for brunch - awesome view!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We joined friends for Sunday brunch at Indus and though the food and service were nothing terribly special, the decor, setting and view make this place special. Get a table downstairs just at the edge of the covered area and enjoy a stunning view of the Ubud "countryside" while you dine. The coffee is pretty good at Indus, and the food decent, but the service was a little lacking and a bit slow. The staff didn't seem terribly pleased to have us there. But overall it was a lovely brunch. Definitely worth a visit.
Also, Indus offers salsa dancing and live music a couple of nights a week - a must-do for music and dancing fans!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    317
    130
    45
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing lime tart”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our driver suggested we try Indus on a day trip to Ubud last October. There was 6 of us and all of the food was lovely. I had the Nasi goreng and it was very good. We decided to have dessert as well and I tried the Casa Luna Lime tart....wow!!! Lets just say we are now staying in Ubud in March so I can come back here just for that Tart!

The view was lovely and it was fairly nice and cool on a very hot day that we visited. Service was also good. We will definitely be back next month!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minniebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good view”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant has fabulous views from the dining area.

The food was excellent--I had an upmarket Nasi Goreng and a beer.

The service was attentive but not over the top.

Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WazzaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing view and food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after a busy day of sightseeing and Indus ended up being the highlight of our day. Not only was the food sumptuous and the service great, the view was amazing. I can recommend the Chickpea Curry. We felt like we were in a scene of Eat, Pray, Love - so romantic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karinsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After a ninety minute drive from Seminyak and a stop off at the Elephant Sanctuary we visited with seven friends just after Christmas and experienced some of the best food I have ever eaten, the choice on the menu was excellent and there was something to suit all palates. The view from the terrace on the upper floor was amazing and even when it rained it provided a great view. The staff were very helpful and considerate and at no time did we feel rushed, only downside was that similar with many places in Bali they do not have an extensive wine cellar and had to change our choice of wine during the meal due to a lack of stock. However this was a small distraction on what was an excellent venue, staff and menu. The sweets on offer are delicious. Well worth a visit

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing