We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IBU PUTO Warung, please correct trip advisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibu Putu's Warung

Ibu Putu's Warung
Ranked #257 of 720 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Perth
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“IBU PUTO Warung, please correct trip advisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We always return here so see the lovely mature lady who cooks Indonesian food like an angel, always a smile with the menu, not expensive at all and certainly worth climbing up the 98 steps, will return on our next Ubud visit later on this year

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great value little Warung hidden at the top of the stairs with nice size portions, quick service and a nice little family vibe going on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
858 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
“Good, simple, cheap Balinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

First, the name of the restaurant is Ibu PUTU. About a half kilometer past the bridge, you'll see a sign for a taxi service in front of some stairs (there's also a small restaurant sign next to the taxi sign). Climb the stairs and look for the restaurant on the right.

The food here is "old school" Bali, and quite tasty. And remarkably cheap. Limited menu of classic rice and noodle dishes, and you get a free fruit plate. It's very enjoyable to sit on the verandah and eat in a pleasant, quiet environment (most of the Ubud town isn't so pleasant and quiet these days). The old lady who runs the place, with help from younger staff, is very nice and charming.

My only hesitation in recommending the place is the restrooms. Old school in a bad way! I wondered if any of us would get sick (Bali belly used to be a big problem for travelers on the island), but we didn't. I'd probably risk the hygiene again if I wanted a nice simple meal in Ubud is a very pleasant setting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. It has a delightful history and is very fairly priced. Food selections are great, service is good and the food was fine. Portions weren't big but the food is so cheap that you can have a couple of coyrses

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terrigaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious food at an amazing price. Top notch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Putu is a lovely lady who makes you feel very welcome and cooks delicious Balinese food at a great price. It is a great spot to sit and enjoy the area - not a brilliant view but who needs that when the food about to arrive is so nice. On our first visit we all had the chicken curry and it was exceptional. The next trip we had potato fritters (excellent) then nasi goreng and mee goreng. The nasi goreng was good. The mee goreng excellent - mee goreng often disappoints me in Bali as it is generally not as good as what you get in Australia, which I think is more of a Malaysian style with thick hokkien noodles and a rich tomato-based flavour (not tomato-sauce or ketchup but much nicer). Yet this was as good as I've had in Bali - with not too many noodles, plenty of chicken and veggies and went very well with kecap manis. Also an egg on top, which often only accompanies nasi goreng but works well with the noodles.
They always bring out a complimentary fruit salad, one of the few I've seen with mango. On our second visit, Putu brought out some cakes that she had made for an offering for us to try - we'd been reliably informed before that once something has been 'offered' it is just food or rubbish (depending on where it is placed!) so we ate it thankfully and it was quite a nice and sweet dessert. A great experience and the cost is so small compared to the places in central Ubud. One warning - don't do what we did and leave a visit to the last few days of your trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ibu Putu's Warung also viewed

 

Been to Ibu Putu's Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing