We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, fresh food in a cozy setting”
Review of Juice Ja Cafe

Juice Ja Cafe
Ranked #100 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A homey cafe in Jalan Dewi Sita - Ubud with open-air and green ambience. We serve fresh and healthy meals, desserts and juices, prepared mostly with vegetables and fruits from our own organic farm right outside of Ubud. We believe in using local ingredients as much as possible and have been endorsed by the local chapter of International Slow Food. All the ceramics used in the Cafe are hand made by the owner at SARI API ceramic studio. We also working with three different charity foundations to empower women and children in Bali. Eat good, do good, feel good.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty, fresh food in a cozy setting”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a regular haunt for my few days in the wonderful Ubud and put simply the excellent food kept me coming back for more. The menu is simple with fresh tasty and healthy ingredients, nothing over-complicated. The grilled tuna and the chicken satay were highlight dishes for me and the coffees are great. It's a nice comfortable place to sit and read a book with a coffee or use the wifi. Staff can be hit and miss, sometimes hard to get their attention (or even a smile) but not a major factor. I'll be visiting again next time in Ubud for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConorMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juicejaqueen, Owner at Juice Ja Cafe, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
The staff at Juice Ja Cafe would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your lovely review! I will keep working on my staff because I know what you mean in your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    120
    30
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA usa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice fresh cafe”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my lunch with free wifi and tasty juice. They have some nice grocery items too (cashew butter, local mulberrys etc). The large juice was really not large at all and the portions on the smaller side. But it was delicious. Would happily go again and would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank mimerscreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juicejaqueen, Owner at Juice Ja Cafe, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
The staff at Juice Ja Cafe would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your lovely review! Usually people tell us, that our portions are very big, so I was surprised to read your review saying they were not. Maybe an off day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe with nice lunches and free wifi”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Juice Ja Cafe is a nice place to hang out, read a book and meet other travelers. They have nice healthy lunches and juices for a fair price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juicejaqueen, Owner at Juice Ja Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive review of our Cafe. Much appreciated! Hope to see you there again and again. Glad you had a good experience !We always welcome feedback.
The Juice Ja Cafe team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not organic.. you can taste the difference in Dayu's warung. Tourist trap”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Trying to mimic soma, bali buddha, sopa and the very best Dayu's warung.. but missing the mark.
Very ordinary big juice. Which was normal size? Small is in a shot glass.
Salad was not fresh or organic.
Service was disinterested and had to force a smile.
Next to a loud nightclub.
I won't go on... positive are the protein balls and grocery items. Although all overpriced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juicejaqueen, Owner at Juice Ja Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
dear Jed,
Very sorry to hear you did not like our Cafe. I'm happy to get feedback though, even if yours is not so positive.
Regarding organic or not: We have our own 20 are veggie and fruit garden. Everything that comes from there is organic for sure. For the rest we try to get organic whenever possible. Dayu's warung cannot do any better than that either. Let me know if you want a tour of our garden.
Regarding the juice glass sizes at our Cafe are the same as anywhere else. Shotglass is only for wheat grass. Maybe a misunderstanding?
regarding service: If you read our other reviews, you can see that most rave about our staff. Maybe they had a bad hairday???
regarding music next door: This is Bali! One has to be flexible.
Regarding prices: Our prices are below the ones of many restaurants around town. Consider location and rent as well.
In any case, hope you come back sometime for another assessment.
the Juice Ja Cafe team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Casual, relaxing cafe, great for juice and sweets”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Yet another uber-healthy cafe with an impressive non-alcoholic drink menu, including lots of juices, lassis, and the obligatory shot of wheatgrass. The food menu includes a legend for vegetarian, vegan, nut-free, and gluten-free. Need I say more? I stopped in after dinner one evening to satisfy a raging sweet tooth and ended up getting the banana date soy shake and the lemon poppyseed yogurt cake. The shake was good, the cake was excellent. The ideal spot here is the table on the patio underneath the vines that lets you watch the people and traffic going by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juicejaqueen, Owner at Juice Ja Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the positive review of our Cafe. Much appreciated! Hope to see you there again and again. Glad you had a good experience !We always welcome feedback.
The Juice Ja Cafe team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juice Ja Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing