We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Ubud Bungalow!”
Review of Ubud Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ubud Bungalow
Ranked #58 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived on the 8th of september 2012 and stayed for 4 nights and again had a wonderful stay. I was surprised to read some not so good reviews as we are coming here for more than 12 years, with great pleasure. After thoroughly reading these reviews i think Maybe expectations are too high, please do not think this is a 4 or 5 star hotel. We know the owner Wayan for more than 12 years and he is very very trustworthy, his service one of the best we ever experienced and his English superb. We usually leave for the gili islands after our stay with Ubud bungalow and leave our major luggage with Wayan and he makes sure that our luggage is delivered to our next hotel stop after our stay on the Gili islands. He also does excellent tours. We had an a/c room, all the a/c rooms have a little fridge (the fan rooms do not) and we had a safe. (not sure weather the fan rooms have one, you might want to check this). There is free wifi!
The breakfast is always coffee or tea, juice, fresh fruit plate, and is added by turn with either banana pancake, egg or toast. Our room had a nice bed with a really great mattress (a must for me because i have back problems), night tables with lites on each side. There is a closet with a safe inside. A table and 2 chairs are on the balcony if you stay upstairs or on the verandah if you stay downstairs. They are extending 4 more rooms direct at the entrance of the garden. Ubud Bungalow has a great staff allthough young but dedicated to the guests. We were checking out around 06.15 to leave for the gilis and one of the staff was so kind and offered to get up early and serve us breakfast at 05.45, so great service! I'll be happy to answer any questions!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErinTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
There are newer reviews for Ubud Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 614 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Ubud Bungalows for 5 nights and would be happy to stay again. The location is great, the property is very pretty, and the staff is wonderful! The pool and breakfast areas are both gorgeous. I'm very happy with everything about this place and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emyliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a gem of a find! You are right in the thick of it on Monkey Forest Road, go through the gates of Ubud Bungalows and you are in another world. Quiet, serene, peaceful . The grounds are stunning with plenty of color. We stayed in a bungalow up near reception absolutely lovely. Staff are very attentive and every request was met. Breakfasts were simple and ample. The pancakes with shredded coconut was my favorite . We met many foreigners here and exchanged stories of our countries which was a nice change from meeting fellow countrymen. I would not hesitate to stay here as a solo female traveller as I would feel safe and would be sure to meet up with some interesting people. We required a transfer back to Legian and were driven by Wayan the Manager , what a wealth of information he was. We learnt so much about each village we went through on the way back.
Thank you Ubud bungalows for a great stay and keeping within your culture
Forgot to mention wifi is excellent throughout the whole complex

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed at Ubud Bungalows for 2 nights in a traditional fan room and we loved it!! The room is basic but really clean and spacious. The bathroom could do with some work but it is clean. The staff are so friendly and nice. We booked our fastboat to Gilis through them as well. The pool area is lovely. There is no need for an AC in Ubud so a an room was a great choice and I think the price we payed was fair for the faciilties and location. Very central to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

First of all, we loved staying at Ubud Bungalows. The staff were so sweet and helpful and the generel vibe of the hotel gardens is cool and quiet, even though they had som renevations going on at the time. The pool is very cool and refreshing.

The rooms (we had a 1 level room in a bungalow) are traditional balinese style, beautifully carved door and window. Great feel and a spacious enough for us. The balcony is huge, though the view isn't.

We had A/C - which isn't neccesary at all. Ubud nights are cool and comfortable.
The bathroom is very simple and there are a some ants climping on the walls. No big deal. We are in the "jungle", so bigger creeps were expected. We saw none of that.
There is a fridge in the room, but is was so noisy we had to turn it off.

All in all, we loved Ubud and the surrounding areas, even in high season it didn't seem that cramped with tourists. There is a local and authentic feel to the place.

Ubud Bungalows and the staff were so nice, but next time maybe we will find another hotel a bit further out of town (even though Ubud isn't a party place, they sure do love singing Adele into the wee hours :-)
And with a couple of minor updates or a reduction of the price, this would have been a "5-star"-stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoSoJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overpriced and overrated

We came to Ubud Bungalows with great expectation after having read all the positive reviews. I will try to be as objective as I can in order to justify the poor score I gave:

Positives:
1. Staff at reception very kind and helpful;
2. Very nice garden and exterior of bungalows;
3. Centrally located in Monkeys Road;
4. Clean room (but the sheets had stains);
5. Good wi-fi internet connection;
6. Small but pleasent swimming pool area;
7. Nice terrace with chairs and table.

Negatives:
1. A/C room (where we stayed), poorly furnished, not even a small table to put our staff (one was given to us when we asked);
2. Very basic toilet with shower;
3. The room was infested with very minute ants, especiallt near the sink area.
4. Breakfast very poor with choice given only every other day. The juices tasted like water.
5. We paid IDR 650000 for A/C room per night. The rooms without A/C look better and cost less.
6. Similar hotels nearby cost IDR 400000 per night.

This hotel is a backpackers hotel slightly polished and cleaner. Generally Bali is overpriced and overvalued compared to the rest of South East Asia and I fail to see why. Ubud Bangalows is not an exception to this rule.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank andrewasroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I returned to Ubud from New York and stayed at Ubud Bungalows a second time. 
Positives:
The location is central on Ubud, Monkey Forest road and within walking distance to many restaurants.
The property is well kept and immaculately clean.
The service is courteous, professional, friendly, and welcoming.
Wayan, the owner can organize an array of activities at your request.
The free breakfast tastes good.
This year there was a safe in our room - very good.
There is free WiFi and a pool.


Worth noting:
-it is recommended that you pay in cash to avoid incurring additional credit card transaction fees from Ubud Bungalow.
-there is a laundromat right across the street next to Circle K.
-bring your own mosquito net. We brought one this year and slept will without any bites this year.
-for those interested in working out, Ubud Fitness is an excellent gym about 8-10 minutes away driving. You can be dropped off there (at a small fee around 20-30,000 IDR)  to get in your workouts.
-there was construction taking place for additional bungalows but it never kept us up or woke us up in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have better WiFi and less early morning noise from animals. There was constructi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank premile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Bungalow

Address: Monkey Forest St. | Ubud Gianyar, Bali, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $28 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ubud Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Bungalow Hotel Ubud
Ubud Bungalow Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing