We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accommodation with gentle giants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Ranked #20 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation with gentle giants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

WE stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary and had a park room overlooking the elephants and the park. It is well worth the extra to pay for a park room and wake up in the morning and see the elephants outside. The balcony of each park room gives you a perfect view of all the elephants as they go about their daily routine. For an elephant lover like myself it is heaven being able to watch and interact with the elephants whenever you like. Taking the elephant chauffeur each evening to the restaurant is very unique. The 3 baby elephants born last year are so cute. To be able to feed and pat them is an unforgettable experience. Washing Mr Wong (one of the male elephants) was definitely the highlight of our trip. The elephants are VERY happy and well cared for - Nigel is to be congratulated on making the lives of these few lucky elephants so much better than in Sumatra. I would definitely recomend that people stay at the lodge rather than have a day trip as you get access to bathing , feeding, the elephant chauffeur and extras that day trippers do not get.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    193
    43
    28
    28
See reviews for
299
403
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

If you want to interact with elephants, then stay at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge. And I do mean stay here -- the absolute best part about staying is that you get to assist in the daily morning scrubbing of the elephants, not an option for day visitors. For a full hour you can scrub an adult elephant with a brush and hose -- they enjoy it, and it's an amazing experience. Residents and day visitors can also have the fun of feeding treats to adult and young elephants, taking rides on elephants, and hanging out in the area where the three youngsters are with their mothers. Being with the elephants was priceless.

If you are looking for a good resort experience, however, this place falls a short. The staff is friendly and helpful, but not always very effective. There were particular glitches with waitstaff in both the resort's restaurant and the main restaurant for the park. Orders were consistently messed up, it took forever to order a beverage or get morning coffee, etc. The buffets at the main restaurant were good, but a la carte entrees not so successful. And the restaurants were very expensive for the region -- compared very badly with other places we stayed in Bali, especially considering the quality of the food. And we were very unhappy to get a wake-up call that we didn't order at 2 a.m. -- three times. Finally, our room was redolent with cleaning product -- something with ammonia, I think. We spent our entire two days trying to air it out. These all seemed to us to be signs of ineffective management. A good resort doesn't have these problems.

If you are an elephant fan, be cautioned that the elephants, when not exercising or otherwise engaged, are kept chained in their individual spots. This makes sense -- if you've ever seen elephants in the wild (and we have), you know how destructive they can be, and how problematic it can be to have several adult bulls in the same area. The sight can be disturbing, so be forewarned. But that said, all of the mahouts were clearly devoted to their elephants (some of them have been together essentially a lifetime) and the wonderful beasts are well cared for.

I would gladly have skipped the "elephant talent show" - I don't need to see elephants doing tricks. But if you have kids, they might enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asmaradana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Wish we could have stayed longer here, because it is such a unique experience.

The lodge is situated in magnificent gardens and parkland, and as Taro is in the highland part of Bali, the climate here made a welcome change from the humidity on the coast.

We were greeted with friendly smiles at check in, which was done in no time at all, and then escorted to our room. There are a approximately six steps up to the rooms (this is so there is ease of access onto the elephant when you are collected), so I think anybody with disabilities would find it challenging.
Rooms are "elephant themed", everything has elephants on them, be it lamps, bed covers, cushions, even the bed legs are carved as an elephants foot. High quality furnishings throughout. It was a nice touch to have paintings in the room done by the elephants. Plenty of wardrobe space, with safe, tea and coffee making facilities ( if you require extra tea bags or milk, just phone reception and they will bring extra for you), bathrobes and slippers. Turn down service was provided in the evening. I just wish an extra comfy chair had been provided in the room,because you only had one, and the other was an upright one used at the writing table, but I suppose you don't spend much time there.

The large bathroom was accessed by descending down three steps, with a walk in shower, (no bath), and again high quality fittings with a good selection of toiletries.

The evening meal was taken down by the lake where the elephants bathed, it was good, but nothing spectacular, and afterwards we went up to the Mammoths Head lounge and bar because we fancied a nightcap and to savour the peace and quiet of our surroundings. Unfortunately although the lounge was open, the bar seemed to be closed, no one in attendance. We waited for perhaps ten minutes or so, and in the end used the bar telephone to order from reception, I think maybe they were short staffed, and they did send someone to attend to us.

After a good nights sleep,(the beds were really comfortable) rushed down to bathe and feed the elephants, and this is a memory I will always treasure. The breakfast was I have to admit not very good, cold bacon and sausage, and not really enough choice for cereals, after all this is 5* accommodation and facilities, but this was a minor gripe compared to the rest of our stay. You are certain of an unforgettable stay here, and I only wish I could do it again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had a great time at ESPL, very clean environment despite the 30 elephants right in front of the lodge. The park is very well maintained, very clean, and so are the elephants. It is so obvious that the elephants are contented and loved here at the park. The rides are great, being fetched by an elephant is a totally unique experience. The staff are friendly and very helpful, especially the reception staff.
The room is nice and clean, LCD TV is great, the free wi-fi is great, the bathroom interior is nice, with a high class natural design .
Breakfast was perfect, prepared with taste and class.
Hotel location is rather secluded so the free shuttles to Ubud centre really helps.
One more thing, I accidentally left my shopping bag in the car on a transfer to another hotel, I called ESPL when I realized it the next day, and they did their best to find it and contacted me right away, and even better, they delivered it to my hotel one day later. Marvelous service and integrity! Thank you ESPL!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

We booked the hotel on-line and got a realy good deal. The hotel and the park was excellant and much better than I could have expected. We stayed in a paddy view room which was the most basic room the lodge does and it was fantastic and had a great view from the balcony. The park itself was a dream come true and being able to get so personal with the elephants was unbelievable especially bathing the elephants and the rides were great. I would deffinatley suggest staying at the lodge if you can afford to as you get to have the park to yourselves in the morning and the evening and the park is quite a long way from the hotel resorts. It took us 2 hours 30 mins to get to the park from Nusua Dua so if you are just visiting the park for the day it is along way to go. The elephants are so happy and you can see they have such a close bond with their keepers. A truely magical experience!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a great way to see the Elephant Safari Park! The rooms are incredible and the staff ius SO nice. If you can find a good offer on the Internet, it is really value for money. After the park has closed you and the other guests are the only ones in the park and you can still interact with the elephants.
The room was incredible - the only thing that could prevent you from sleeping the the rain forest - it is really loud at night - but an incredible experience!
I can only recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 189530Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We have just returned home from our trip to Bali (July 2010) and just wanted to say that this was the best vacation that we have ever had. The hotel was just lovely from the elegant room to the beautifully landscaped grounds. The elephants at the lodge are such happy and gentle giants and the 3 babies kept us laughing throughout the stay.


Everyone at the hotel was so helpful and always available for us whether it be to arrange transport to Ubud or a last minute elephant ride. The staff was always pleasant and did their best to make our trip stress free as well as very memorable.


The restaurants were also one of the highlights as we love our morning coffee out on the terrace and the cafe had the most beautiful morning view of the elephants starting out their day. The food was wonderful and the staff helpful and fun!


At the end of our stay we were presented with a lovely painting that came as a gift when we checked out. Our last elephant ride was with Yanti and it was extra nice to see that the painting was also done by her.


We so look forward to seeing everyone again at the Hotel for our next trip to Bali!!


Marlea, Rod, and Robin

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
5.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
8.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
7.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Property: Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for animal and nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge get to wake up to the sights and sounds of elephants. When you wake up, head to the Mammoths Head Bar terrace and enjoy your breakfast as you overlook the surrounding lush forest. Have your private elephant chauffeur pick you up from your room and take you on an elephant trek through Taro forest. Have fun bathing, feeding and petting the elephants before you enjoy an evening stroll around the botanical gardens. The Elephant Safari Park Lodge is located just 20 minutes north from the islands cultural and artistic centre of Ubud and 75 minutes north of Ngurah Rai Airport in the historic village of Taro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing