We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A marvellous place to stay for nature and elephant lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Ranked #20 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A marvellous place to stay for nature and elephant lovers”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had a great time at ESPL, very clean environment despite the 30 elephants right in front of the lodge. The park is very well maintained, very clean, and so are the elephants. It is so obvious that the elephants are contented and loved here at the park. The rides are great, being fetched by an elephant is a totally unique experience. The staff are friendly and very helpful, especially the reception staff.
The room is nice and clean, LCD TV is great, the free wi-fi is great, the bathroom interior is nice, with a high class natural design .
Breakfast was perfect, prepared with taste and class.
Hotel location is rather secluded so the free shuttles to Ubud centre really helps.
One more thing, I accidentally left my shopping bag in the car on a transfer to another hotel, I called ESPL when I realized it the next day, and they did their best to find it and contacted me right away, and even better, they delivered it to my hotel one day later. Marvelous service and integrity! Thank you ESPL!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    196
    45
    29
    29
See reviews for
313
418
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We booked the hotel on-line and got a realy good deal. The hotel and the park was excellant and much better than I could have expected. We stayed in a paddy view room which was the most basic room the lodge does and it was fantastic and had a great view from the balcony. The park itself was a dream come true and being able to get so personal with the elephants was unbelievable especially bathing the elephants and the rides were great. I would deffinatley suggest staying at the lodge if you can afford to as you get to have the park to yourselves in the morning and the evening and the park is quite a long way from the hotel resorts. It took us 2 hours 30 mins to get to the park from Nusua Dua so if you are just visiting the park for the day it is along way to go. The elephants are so happy and you can see they have such a close bond with their keepers. A truely magical experience!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a great way to see the Elephant Safari Park! The rooms are incredible and the staff ius SO nice. If you can find a good offer on the Internet, it is really value for money. After the park has closed you and the other guests are the only ones in the park and you can still interact with the elephants.
The room was incredible - the only thing that could prevent you from sleeping the the rain forest - it is really loud at night - but an incredible experience!
I can only recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 189530Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We have just returned home from our trip to Bali (July 2010) and just wanted to say that this was the best vacation that we have ever had. The hotel was just lovely from the elegant room to the beautifully landscaped grounds. The elephants at the lodge are such happy and gentle giants and the 3 babies kept us laughing throughout the stay.


Everyone at the hotel was so helpful and always available for us whether it be to arrange transport to Ubud or a last minute elephant ride. The staff was always pleasant and did their best to make our trip stress free as well as very memorable.


The restaurants were also one of the highlights as we love our morning coffee out on the terrace and the cafe had the most beautiful morning view of the elephants starting out their day. The food was wonderful and the staff helpful and fun!


At the end of our stay we were presented with a lovely painting that came as a gift when we checked out. Our last elephant ride was with Yanti and it was extra nice to see that the painting was also done by her.


We so look forward to seeing everyone again at the Hotel for our next trip to Bali!!


Marlea, Rod, and Robin

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Having a daily elephant safari ride plus a ride to dinner was very cool. You can get up close to the babies and play with the adults as well as washing the adults in the morning. There are so many photo-ops within the park on a daily basis! The bathroom, especially the shower, will be the model if we ever have a house built. The bed was very comfortable and the air-conditioner was perfectly refreshing. The food in the restaurant was great and moderately priced. There are set dinner special menus nightly as well as a regular menu. I think we got the specials every night. Breakfast was fantastic. Along with the regular menu selections, you get a big plate of fruit, some juice, and the best coffee I've ever had. There is also a very nice turn down service with an accompanying Balinese snack every night. The only negative is that it rained almost daily and it was often cloudy. The pool area is very nice, though we didn't get to use it that often. We highly recommend this hotel, but don't just visit the park and stay one night. To really appreciate it, stay a few!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertandcatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

WE stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights and had a room overlooking the park which is an experience not to be missed. If you can afford the park rooms go for it as to wake up in the morning and see the elephants outside is just magical. You can stand for hours on your balcony watching the daily rituale of feeding, cleaning and elephant bathing.

Being collected each evening and riding to the restaurant on the back of an elephant is just so good. One of the big draws with the park is the three baby elephants born last year. They are just so cute even at the size they are. Very cheeky and playful and to be able to feed and pat them is a rare experience.

Taro is about 30 minutes drive from Ubud, but once at the hotel you can get out and about with Bali Adventure tours.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank possum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I went to this beautiful park with my husband, mother, sister & friend.1st: the accommodation is 5 star, beautiful with lots of little touches you expect at a 5 star resort but don’t always get, well you get it there and then some. 2nd: the Staff are amazing so helpful and knowledgeable, most live in the local village, they will go that extra mile for you i.e. it was my sisters B-day, I asked for a b-day cake a dinner to celebrate, I said that I will pay for it they said no problem, on the night not only did they make us a yummy fresh b-day cake they told me that is was on the house, I also wanted to go for a swim with the elephants which they organised for me with not a lot of time to prepare.3rd: The Mahuls (the elephant riders) they are so interesting & gentle to speak with, many of them being partnered with each elephant for 10-20 years, they joke that they are there other wife. 4th: the grounds are amazing, beautiful an experience in them self. 5th: Most important are the beautiful majestic Elephants, what a truly wonderful experience to be able to be so close and interact so personal with such an extraordinary animal we were truly honoured to be able to experience the Elephant Park Safari.
My only feedback to the park is that the Food in the restaurant is very expensive too expensive.
I highly recommend this experience for all animal lovers, make sure that you stay overnight we stayed 2 nights it was perfect also pay the extra to get a park view, yes it might be a bit expensive for some, but it will be worth every cent that you pay for everyone.
To the staff, thank you for your beautiful hospitality.
To Nigel, you are one in a million, shame more entrepreneurs aren’t not like you, good luck for you and your family human and elephant alike

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alista_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
7.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Property: Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" & Winner of the 2016 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal & nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge arise to the sights & sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens & jungle. Get up close & personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive & intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing