We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One you won't forget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Ranked #20 of 521 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One you won't forget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Me, my friend, and his mother stayed there for 3 nights before and after New Year's Eve ..

It is definitely the place to spend the time with family or on your honeymoon.. The place is quiet and serene..with beautiful garden and a friendly elephant that you can enjoy..

Although its a little bit sad to watch the elephant live that way but if you watch the documentary about those poor elephant I guess they're lucky..

The room is very nice and clean..the location is quite remote but this is just the right place to have a quality time with your loved ones..

Service is excellent, food was oke..
It would be even more nice if they organize more activity that the guest can do considering the remote location it can be a little bit boring if you have to stay there without things you can do..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    193
    43
    28
    28
See reviews for
299
404
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am so greatful & feel privileged to have been able to stay & experience the offerings of the Safari Lodge. I am in awe of Nigel & Yannie for what they have been able to set up & achieve in giving these beautiful animals a chance of being rehoused & living a peaceful, safe & comfortable life. The animals were treated with respect & care at all times. This was something which was of utmost importance to us. We could not fault anything in regard to the animals health & wellbeing.
The pregnant female went into labour on our last night, however we had to leave before she gave birth. I did get to watch her being attended to all night by an amazing handler named Alec from our balcony, I was too excited to sleep in anticipation.

The accomodation was of an amazing standard & the food excellent. The service & general 'air' of the place was exceptional to experience. Fantastic value for money, considering the high standard offered to both the visitors & resident animals

I would also return in a heartbeat. I cant wait for my next lot of leave so I can return & soak it all up again & meet the new baby.

Room Tip: Park view rooms capture the true essence of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My best friend and I stayed two nights. It was soooo much better than I could have imagined!
Arriving as late as we did (11.30pm) we were still greeted with warm and friendly staff. We were guided to our room and had things (pool, restaurants etc) pointed out. The room was lovely. Spacious, clean, very comfortable beds (not so comfortable pillows) the beds had been turned down, a lovely fresh fruit platter on the desk and the most adorable elephant towel on the bathroom counter. The bathroom was huge! Everything was perfect.
Upon waking we were taken aback by the sheer beauty of our surrounds in the daylight. The breakfast was wonderful (great if you are a big eater), the restaurant over looked the park and the elephants "bedrooms", WOW! the most awesome sight to see.
The elephant safari through the surrounding jungle was so peaceful and gentle, it didn't take too long to get into the swing of it.
The ability to help bathe an elephant was a big thing for us, this didn't disappoint, nor did the swimming with the elephants (take old clothes or ones you are happy to get dirty) This was certainly the highlight of our stay.
The food in the main restaurant was fantastic, great selections, buffet value for money!
All the staff were super friendly, helpful and very informative.
Would come back again in a heartbeat. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holdenmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bees Creek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just came here to ride the elephants we didn't stay but the resorts looked great and the whole park layout is absolutely fantastic. They look after their animals so well and we were lucky enough to see a new born elephant that was just born the night before. We even got feed Mum some water melon which she loved This was a day i will remember forever.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited the elephant park today and had a great time. We are staying in ubud currently and it was only a 20 minute drive from our hotel. It was VERY important to myself that we only visit animal parks where it is clear that the animals are being taken care of and not harmed in any way. i do not wish to support dirty, run down places where animals are hit and whipped. Of course, it is a "park" and not a nature reserve so the elephants are chained at times so be prepared to see that. However, I was pleased to see that each elephant has its own trainer and that they are all fed and bathed and rested, look healthy and play very happily in the water. They obviously have a great breeding program and we were lucky enough to see and pat a 4 day old baby elephant :) absolute highlight! We went for a 20 or so minute ride on one of the older elephants (27 years old and still young compared to some others) as well and were able to pat and feed many others as well as view a show. Great day out for the whole family and a beautiful place to see these amazing creatures up close.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The elephant park and staff are amazing with the manager Katut doing everything she can to make the stay enjoyable. The rooms are roomy and amazing and strongly recommend a romantic getaway for couples. We had a young family and while they loved the park it would be better and a lot more relaxing for adults. We also visited the elephant safari and marine park and have to say the elephants at the lodge look a lot better cared for, even though they spend a lot of their time attached to a chain which we have been told is for legal reasons. Food and spa treatments are a bit dearer than Kuta but is expected for location. Definitely do the rafting which is amazing and get taken on elephant back to the restaurant for tea. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lchandcuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my best friend stayed here for two nights on the recommendation of a colleague. Upon arriving we received an amazing welcome drink and some great news that our room had been upgraded! Walking through the doors into the park our jaws dropped. The elephants were right there! The room was amazing! Spacious, clean and very welcoming. The food here was also great! But nothing could beat the experience of being able to bathe and swim bareback with the elephants! Each elephant has their own keeper and are very much loved and well looked after. The staff often offered to take our camera and took LOADS of pictures! Which was great, as in Melbourne you wouldn't get this service- they would expect you to buy the photos. But not here, which was great! Would recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
10.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Property: Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 521 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for animal and nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge get to wake up to the sights and sounds of elephants. When you wake up, head to the Mammoths Head Bar terrace and enjoy your breakfast as you overlook the surrounding lush forest. Have your private elephant chauffeur pick you up from your room and take you on an elephant trek through Taro forest. Have fun bathing, feeding and petting the elephants before you enjoy an evening stroll around the botanical gardens. The Elephant Safari Park Lodge is located just 20 minutes north from the islands cultural and artistic centre of Ubud and 75 minutes north of Ngurah Rai Airport in the historic village of Taro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing