We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but great day trip for young & old!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Ranked #22 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Expensive but great day trip for young & old!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

For $120 USD 2 adults can enjoy the park & really interact with all the elephants & take a short ride. You were able to touch the elephants to your hearts content & take many many puctures. One of the baby elephants wraped her trunk around me. We are in our 30's and thought this park was special & fun. If you are an animal lover, it's worth the trip. The grounds are beautiful too. When you enter the park you will see that many celebrities have been here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    198
    48
    29
    31
See reviews for
318
427
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a Garden view room and we had a fabulous time.
If you are wanting the chauffered service by an elephant you need to be staying in a garden view room or a park view room.
The rooms are spacoius clean.
As a guest of the hotel you have free access to the park. Swimming and washing the elephants is a must do and un like other parks you are not charged to feed the elephants. A large supply of food is there to feed the elephants and get some great photos.
On our first night we had the Buffet in the restaurant. We usually dont opt for the Buffet but glad we did. The food was of high quality and not the usual fried fatty food that buffets offer. We holidayed with 2 other friends and they too really enjoyed the food.
The hotel does offer a shuttle service to Ubud but we kept ourselves occupied and found we did not need this service.
We have been to Bali many times and this was our first visit to the park and the hotel and we defintely were not disappointed.
Everything was high standard including the helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Elephant safari Lodge for our first part of a 16 night stay in Bali. We stayed for 2 nights, 2 adults and 2 children 10 & 13.
This was our highlight to our trip experiencing the Elephants was amazing, we had a package to swim, wash and ride on the Elephants which we did on both of the days we stayed. You get to spend plenty of time with the Elephants taking photos and feeding them the place was very quiet and had a relaxed atmosphere even when the day visiters arrived.
Breakfast was good and we found the dinners at the resturant was good but not cheap around $80 for the 4 of us, children under 12 cannot swim with the elephants my daughter was very dissapointed so she got a tshirt painted it cost $45.
I highly recommend this place and would not hesitate to go back again, we loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view, unless you plan on spending a lot of time in your room go for a garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VJJAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed one night at the lodge at the end of our Bali holiday. We had a garden room with an extra bed for our 5-year-old and a cot for our 2-year-old.
The room was spacious and had plenty of room for the extra beds. It was beautifully decorated with nice touches like the towels rolled in the shape of an elephant (the kids loved this!)
The lodge has a nice, fairly small, pool perfect for cooling off. The breakfast served in the Mammoth Head bar was good.
Staying at the lodge you get free access to the elephant park, including elephant rides, the elephant show and bathing the elephants. This was all great fun, especially for the kids. The animals all seem happy and well looked after.
Service throughout was excellent.
It's expensive - as well as the cost of the rooms the restaurant prices were about double what we were spending elsewhere in Bali. But it's definitely worth doing as a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
243 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent one night at the park & lodge in a park view room - it costs more, but it's an amazing view and well worth it. We enjoyed all of the activities with elephants on offer - rides, swimming, bathing, feeding and elephant shows - and were absolutely enchanted with these amazing animals (swimming with the elephants was especially cool). If you can spend the night here (rather than just coming for a day of activities), I would highly recommend it, but a visit here is worth it regardless.

Room Tip: Park View rooms are GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Worth the drive 1 1/2 hrs from Seminyak. Elephants were magnificent, well looked after, well managed park, would love to stay there. Lunch provided with the tour was really good, lots of choice although restaurant not air conditioned. fans in ceilings, so pretty warm. was a bit dubious about elephant show, but it was well thought out, not too many "tricks" and informative.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did a day trip to the park and had the BEST time there. During the course of the day, I fell in love with these beautiful, gentle creatures. The park is clean and the elephants look very well kept. We arrived just before the crowd (our package included return transfer) and there was barely a queue to go on the elephant ride. Nicky, our gorgeous elephant, was absolutely charming. Her trainer was also friendly and seemed to genuinely love his job.

The best part was spending time with the appropriately-named Ganteng ('handsome' in Indonesian), a cheeky 3 year old boy. I wished he fit in my pocket so I could bring him home! Ganteng's trainer is knowledgeable and lovely. To me, they looked like a pair of mates! I hope to be able to return one day to see how Ganteng is faring. I was told that he will be starting to do the shows from January 2013.

The show was also a lot of fun. We had the mother elephants entertaining us. They're really clever and have fantastic personalities! We were front row and walked away half drenched as the cheeky things sprayed us at the end of the show.

The buffet lunch was tasty, clean and fast. It was included in our package, but you have to pay separately for your drinks. The shop is vast and stock interesting goods. I do wish they had merchandise for younger kids. I wish I could've bought my little niece (just over 1 year old) a t-shirt. The transport (although our driver was freelanced so we didn't get one of their BAT-owned vans) was safe, clean and on time.

I had a high expectation and it was most definitely exceeded. I couldn't believe how close we got to the elephants! So pleased to see the great conservation work and the elephants seemed to be happy and healthy. A definite must do in Bali!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybugwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,863 reviews
8.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
713 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Safari Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Safari Park & Lodge

Property: Elephant Safari Park & Lodge
Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Safari Park & Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" & Winner of the 2016 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal & nature lovers, guests staying at the Elephant Safari Park Lodge arise to the sights & sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens & jungle. Get up close & personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive & intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Safari Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park & Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing