We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience to last a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mason Elephant Lodge
Ranked #27 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in a park view room and never wanted to waste a second of the view, both night and day. Spent 2 1/2 days there and still didn't want to leave. Staff amazing and made us feel like we were the most important people in the world. Washing, bathing, feeding, riding and just sitting and watching the elephants was an unforgettable experience. Thank you to EVERY person involved in the running of the park. Hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzyquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

from the minute you step into this amazing place - you are transformed into another universe. Smiling friendly staff, cold towels, refreshing drink, and that;s all before you check in! Being escorted to your room thru what can only be likened to botanical gardens - you are shown where the gym and day spa are - both well worth a visit to. The rooms are spacious and clean, steps down to the bathroom, but there is a handrail. Lovely touches throughout, towels folded into elephant shapes, elephant slippers, elepahant feet carved timber bed legs. All things elephant here!! The elephant taxi service from your room with the mahout (handler/trainer) is special. The talent show very clever. The buffet food and the al la carte menu excellent. Food fresh and tasty. shuttle service to Ubud fantastic. (If you don't want to pay to eat at the Park like some writers below, go eat in Ubud, it won't cost you anything to get there.) Bathing and washing the elephants a once in a lifetime experience. feeding the babies just aswesome. we bought fruit in Ubud and took it back for the elephants. The mahouts were really grateful we did this. There was a wedding held there when we were there - elephants dressed in traditional costume and umbrella holders escorting bride and groom, and Balinese girls dressed in traditional costumes. If you can find ANYTHING wrong with this place - you are one mighty hard person to please. If you ever go to Bali - go here, even just for the day. And all this because of one Aussie's passion to save the Sumatran Elephant: Nigel Manson, you are my hero.

Room Tip: we had a garden room, which was fab - if you can afford a park view room, go for it - if you spend l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We did the mountain bike ride which ended in the Elephant Park. Mum dad and 3 kids 7 9 and 13 great ride which ended at the park. We all loved being able to be so close to these amazing animals and the babies were gorgeous. Animals were well treated and the park as neat as a pin. Thoroughly recommend this for all families the kids loved the elephants.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank PC V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

There's something about seeing elephants when they're not in a zoo, stressed out and trumpeting to the sky to quieten all the annoying animals yapping around them, rather happily standing around, eating bamboo and playing with their kids in the water.

There's something else about staying in a resort metres away from these beautiful creatures.

When you visit ESP for the day, you pay roughly $60 australian for entrance, an elephant ride, bathing elephants in the morning, and a performance by the residents. When you chose to stay at the Lodge - you get all that included, and add $80 for a unique experience ina beautiful Balinese room, with great service. A true one of its kind experience.

We arrived late and missed some of the fanfare, but were walked to our room through the Ubud jungle, to our room. A huge king sized bed, ample room to relax, beautiful marble bathroom and elephand shaped towells! (still one of my hilights)

A few minutes later and we were sat atop a huge elephant with a soft spoken Sumatran, getting our personal escort the the buffet dinner on the other side of the park.

Food was your standard Bali style buffet - catering for its guests with seafood, roasts, salads, and curries. Cakes and all sorts for desserts, a nice range of wines and beers, local and imported.

I won't lie, the buffet was not cheap, even by Australian standards. roughly $35 a head (350,000 rupe's) for dinner, and same again if you want breakfast. I've stayed in 4 star rooms for cheaper. The disapointment in cost is soon washed away with the serenity, when you realise you are staying and dining inside a conservation park dedicated to rescuing sumatran elephants and their handlers, and knowing that most of your spending at dinner is going to the cause.

Elephant ride's especially through the pool, and watching the baby elephants at play less than a metre of you takes you straight back to childhood. It's an amazing experience, and certainly one to behold.

Hot tip - MAKE SURE the cab driver you get knows it's the ELEPHANT safari park in TARO - NOT the MARINE safari park - two hours and 300K away. While speeding through windy mountain roads full of hindu worship festivals is fun, it's also stressful!

I would come back, however 2-3 nights and you've had enough. You just can't keep spending that much for your meals when there is 70+ percent cheaper and higer class properties available.

Take spoilt kids here for a dose of reality. take stressed partners, parents, unseasoned travellers, the grumpiest person you know, and watch them be broken as baby elephants tackle each other in a lagoon metres from your eyes.

A great way to start or end your Bali trip before the crazy times, perfect to relax.

Room Tip: - get the Padi room for the elephant escort. - venture into Ubud by taxi for your meals after your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

As we had friends staying at the Lodge attached to the elephant safari park, we went for a visit from our villa in Ubud to see them and check out the place. Basic entry is US$19 an adult, although for more money there were packages that could be had, including elephant rides. The park is lovely, well maintained and something like a botanical garden with so many flowering plants on our visit. On our walk around, a lake provided the elephants a cool off from the heat and for those on the elephant rides, wet feet. There were 3 baby elephants that we were able to feed fruit to and that was a great camera experience.

Friends were staying in a garden view room which when visiting looked nice and comfortable, king size bed, built in wardrobes, flat screen tv, bar fridge and small table setting with chairs. A clean, modern bathroom off the room looked very nice too. The only downside, I could see, was the numerous steps down to the bathroom from the main room and without railing don’t go sleepwalking.

The huge open dining pavillion, has ala carte or buffet lunch options. Some of our table had the buffet at IDR200,000 (A$20) per person, while the other two chose a tuna dish from the ala carte menu for IDR100,000 (A$10).

Not being a great buffet fan, I must say it was one of the best I have experienced. Lots of choice and everything I put on my plate was tasty, fresh and well cooked. The chicken and pork sates are huge and delicious. Friends having the tuna dishes were also happy, saying they were delicious.

Although more expensive than a lot of dining options in Bali, the money you pay goes back into the park and for the elephants, so we didn’t mind at all. By Australian standards lunch was still excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived at the Elephant Safari Park & Lodge to be greeted with a nice refreshing drink. Our room was comfortable & clean with a fresh fruit bowl awaiting us. The grounds were very well maintained, with a beautiful garden pathway.
We spent 3 days & 2 nights here & in hindsight we should have booked for longer, there is so much to do. The Elephant show goes for about 20 minutes, 3 times a day (1 of these is at dusk). I also washed & bathed with an elephant. There are three young elephants they are so cute, they give you a trunk hug. Nightly the elephant arrives at your room for a ride to the restaurant for dinner. We also had a ride, on a track in nearby surroundings.
There is a shuttle bus to Ubud, pushbike riding, trekking, massages; we did not have a chance to do these activities do to our time constraints. We did go white water rafting, this was heaps of fun, the scenery was amazing. The only downside was 600 steps downhill to the river & 300 back up. The guides are very helpful, take some water with you, pace yourself, it is well worth it.

There is a café & restaurant at the Elephant Safari Park; I thought it would probably be expensive, due to the fact that there is nowhere else for meals & drinks. So it was a very nice surprise to find it is very competitive in price with the rest of Bali. We ate at the restaurant; the food was delicious - very good quality & yummy cocktails.
These elephants appear to be very well cared for, loved heaps & to have a special bond with their trainers. (Just like most people have a bond with their dogs). It was beautiful to see how the elephants & trainers react to each other. Elephants seem to have an amazing ability to understand, when it comes to learning tricks for their shows & what a trainer is requesting. Staying at the Elephant Safari Park & Lodge was great fun, educational & it gave me a fascinating in site into the lives of elephants.

Room Tip: Our budget only allowed for the basic room, this was very clean, quiet & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ko11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had no expectation but had a wonderful day with some wonderful animals. The staff are so helpful and lovely, the elephants amazing and the entire experience a 'one on a lifetime'. Whether you stay or go for a day it's really really brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank IJenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
7.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 200 in Ubud
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
849 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#39 of 200 in Ubud
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Elephant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Elephant Lodge

Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia (Formerly Elephant Safari Park & Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $120 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mason Elephant Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" and Winner of the 2016 & 2017 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal and nature lovers, guests staying at the Mason Elephant Lodge arise to the sights and sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens and jungle. Get up close and personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive and intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mason Elephant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Mason Elephant Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing