We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic, Can't wait to return with family and friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mason Elephant Lodge
Ranked #25 of 613 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I went to the Elephant Safari Park in 2007 for a day trip, we were so impressed with the treatment of the elephants, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the facility. We also noticed that there was some construction going on and we were told that this was accommodation being built.
When we decided to return to Bali for our 40th wedding anniversary this was the place we wanted to stay. We bought a 2 night package. The Park was still incredibly well run, spotlessly clean and great care taken with all of the guests whether staying in the lodge or just visiting for the day. The elephants are well loved and cared for with devotion.
Our room in the lodge was perfect, from the balcony we looked onto the Elephant Park and at night the elephants slept within 15 metres of our room, with the door to the balcony closed we heard nothing, and when the door was open we heard the chomping of the elephants eating. For each evening meal we were chauffered by elephant to the dining room, and we did two longer Safari trips during our stay.All of the staff were wonderful, the herbal massage in the spa was so relaxing and words escape me to describe the whole experience. I would highly reccommend The Elephant Safari Park and Lodge whether for a day trip or to stay in the wonderful Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RapBerry_NSWl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

I spent two nights at the lodge with my wife and 19 years old daughter and we fell in love with this place: the location is idyllic and the staff all very kind and professional. Then the main attractions: the elephants, that we could see, watch, touch and even wash!
We really enjoyed our stay, thanks to all the very nice staff members who truly love elephants and helped us learn more about these beautiful, majestic and very intelligent animals.
If you have time, do not forget to visit the Spa, that fully deserves the Conde Nast recognition received a couple of years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLC-IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it. The activities offered were fantastic, both inside the park and with the Bali Adventure Activities program. The personal time with the elephants that you receive as a guest is priceless and dining under the stars is not to be missed. Would definitely recommend this as a stay for couples or families.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Paddy View room which looked over the rice fields rather than over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondibeach2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at here for one night and what an experience it was. We took our ten year old daughter and she said it was the best experience of her life. The rooms were beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Being picked up for dinner by an elephant was amazing and the prices and the restaurant very reasonable and nice food. The park and the elephants were amazing and washing them and swimming with them in tghe morning was an unforgettable experience....everyone should do it it was an incredible place....One tip don't pay full price as it is very expensive look for cheaper deals on the net.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Elephant Safari Park & Lodge for one night. Had originally booked a "park-view" room, but this was fully booked. Fortunately I was upgraded to the executive suite, which was an impressive room with all the amenities that one can expect from such a standard.
The staff was very service minded and friendly. The elephant shows was entertaining, and the elephant safari rides was good. We did the night safari, not sure if I would do that again. Would have preferred the day time ride, but do to timing for our own side this was not possible.
Can strongly recommed the showering/bathing of the elephants, this was a great way to get a closer encounter with the elephants.
Do not expect to see large herds of elephants roaming around freely. They are located in fixed positions, outside the scheduled events.
Had dinner at the restaurant at the hotel, which was good, thought it was a bit pricy compared to the rest of Bali. But all in all a good experience.
The fitness facilities was okay, new equipment, but fairly limited and a very small room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The lodge and safari park are outstanding in terms of the experience they offer. 5 star accomodation, great staff, and the experience you get with the animals is fantastic.
Don't think this is a zoo because its not - its interactive and the kids will love getting up close and peronal witrh these incredible creatures.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The best experience was actually to stay at the park and the kids really enjoyed the ongoing access and view to/of the elephants. We were very impressed that we were able to accommodate the whole family in 2 rooms with no problems about age of children which is a common hindrance in other hotels. This makes it a very good value for money. The level of service is a major highlight for the hotel. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We really wanted to have an animal experience traveling with the whole family but are always concerned at animal exploitation. Unfortunately whilst we would prefer to go and assist and learn at a sanctuary or rehabilitation center most of the sanctuaries are pretty expensive to get to and as such out of budget for families. The facilities at the Elephant Safari Park & Lodge are fantastic and while it is not a perfect world, as Nigel the owner explains, since these animals should be in their own environment, it is a good alternative to where they come from which has been destroyed by humans.
By staying at the hotel you are collected every night by an elephant to take you to the restaurant for dinner. This is just brilliant; such a nice detail to our stay. You also get to swim everyday with the elephants and watch (and participate) in the daily bath time.
I expect that there would be further improvements to the park as they seem to keep on making the facilities better. We were informed that the baby elephant area was to be renovated which I expect will be great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yiya68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
7.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
8.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
2,114 reviews
10 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Elephant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Elephant Lodge

Address: Jl. Elephant Park, Taro, Ubud 80561, Indonesia (Formerly Elephant Safari Park & Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 613 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $123 - $1,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mason Elephant Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali’s “Most Unique Hotel" and Winner of the 2016 & 2017 World Luxury Hotel Awards – Best Eco Lodge. Ideal for animal and nature lovers, guests staying at the Mason Elephant Lodge arise to the sights and sounds of gentle giants set among lush botanical gardens and jungle. Get up close and personal with Bali's largest herd of 31 Sumatran elephants at the island's premiere interactive and intimate elephant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mason Elephant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Safari Park And Lodge
Elephant Safari Park Hotel Ubud
Mason Elephant Lodge Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing