We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #13 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
1 review
“Feels like paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was our second visit and for sure not the last. Bisma is our favourite hotel in Bali. The view is amazing! We adored it here and the attention to detail that the staff willingly oblige to is more than fantastic. The suite's are perfect and you feel like home instead of being in a hotel room.

The staff and the service is more than excelent.

We honestly say that it was one of the most beautiful and relaxing holidays we have ever been on. We would highly recommend Komaneka at Bisma.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dog013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    155
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
396
1,025
65
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norhern lass
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights as part of our honeymoon and I can't say enough good things about it.

The hotel is set in plush rice fields and trees. It is a five minute drive from Ubud town centre but you feel like you're in the middle of a lush forrest. The main infinity pool is set amongst these and is gorgeous. The restaurant to the hotel looks over the trees and fields and you can reserve a seat on the balcony and look out over them whilst you eat - bliss!

We stayed in room for 5 nights and then treated ourselves and upgraded to a private villa for the last 3 nights. Both of them were marvellous. The room has a large spacious private balcony overlooking the trees and is everything you would want to it to be. The villa had its own private infinity pool and was just fab.

Breakfast at the hotel is great. Unusually, it's a la carte so everything is freshly prepared for you and will be tailored for individual tastes. It can also be delivered to your room or villa for no extra cost. We also had lunch a few times at the restaurant and it was always brilliant. The complimentary afternoon tea and cakes which are served daily should not be missed!

A complimentary shuttle bus runs every hour for the five minute journey into town which means that you can easily get into Ubud. I think the out of town location is a real bonus as it adds to the hotel's relaxed and tranquil feel.

The thing that makes this hotel really special are the brilliant staff and the extraordinary level of service. I think it's very difficult to get the right balance between a level of service which manages to be personal without being intrusive but this place does it perfectly.

It's a fabulous place. Words can't do it justice - go and stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Down a dirt-track featuring an eclectic mix of small dwellings, guest houses and cosy restaurants is this beauty of a hotel. We were upgraded from the Monkey Forest Komaneka just down the road and found ourselves in a stunning environment.

The partially outdoor reception leads to a formidable view of what looks to be acres and acres of forest and woodland. In the middle of this is a gorgeous infinity pool and a paddy field. Banana trees are in abundance. You can go walk (or jog..) round the grounds, a pleasant walk that takes in vines, butterflies, a small river, and of course, bananas.

The suite was large and comfortable (Apple TV, excellent en suite, huge terrace) and good air-con.

Breakfast was a number of choices within a set menu - I prefer buffets but the food was good. The prices of room service were reasonable and the quality was fine. There is a small gym with treadmills overlooking the pool and forest. There are spa treatments on-site.

You come to this hotel and its area to get away from it all. The scenery is simply stunning. It is peaceful and quiet and you will never get bored of the view into the woodland (which is partially lit up at night to great effect). The noise of the wildlife (mainly very large toads and huge crickets) at night time signals that you are finally away from work, the city and everything else and that you have finally arrived on holiday. Unless you live somewhere which already has very large toads and crickets.

The hotel was not busy - you might be able to get good deals dealing directly with them or perhaps an upgrade from the Monkey Forest. They are building a fourth in Ubud - are they over expanding?

Staff are friendly and efficient, most with a good grasp of English.

It's worth the splurge and you should enjoy a modern (built around 2008) hotel with local touches in a stunning woodland setting.

Oh - and free wi-fi... that works..!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabregasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

This hotel is my favourite hotel in Bali. I adored it here, including my partner. The attention to detail that the staff willingly oblige to is fantastic. It was my birthday that day we arrived and without my partner even asking, the Chef sent a Happy Birthday cake to be room with my name on. I burn incense each day, the staff learnt this so when the room was made up, the left me incense in a beautiful vase daily. Absolutely beautiful. As you woudl expect, hygiene and cleanliness is fantastic. They remembered I was a vegetarian each time I called the restuarant and would often already have a few ideas off the menu for me. we took the complementary hotel transport when we walked into Ubud (you can walk into Ubud from Bisma, only 8 minutes?) from Monkey Forest Komeneka and were much happier that we were at Bisma. Bisma is a new and grander hotel. I would happily go back for my honemoon! Its that great. excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoPpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

This was a last minute escape - so we didn't know much about Komaneka. We were pleasantly surprised with this magical place - the setting was perfect, the rooms are HUGE and very comfortable! But the best part of our stay was the hospitality and service from the staff - it was outstanding! We have travelled a lot and lucky enough to stay in 5 star accommodation - and Komaneka at Bisma was truely a 5 star experience.

Now for the finer details - good and bad:

Good:
* The staff - will do just about anything to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Very personalised service.
* The room - huge 88 sqm with the most amazing view of the forest from your big balcony
* The room facilities - small details such as mouthwash, insect repellent and even straw hats all included in the rooms - gone are the days when it's just a bathrobe and slippers!
* Shuttle service into main part of ubud - we did not need to catch a taxi - ever! They even dropped us off at our restuarant and picked us up when we were finished.

Bad:
If I were to be extra picky, the things which could be improved:
* The path to Komaneka (Bisma Rd) is rough and bumpy - it's not a proper road and is very narrow. Not the best introduction to such a beautiful place.
* Not enough English TV channels - not really an issue but whilst we were there, it rained a lot and it would have been nice to have a bit more variety on TV.

Thank you Komaneka at Bisma - it was exactly what we needed. Will definately be back! xoxo

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

We found this amazing hotel on line after browsing for several days.
We carefully chose Komaneka at Bisma for many reasons. We needed a quiet place, surrounded by rice paddy but luxurious and traditional as well.
Upon arrival at the hotel, we went straight to our pool villa which costs us USD450nett per night and we found that a very good deal.
The view of the main pool is amazing, makes you really want to stay there for hours..
The breakfast here is exquisite, very generous and the service is extra ordinary. They also serve afternoon tea from 4PM to 6PM along with selection of balinese cakes, snacks and cookies which you can request to be delivered to your villa..
The most highlighted thing is their shuttle bus service every hour to and from several point of interests within Ubud, it really helps a lot.. They can even do drop off and pick up whenever you wish to within Ubud area. That's what I call attentiveness..
As we stayed there for more than a week, they offer us free dinner with selected menu as well as one hour free massage for two in their spa area which is located just above Campuhan river, UNBELIEVABLE TREAT!!
It's not just that, upon check out and departure, the front desk guy handed us free gift from Komaneka, and it was one pair of kimono with our name written on it!!! We were indeed very impressed with their generosity.. Seriously, who wouldn't want to come back to a place that has pampered you so much???
We definitely will come back!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelyindonesianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We just returned from 5 nights in Ubud, staying at the magnificant Komaneka at Bisma. I cannot rave enough about this accommodation. We stayed in a private pool villa that was insanely gorgeous! It looked exactly like the photo's on the website and lived up to every review I had read.

The room itself was immaculate and the pool divine! The view was so peaceful, looking out over lush forest. Every night we were treated to a 'turn down' service that included a 'bed time story' about the local culture and religion, nice touch!

The resort itself was also very special, with delicious food and ambience. One of the best things about Komaneka at Bisma is the staff, they are so friendly and welcoming and genuinely strive to make your holiday the best it can be.

It is not a cheap stay, but I can honestly say that it was one of the most beautiful and relaxing holidays I have ever been on. I would highly recommend Komaneka at Bisma.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing