We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Komaneka Bisma sets the benchmark for sophisticated, intimate hotel stays in Ubud”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #12 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
croydon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Komaneka Bisma sets the benchmark for sophisticated, intimate hotel stays in Ubud”
Reviewed November 18, 2009

As the first stop of our honeymoon proper, I wanted the hotel in Ubud to be perfect. Komaneka Bisma exceeded our expectations and more! We paid an extra US$40 for airport pick-up and from the moment the driver greeted us with a warm, welcoming smile, we knew everything was going to be great. Cold, refreshing face flannels, cookies and chilled drinks were offered before we left the airport and the driver kept us engaged, answering our questions about Ubud and Bali. There was also an iPod in the car, from which we could select music and volume, if desired.

Bisma is on the other side of Ubud, so on arrival you will drive through the centre past the key sites on the main road, and off down a bumpy track, surfaced only in places, with paddy fields on both sides, which leads you to the superbly located hotel - how else do you expect to have unrivalled views down a jungle-clad valley? A ramp drops down off the track to a turning circle and canopied reception area. Each time you arrive, reception staff will come out to open the door and greet you. We would get a buzz every time we returned and descended the ramp - it's like entering a kind of other-paradise. You can amble slowly into the centre of town in about 20 minutes or call reception and they will arrange a shuttle for you.

On arrival, the manager welcomes you personally and you will be offered a tropical welcome drink before being shown to your room. The hotel is kind of upside down due to its location, with the reception/bar area on the top floor, rooms on 2 floors below and the restaurant under that. You then descend a flight of wooden stairs to reach the swimming pool and spa. Before you go to your room, make sure you check out the view down the valley from the reception deck - my wife almost shed a tear at the beauty of it!

The welcome you receive sets the tone for your entire stay - staff are extremely well-trained and are polite, engaging, helpful and friendly. They will learn your names very quickly and be constantly looking for ways in which they can help to improve your stay. They will even teach you Indonesian if you're interested! At the beginning it felt strange, but you’ll miss it when you leave.

Standards throughout the hotel are extremely high - rooms, grounds and all public areas are kept impeccably clean and in good order - and the whole 'look' of the place is one of crisp, contemporary design, with Balinese influences. Walls and public spaces are adorned with examples of Balinese art, from wire sculptures to old compound doors to woodwork and painting. I believe the hotel opened in 2008 and it still looks pretty new. The infinity swimming pool is stunning and really feels like it goes on forever when you’re trying to swim to the end of it. Wonderful to stand in the shallow end and gaze down the valley. There’s also a smaller children’s swimming pool a level below with hammocks in the trees nearby.

We stayed in one of the 34 Bisma suite rooms in the main building. They were huge and tastefully furnished with 2x8 metre balconies and a main room size of 8x11 metres. Rooms are extremely well-equipped with Apple TV (selection of movies and music, a lot of the latter seemed to be slightly cheesy 80s stuff, but hey!) and in-room wireless internet. The bathroom is beautiful with a massive shower area, separate toilet, bath and dual washbasins. A separate storage area for luggage and clothes also opens off the bathroom. A large, comfortable bed, desk, dressing table and sofa complete the furnishings. Slippers and straw hats are provided in the rooms.

From our balcony, we had an outstanding view across the valley, with the paddy fields below and 50-metre infinity swimming pool to the right. You can also see the 10 private villas concealed in the jungle. At night, Chinese lanterns come on to illuminate the paddies below - magical! You also get a natural night-time orchestra of jungle sounds and the river. Take a walk around the grounds one day, there’s also a wedding chapel if you’re not already hitched.

I don't want to spoil things by telling you about all the little touches you will experience during your stay, but it's the kind of place where you can feel like royalty without any sense of guilt. One of the great things about the Komaneka hotels - there are 3 of them in Ubud - is that they are all owned by a local Balinese family and provide great employment opportunities to people from the area around Ubud. Staff seemed well treated and to really enjoy their jobs.

As we weren't there in the peak season, we got a very reasonable rate, about 30% off, which included breakfast, afternoon teas and unlimited shuttles to/from Ubud. The weather was still great, about 31 degrees with blue skies, and although Ubud felt relatively busy, it gets a lot busier in July/August. I'd recommend going in October.

We didn't use the spa, but it's wonderfully located just above the river, with 3 or 4 beautiful treatment rooms. Treatments were not cheap, starting at about US$150.

Just go and experience the place for yourself!

As for Ubud, we absolutely loved it and could have stayed for more than our 6 nights, but it all depends what you're looking for. It might be too mellow for some, it's certainly not an all-night party destination, but we were there for our honeymoon, so it was perfect. There are plenty of temples to see, shopping to do, a monkey sanctuary and it is a fantastic base to make day-trips further north, e.g. to the crater lakes and volcano, Jatiluwih paddy fields, etc. We met a great guy who I can recommend for day-trips with vehicle or local/mountain treks.

Don’t miss a trip to Bebek Bengil - one of the oldest restaurants in Ubud – for some of their famous crispy duck and make sure you try the eponymous suckling pig at Warung Ibu Oka across the road from the Royal Palace.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    156
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
397
1,030
65
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We rented a villa at the Komaneka Bisma during our two week stay in Bali. I have to say, this hotel far exceeded my expectations, and the splurge on the villa was most definitely worth it. Highlights:

* Manager spent a half hour with us when we first walked in
* Friendly and super professional staff
* Private plunge pool (like triple what you would expect)
* Exquisite furnishings and surroundings - uber sexy and ultra cool
* Superb three course breakfast (way too much)
* Afternoon tea with luxurious pastries and treats
* Lovely bar with the best scotch
* Special pajamas laid out every night on our bed
* Every need anticipated

As for my new husband and myself, we are seasoned travelers. In fact, we have lived all over the world including San Francisco, Sydney, London, Mumbai and New York. I thought I had seen it all. The Komaneka Bisma was BY FAR the very best hotel I have been to in the world.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasimo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This is the hotel to stay if you want to be within walking distance to shops and great restaurants in Ubud, and yet be in the tranquil setting of rural Bali. The staff in this small boutique hotel is well-trained and genuinely happy to offer their assistance. Yuli at the front desk is exceptional. The hotel library was a great find. A standard hotel room at the Bisma is the equivalent to a junior suite in a hotel in Australia. Beautifully appointed and the beds were very comfortable.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We were a bit apprehensive approaching the Komaneka from the bumpy road that leads to it but we needn't have been. As soon as the driver turned into the long driveway and we were greeted at the car by a smiling receptionist and welcomed with some drinks and the most incredible view, we knew we could relax!
The location is stunning; the views from every direction are amazing - rice paddies, rain forest and the cool, long pool.
The rooms are huge and have all the mod-cons you would expect including apple TV. The suite balcony is the length of the room and has dining furniture and sun loungers.
The staff are, without exception, delightful: friendly and chatty but also professional and discreet. Several of them delivered a delicious candle-lit birthday cake to me to the tune of happy birthday without my husband or I having even mentioned my birthday!
The a la carte breakfasts were really good with lots of choice and the afternoon teas were a nice touch.
The spa treatments are a bit pricey for Bali but they're perfect! I had the best massage of my life in the most serene surroundings.
The gym has limited equipment and no air con (gasp!) and we had much better meals in Ubud than at the hotel, but these are v minor things.

Overall, would definitely recommend this as a gorgeous oasis only minutes away from the bustle of Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We were looking for a nice place to unwind after two weeks of traveling around Indonesia and we definitely found it here. We splurged for the one bedroom, private pool villa and were more than content (sorry I can’t speak to the other rooms). There is an open air kitchen and den overlooking the infinity pool and rice fields (photos attached). The open air den has a large lounge and curtains that can be pulled for more of a sense of privacy. Outside there is also a dining table and two sun lounges with fresh linens replaced every morning. The bed room is huge with a 42 HDTV connected to apple television system with dozens of movies to choose from. It leads into a large his & her dressing room then onto a large bath tub and indoor shower. A glass door connects the indoor shower to an outdoor shower. The entire front of the bedroom, dressing room and bath room is glass. There is a 10 foot stone wall around the villa area enclosing an immaculate private garden and Coy pound offering complete privacy with no threat of prying eyes near the outdoor shower or pool. The entire property is private, quiet and beautiful. After 5 days in Ubud we found nothing else that compared.
As far as food goes the menu was well thought out, the chef was excellent and along with the drinks, priced much cheaper than I would have expected. There was also no extra charge for any meal to be served in our villa.
The pool villa is a little pricy but we will gladly pay it again. The staff is eager to please and always pleasant. If you’re looking for quiet, privacy, luxury and a great place to enjoy Ubud, this is it!
Traveling and working in Dubai as much as we do has spoiled us to modern 5 star hotels and made us rather difficult to impress. However, Komaneka at Bisma far exceeded our expectations and we will return. **Keep in mind that we had the Private Pool Villa. I’m sure it’s a far different experience than the standard rooms but well worth the extra money.
Be sure to use the resort’s tour guides and transportation. It’s inexpensive with polite and well informed tour guides.
Town is only a 10 or 15 minute walk or the resort provides a frequent shuttle service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ams-ibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremantle Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Have to agree with other reviewers, this is a great hotel, which with a few minor tweaks would be really something. I think what the Bisma needs is a Manager with a bit of oomph. If you ve stayed at the Samaya, you ll know what I mean. A congenial manager could get some atmosphere happening at the bar, and encourage people to stay in and socialise....
Otherwise a great stay, with lovely staff...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laflafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Fabulous hotel with fantastic view overlooking the rice fields. Breakfast has a vast variety - Indonesia, American, etc and afternoon tea was a nice touch. The Balinese dessert were better than the western desserts. Pool is beautiful and the resort is only a 10-15 min walk to town. Hotel provided complimentary transportation at night to restaurants. However, I would rely on LP recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBludger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing