We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Bedroom Pool Villa”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #13 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One Bedroom Pool Villa”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

In early Feb 2014, we booked three nights at the Komaneka Bisma, Ubud. Very nice property, quiet, and yet minutes from Ubud. We very much enjoyed our stay. Staff was excellent. Restaurant on property for all three meals of the day, if desired. Prices very reasonable for meals.
Suggest if you are arriving by air in DPS, you ask hotel to have a driver pick you up. It costs a little more than a cab, but there is no uncertainty about the driver's familiarity with Ubud and finding the hotel after a long flight. We loved the pool villa and would do it again should we be back that way, although for us, living in the US Virgin Islands, it is a very long trip to get there.

Room Tip: Costs a little more, but you will really like a one bed pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelloggvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    158
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
399
1,046
66
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

After 25 years of travelling for business and pleasure we have found the perfect hotel. My girl friend cried when we had to leave. The entire front desk staff came out to say good bye and waved as we drove away.

In every respect, this is the most sincere and professional staff I have ever encountered. On every level the people of this hotel literally fall all over themselves to make you feel welcome.

On our first day I left my cash card in an ATM. The front desk took it upon themselves to contact the bank and get my card back. Every night they had our favorite drink ready for us when we returned from dinner. The turn down service is the best I have ever seen. Fresh rose petals on our bed every night. Warm pajamas delivered nightly. A news summary paper everyday. And, maybe most amazing, these are the nicest and most sincere people on earth.

The recommended guide for our tours was beyond great. You must use this guy; Kantu. Try his email; Kantu_wawan@yahoo.com. Polite, helpful and so much fun.

I could go on for ever about all the things this hotel did to make our stay wonderful but, suffice to say, you must experience this one.

I'm told all the Komanekas are fabulous but, this one is very special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmacdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in mid December and it was the best place we could stay while exploring the real beauty of Bali. It is far from the main tourist areas of Seminyak, Kuta or Legian, but you will not regret if you give this hotel a try. Although, we were curious and once went to Seminyak but stayed there for half an hour. After being in Ubud for a while we wanted to see the famous tourist areas of Bali. To be honest there is nothing to see. Unberably hot, full of tourist, overpriced, security checkpoints while entering any location on the beach which only remind you what had happened here. Dirty beaches with intrusive locals trying to sell you some overpriced crap. Bali has amazing lanscape and cultural heritage but beaches are of average quality. However, Bali has so much to offer that if you really want to have mamorable stay avoid the main tourist areas. Local guy told me that if you want to see a nice place by the beach it is worth going to Nusa Dua. I did not go there, therefore I can not comment on that place. Ubud is amazing itself. Lots of galleries, fantastic restaurants, craft shops, and the most importantly while you are in Ubud you feel the soul of Bali, Its tradition, culture and fantastic people. The Island is so green. If you travel north of Ubud you will be electrified with what Bali has to offer. Amazing landscapes, temples, shrines are only a few on the endless list of attractions. The hotel is sparkling, brand new with all the suites perfectly decorated, consisting of large bathroom, and the room with balcony and this amazing view. Service second to none. The road to hotel very bumpy, but they will be fixing it soon. However, it should not to be an issue. We even walked couple of times to Ubud and it was really nice as you are surrounded by the rice terraces and as you walk you can see how people live there. Food wise, Ubud has so many places to eat, you do not have to eat in the hotel resturant because it is expensive and there are many places to eat in Ubud. For diner try Lamak the food is amazing and reasonably priced. For lunch head to Cafe on Hanoman street. It is a great place to relax while having one of their amazing fresh juices and something light to eat. It is popular place with yoga people as the food there is organic and the whole atmosphere is very laid back. If you are concerned about your safety in Bali. Avoid the main tourist areas of Kuta, Seminyak, Legian and you will be fine. Explore the real beauty of Bali, head to Ubud and then explore the north of the Island. It is truly brethtaking. One more thing if you stay more than six nights at Komaneka at Bisma then you have complimentary Sky dinner for two and two Balinese massages for free. As far as I remember they will give you one more night to stay for free as well. Do not consider other hotels go for Komaneka at Bisma. It is simply the best.

Room Tip: ith a view to the rice field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had a very wonderful stay with my girlfriend for 3 days. it's farther away from the center but you get so much more. Love the rice paddies and the swimming pool and the massages and the food is wonderful and very resoanbly priced. The customer services are execelent. Don't forget to sign up for yoga class while you are there!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DORAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

When someone stays at a hotel over and over again it's usually due to one of two reasons: either the hotel is the only place to stay in town (which with Ubud is hardly the case) or because the hotel keeps leaving a positive and lasting impression on the traveler that they just want to keep coming back for more. Such is the case with us and the reason we have returned to Komaneka at Bisma year after year. This was our third visit to Ubud and our third visit to the property.

By now the resort staff knows us by name so it's like coming back home when we visit. I've come here the last three years for my birthday and there are a couple of reasons why we keep returning to Bisma despite the myriad of excellent resort choices in the area:

1) Value - I find for what you get, the quality of service, location and amenities, it is exceptionally good value.
2) The Setting - it probably has my most favorite lobby of any hotel in the world: the open air setting on the top of the building that overlooks the river valley, rice fields on property, pool and surrounding landscape just leave you with a sense of peace and tranquility. It gets even better in the evening when they light it up and have the Balinese music playing in the lobby. Talk about relaxing.
3) The Service - Top notch with staff that are obviously enjoying what they do. I get a delicious birthday cake every year too, and it is typically the same staff that comes to my room to present the cake to me and sing me happy birthday. You'd be hard pressed to top that.
4) The pool - Never have had an issue getting seats by the pool or running into a situation where the pool is overly crowded. The pool is just super cool, and a great way to relax. As there are something like less than 40 rooms at the resort, crowds are something you don't really have to deal with here, even when the place is running full house.
5) The Spa - you can get a massage in a hut down by the river where there is nothing more relaxing than the late afternoon sun hitting the trees and the sound of the river to lull you to sleep whilst a therapist gets all the knots and stress out of your muscles.
6) The room - Komaneka at Bisma is what I like to call "simple luxury"; more specifically "simple Balinese luxury." Rooms are well appointed but not "opulent" by any means and everything from the furniture to the decor to the color tones fits in perfectly with the surroundings and Balinese style. Oh and the jar of bite size chocolate chip cookies they put in the room are pretty good too.
7) The food - Food here is quite good and reasonably priced too. They are very flexible when you can eat breakfast. You don't have to take breakfast in the restaurant and they will deliver the food to your room so you can sit on your balcony and eat breakfast looking at a stunning view and if you are lucky that view may include the volcanoes and mountains in the distance depending on the weather. The Indonesian food at the resort is quite good as well and I would recommend trying some of the dishes for breakfast.

The only gripe I really have here is the beds and more specifically the bedding. We had a "King" bed but it was really two twins pushed together with a King mattress pad across both of them. The sleep quality wasn't necessarily bad, but we both found the top sheet way too thin and the sheets kept coming undone. If they upgrade the bedding then they'll really be rocking and rolling.

As many of the reviews here have alluded to, this place is just awesome and you will not be disappointed staying here. Take it from a globetrotter like me, this will likely be one of the best places you'll ever stay and you may want to keep going back year after year like me.

Room Tip: I always request a room on the top floor (same floor as lobby) for easy access and also for better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SQ452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Staying at this hotel was an unforgettable experience. From the gorgeous rainforest that surrounds it to the incredible staff, I've never felt so pampered. Every tiny detail, from the lanterns above the bathtub to the containers that held the toiletries, was well-designed. And a bathtub in Bali--what an unexpected luxury!

Staff turned down our rooms every night, decorating the beds with flowers, a different bedtime story each night, pyjamas, and slippers laid out on mats on the floor. The complimentary breakfast and daily teas were unbelievable, and we never had a mediocre meal there. When returning from a long day of exploring Ubud, the staff would smile and say, "welcome home". If only. I would move in permanently if I had the means!

Everything you might need--straw shopping bags, hats, flashlights, robes, etc, is provided in your room for use during your stay. Complimentary tropical fruit and homemade cookies are also restocked each day. Have breakfast in your room: the staff will arrange it on your balcony so you can eat surrounded by the rainforest and rice paddies. A real treat!

Room Tip: We had a standard room, and it was incredible. Can't even imagine what their more luxurious room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuayThaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

After a very stressful workload it was lovely to come back to Komaneka so personal is the service it really does feel like staying with family. The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible they even brought in Tamarillo just so we could have our favourite juice. If you happen to have time to stroll the gardens please stop and say hello to Aji he is always very happy to chat and is a very nice man he has been at Komaneka for 15 years a testament to the management team that look after their staff. We hope to see all the staff again, I wish I could name you all but everyone is fantastic.

Room Tip: If you can afford the pool villa it is a must even for only one or two nights treat yourself with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,858 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing