We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem”
Review of Sri Ratih Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sri Ratih Cottages
Ranked #39 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at Sri Ratih Cottages for 4 nights recently and had a wonderful time. The rooms were extremely comfortable and we felt at a very high standard. We stayed in the Duplex room/s and with 2 young children found a room of our own when needed a relaxing luxury. We loved the fabulous outdoor bathrooms and we felt like we were staying at a 5 star resort. The staff were just lovely, friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our daily chats with the restaurant staff & felt very welcomed. The food was great, the grounds were lovely and whilst away from the hustle and bustle - still within walking distance of the main streets of Ubud (done daily with a 7 year old and 3 year old). We have already recommended this place to our friends. We would definately stay here again & found it a highlight of our trip to Bali.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    290
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
207
546
67
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been visiting Bali for several years and I always stayed at Sri Ratih Cottages. I like the well-kept garden, same goes for the rooms, especially the smaller bungalows, clean and functional. The service is excellent, very friendly and helpful. The new restaurant is very nice and the food is superb. It seems guests prefer to hussle and buzzle of downtown Ubud for dining, which is really a pitty.

The working on the new building made little noise, will be finished soon, anyway.

I do not think you will get better value for money in Ubud than here.

Bernd Luebbert

Room Tip: I prefer the small bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Well everything looks amazing and I think I'm in the minority with this review, just bad luck I guess. The hotel reception and restaurant is lovely and set out beautifully. When we first walked into the grounds we were excited especially after seeing all the lovely photos on the website, as we walked towards a lovely looking new building of rooms we were then in for a shock as we turned right and started to walk away from them. Right next to the building site which is noisy at the moment, our agent hadn't told us about that but they insisted they did, they didn't. That aside we thought ok that doesn't matter, we were shown away from all the nice buildings and taken to what was obviously the old section, superior rooms apparently. Well for the price we paid I was shocked, it was a dump, look at the photos I've posted. It was old, dirty full of bugs etc which you have to allow when in Indo but not like this and not for that price. We were so gutted but couldn't cancel and get a refund. The toilet was disgusting and it smelt bad, the room had damp and dirty walls. The welcome design of a towel made into a swan was off white because the towels were so old. I can go on. There are what looks to be amazing rooms here and lovely grounds but pay for the upgrade as these rooms are not worth the money, you can get better for half the price in ubud and a room like that would cost you $10 in kuta. I was shocked and very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ecopaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was traveling with my sister. We had a suite. The bathroom has open brickwork. There is no hanging space in the bedroom. It is all in the bathroom. During the raining season the clothes are damp. Also in the mornings it was not smelling too nice in the bathroom. Could not use the tissues due to the smell of them.
Suggest hanging space in the bedroom.
Suggest in-room safe.
AC so noisy we could not keep it on all night as we could not sleep.
After staying 11 nights, a change to the breakfast menu would be good. It is the same every day.
Finally - who would have the cash for 11 nights accom in their wallet? No of course most people will pay with their Visa or Mastercard. Three percent charge is rather too high!!
Apart from this, the food was good and the staff were all very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThaiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mixed impressiones, so first

The good part:

Beautiful surroundings with a well kept garden,
professional stuff (although not so friendly as in the rest of places we stayed),
incredibly good and delicious food at the restaurant (wich was a very good place to relax and have something to eat or drink)

The bad part:

Veeeery noisy, especially because of the work they were doing for renovating old rooms and building some more. Although we were assured the works beguins at 8 am, we were woken up by terrible noises just upstairs at 6:30 am. I had to call reception and fortunately, they stopped. Then a lot of noises coming from: the old devices we had in the room (the fridge and the air con), cleaning team starting to clean the garden very early in the morning, small animals, maybe gekos or rats running on the inner roof, neighbours (paper thin walls) etc...This is not a place for tired people :)

No intimacy, but that's because, even though we ask for an upstairs one, we were given a ground floor one, even for the suite we paied for one night. Not lucky enough to get an upgrade, as others did, but instead were offered a downgrade, meaning to give up the night in the suite and stay in the deluxe. But that's a mater of luck, I don't complain.

Bring your own bathroom goodies, here they only have a bad smelling refilled shower gel and shampoo. No shower cap provided, even though the shower is up and fixed, so you'll get completely wet. To get a hairdry you have to pay a suite, not even the deluxe have it. The same for the ketlle...A bit "mesquin", I think

They will charge 3% more if you pay by credit card, which is not mentioned when you book the room. It's unfair and we will complain to Booking.com as well.

So, overall, I guess it's a matter of luck if you get a good room. We had 15 and 14 (the suite), not the best. It's a nice place, but I guess they are trying to get as much money possible offering as little as possible.
I would rather go for the restaurant, not for the hotel. Huge difference...

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room, for more privacy and quieteness
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My Mum and I finished our Bali holiday at Sri Ratih in November '12. We stayed in a suite room which was just gorgeous. The room was so clean, cool and very spacious! The bathroom was stunning and as big as some hotel rooms I've stayed in. The grounds/gardens are very pretty, well maintained and so quiet. The pool is small but sufficient considering the hotel is very small. There was construction going on right next to the pool, which the hotel compensated us with free afternoon tea everyday (delicious!) but honestly it wasn't too noisy or distracting anyways. The restuarant at the hotel was beautifully designed and the food was so yum. Every single meal we ordered was perfect and really well priced too. The staff are gorgeous and very friendly. We attempted to walk into the centre once (my mum nearly had a heart attack with all the motorbikes hooning past her!) so we took a taxi after that for 30,000Rp. I would definitely stay at Sri Ratih again, its a peaceful paradise in a peaceful part of Ubud.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Seven night stay in this delightful well maintained hotel. We stayed in the superior room which are very big and indeed the inside & outside bathroom is a lovely experience.

This is quiet but within walking distance to centre or 30 in a taxi. The restaurant food is delicious with a good variety at very good prices. Good selection at breakfast & the complimentary afternoon tea with a sweet pastry is a nice touch.

The rooms & grounds are well maintained with a good size pool. The staff are all very helpful & polite. The only negative for us was the Wifi in the room, only get a bit better around the pool.

Would definitely recommend this hotel & the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logibeai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.2 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 196 in Ubud
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#23 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.1 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 196 in Ubud
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Ratih Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Ratih Cottages

Property: Sri Ratih Cottages
Address: Jl. Campuhan 1, Penestanan Kelod | Ubud, Bali - Indonesia, Ubud 80582, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#35 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#37 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sri Ratih Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the rice paddy fields of Penestanan, Sri Ratih cottages features a charming secluded Balinese hotel with large garden offering a heaven of peace and tranquility. Yet only few minutes drive to many restaurants, galleries and shops in Ubud town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sri Ratih Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Ratih Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sri Ratih Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing