We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Bali for what it is”
Review of Villa Agung Khalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Agung Khalia
Ranked #36 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience Bali for what it is”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a wonderful experience to be in the rice paddies of Bali, yet so absolutely at home. We were a group of two small families staying at Villa 1, with a wonderful private pool and garden, with amazing views of the Bali paddy fields. We stayed three nights and then just had to return for another two the following week. Besides the food and service, the massage was the best we had in our stay. Better than the award winning Westin Spa and for a fraction of the cost. We had hired a car but we found that being driven by Nyoman, one of the the villa drivers was a very comfortable and effective way of going around. Highly recommend a morning walk in the rice paddies with Agung with whom we had the most informative conversation during our 13 day stay in Bali. The free drop and pick up from Ubud was a pleasant service and we realized that the next time around, we will just have them pick us up from the airport and drive us around Ubud. What a wonderful stay. Thanks a ton!!

Room Tip: Villa one if you are a small group, or villa 2 and 3 if a large one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPSPanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
137
81
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed in Villa Maia (the 2 bedroom villa) and it was amazing. A welcome and restful break from the madness of a week in Seminyak. Beautiful in every way - huge rooms, spotlessly clean, amazing pool and so peaceful. Agung, Nyomen (both!), Guru and Dewi were all fantastic and helpful whenever we asked for anything. We had 2 children with us (aged 6 and 9) and the staff loved talking to them. On my youngest's birthday they brought a huge birthday cake out at breakfast time and sang happy birthday to him! We wished we could have stayed longer! It was never any trouble to take us into town or pick us up. We would love to come back and I would highly recommend these villas. We are now in Tanjung Benoa and miss Ubud already.....!

Room Tip: Villa Maia is separate and private - your own pool and total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warmwinterVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My now husband and I stayed at Villa AK for 7 days and had an amazing time.

Cons:
- Location: Atleast a 10-15 min drive to Ubud central through very rocky and small streets but drivers are always happy to take you anywhere you need to go and you are provided with a mobile to call for pickups at any time which is amazing.
- Water pressure:Studio suite water pressure is basically non existent
- Menu ordering: The villa does not have a restaurant that operate at all times unless you need it which makes sense as there aren't many people staying there but it is abit of a hassle having to pre-order your meals and take into consideration that they must be ordered 2-3 hrs before you intend on eating them. Most of the staff insist on asking you many times if you will order from the villa and although they're just trying to have things prepared it can be quite frustrating.

Pros:
-Amazing lush beautifully manicured gardens and pool areas!
- The most friendly and helpful staff inc. Guru who will take care of all your needs such as ordering takeaway to be delivered. Made who was always willing to have a great chat while driving us around and
- Rooms are beautifully styled, very modern with alot of balinese charm
- Villa Maia is beyond amazing. It is huge and sooo private. The bathrooms are amazing in all ways. Great showers and big baths! The pool is beautiful and the day bed outside is very relaxing. Beds are huge and comfortable!
- Set amongst the most luscious rice frields in all of Bali! Perfect for photographers.
- Puti the resident dog is amazingly sweet once you get to know him. He loves shmackos and having a play!
- Complimentary breakfast is small but fresh and beautiful. Try the breaky burrito!
- Nothing is too much to ask at this villa. So accommodating!
- Laura was so helpful with all my annoying emails. Always super friendly and the staff spoke very highly of her and her family.



It's an amazing Villa. The setting is beyond anything you can imagine and the staff are so beautiful! Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThriftyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in the upstairs studio suite, and i found it a bit of a mixed bag.

You can't argue that the staff aren't friendly, but it does become a bit intrusive at times. When we ordered breakfast in our villa they would bring it in bit by bit, and as they had to walk through our room every time they bought something new in it didn't give much privacy. I did try and take things from them at the door to mitigate this, but they wanted to bring it through. So again, trying to be friendly and helpful but I found it a bit much. This would not be so much of an issue if you were in one of the bigger villas, it was more of a bother because the studio suite is quite small and requires you to walk past the bed to get to the patio. We could have eaten in the restaurant but wanted to take advantage of the highlight of the villa, which was the view over the rice fields from our patio.

The air-conditioning does not work very well - the villa has a traditional thatched roof which looks great, but I think that maybe that makes the room hard to cool down. There is a ceiling fan above the bed, but the mosquito net over the bed has a sheet that goes over the top of the bed (about a meter and a half above the mattress) which effectively means the fan doesn't cool you down. The air-conditioning unit is also located above and slightly to the side of the bedhead, which means the sheet over the top of the bed blocks a lot of that as well. The staff bought us an extra fan when we mentioned we were hot at night which was nice of them, but it didn't provide much relief.

The water pressure is almost non existent, the shower just kind of dribbles on you, particularly if you have the hot water on. The water cut out completely twice whilst we were there - the first time for a couple of hours and the second for about half an hour. Inconvenient when you're getting ready to go out.

The bed was quite hard, and I found it fairly uncomfortable.

The pool was lovely but it is more semi secluded than private - the staff and other guests can still see you as they walk past.

The villa is 15 minutes out of town, but they have a good system where they give you a mobile phone and you can call to be picked up whenever you want. There was always a driver available when we wanted one.

The massage that the staff organised for us was fairly sub-standard for Bali - the two of us both had our bodies and hair absolutely drenched in oil and the lady I had asked several times if I wanted further massages even after I told her I was busy, and tried to sell me the sarong I had been lying on at the end.

Overall I don't think the villa was worth the price we paid, considering other places we stayed in on our trip. The view was lovely, and I think that the bigger villas are probably better value for money and you may feel a bit more privacy in them. Obviously these villas are well rated and other people have enjoyed them but these are my thoughts. I wouldn't tell people not to stay here, but to think about what they are looking for before they book. As mentioned, the bigger villas looked a lot nicer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bronwyn1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Villa AK was a delightfully peaceful and serene antidote to the frenzy of Seminyak.

Set amidst the rice paddies with lovely lush outlooks from all windows, this truly was a haven, made even more wonderful by the warm and friendly hospitality provided by Agung, Guru and the lovely staff.

Two families occupied the Villa 2 and 3 - sharing the pool with plenty of space to spread out. We had a wonderful meal in our villa and the breakfasts were great.

The 'on call' drivers to take us in and out of Ubud enabled us to enjoy the bustle and vibrance of central Ubud as we wanted.

Guru arranged a bicycle tour with a local village company - and it was FABULOUS. The bike trip was great, the cultural insights provided were really interesting (an educational eye opener for the kids), and the lunch in their local family compound was sensational - highly recommended.

Three nights wasn't enough. We need to go back!

Thanks to all at VAK for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have spend 3 nights in the 3 bedroom villa in VAK. The booking process is very smooth and email response with Laura is always quick . We have arrange pickup transport from the airport and upon arriving at VAK, the staff are there with welcome drinks and they very quickly whisk our luggage into the villa.

The villa itself is beautiful with huge living space on the first and second floor and couple of day beds which we have fun exploring the villa itself. The pool is big and the wading pool for kids is a plus. The villa compound is tastefully decorated and the garden, pool is very clean and well maintained.

VAK is surrounded by green rice field and it is a pleasant sight looking out from the balcony every morning. We had all our breakfast in the restaurant though it can be serve in the villa when requested. All the breakfast is delicious, especially the Indonesian breakfast and burito. Getting in and out to Ubud is convenient as transport is always ready and the ride is only 15 minutes which I did not even notice as I was either chatting to the driver or admiring the amazing scenery. We are also provided a cell phone to call the villa to pick us up from restaurants etc in Ubud back to VAK.

We do get the occasional mosquito bite and we also apply insect repellent but nothing alarming as this is the countryside.

The staff is great, espcially Danyu, Nyoman, Guru and Mr Agung who are always so willing to help and answer all our queries and asking if we need any help. All the staff try their very best to fulfill your request. We also learn from Mr Agung the reason for leaving the road leading to the villa the non-cemented which I think its kinda cool to keep it rustic like an adventure..

Now the minus, despite all the good points, I do find something missing in VAK. The hospitality is great but it is missing that finishing touch to complete that experience. Maybe it is due to VAK being a small run business, the staff are multi tasking and so they are trying hard to finish up their current job quickly so they can move on to the next. This is maybe why it is missing the finishing touch.

There was a black out in the compound during our stay which is understandable in the countryside. The staff were scrambling with their torch lights to determine the issue. However, we were not checked upon and not offered alternative light source until we ask for it. I would have expected the staff to have some initiative and offer it at the very beginning as it was pitch black in the villa.

Our driver, Made who picked us up from the airport was offered to take lunch with us at the Bebek Tepi Sawah restaurant in Tuban and he ordered himself a nice lunch with a nice fruit juice. In many places I travel, most drivers decline to have meals with their guest and even they do, they will leave it up to the guest to order for them. I originally thought that the culture in Bali is different but in the following days with other drivers, all of them have decline to have meals with us. In addition, Made was asking us if we want to stop by to have Luwak coffee on the way to the villa couple of times which we decline. This leads me to think that he might have some commission from the Luwak coffee place he was trying to bring us to or maybe I am too sensitive to such repeated offers..

So, it is the fine details that prevented it from being perfect experience and require a little bit more polishing.

All in all, it is still a very pleasant stay for our family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khrisng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Ubud for 3 nights with mates, the moment we stepped into the villa, we were all like "wow!!!!!" The accommodation is superb, the staff members there are very very friendly and the service is top (even the owner was so nice, he took time having a chat and thanked us before we left). Absolutely loved it!!! Will definitely come back here again next time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#10 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#35 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#12 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ubud Padi Villas
Ubud Padi Villas
#23 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lily Lane Villas
Lily Lane Villas
#19 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#8 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Agung Khalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Agung Khalia

Property: Villa Agung Khalia
Address: Banjar Sala | Pejengkawan, Ubud, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Agung Khalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Agung Khalia consists of a new 3-bedroom and 6-bedroom villa, each with private pool and panoramic rice field views located 4km (10 minutes) northeast of central Ubud. The villas blend elements of traditional Balinese style and tropical outdoor living. An engineered vent design creates a natural cool environment day and night, with air-con as a back-up for those that prefer. Experience traditional Balinese culture from the comfort of your luxury villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Villa Agung Khalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Agung Khalia Hotel Ubud
Villa Agung Khalia Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing