We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Villa Agung Khalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Agung Khalia
Ranked #52 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Agung Khalia (VAK) in the Honeymoon Suite for 3 nights in February 2013. From the minute we were went at the airport by their driver Made, we knew this was going to be a wonderful experience. Made chatted with us and answered any questions along the way. He took as to a warung for dinner which was fantastic.

We were met by Guru on our arrival at VAK and taken to our villa and everything was thoroughly explained. Putu arrived with welcome drinks and cold towels. He offered to take us on a ricefields walk the next morning which we greatfully accepted.

Putu arrived with fresh coffee the next morning for us enjoy on our verandra overlooking stunning rice fields. The leisurely walk was so enjoyable and I highly recommend it. Breakfast was very good as was our lunches that we enjoyed by our private pool each day.

The gardens are beautifully maintained and all the staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever a problem. The use of the mobile phone to call the villa whenever you needed to be collected from Ubud was a wonderful inclusion. The surrounding environment is so breathtaking and peaceful.

We would 100% recommend VAK and will definately return in the future with our 3 teenagers, which means we would need to stay in one of the larger villas, which look so comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paggysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 341 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at Villa Agung Khalia for a wonderful week-long peaceful retreat during the second week of January, 2013. We needed "to get away from it all" and our Villa was exactly the accomodations we sought after. Our Villa was private and quiet with a remote feeling yet only 5-10 minutes from the center of Ubud and great shopping. Our Villa's rooms were comfortable and very clean, the grounds and gardens are very well kept, and the food at the onsite restaurant was the best we had while visiting Bali. The staff made the experience all the more enjoyable by catering to our every needs - they almost seemed to predict what we needed and when. The Villa's adjoining rice fields are spectacular and practically beg to be painted or drawn. Our guided walk through the rice fields with Agung was a highlight, and he and the staff were happy to answer any questions we had about local customs etc.
We come to Bali every couple of years and will definitely stay at Villa Agung Khalia again when we return. We are so happy to have found this peaceful retreat!!
Many thanks to Agung and all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Agung Khalia. We stayed in the downstairs suite. The experience was great right from the booking process with the co-owner, Laura, volunteering to try and offer us the suite (which had already been booked) by requesting the existing long-staying occupant to swap with the upstairs suite for the time we were there. Staff are very efficient and friendly. Guru, at the reception was fantastic with making dinner reservations and immediately calling a doctor when my husband took ill. It is a bit of a distance from Ubud town but the free shuttle service on demand and free mobile phone that they provide are very useful so we did not feel any inconvenience. In fact, it was very peaceful and away from all the hustle and bustle. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug_July1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We only had one problem with the the villa... We couldn't stay long enough!! A limited holiday schedule meant only a short stay at this remarkable villa.

Staff were friendly, polite and efficient, the villa was superb with a private pool and the surrounding landscape remarkable. A farewell gift cemented our opinion that we must return here for much longer next trip.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Villa Agung khalia for 7 nights including Christmas. We had villas 2 & 3. There were 10 adults and 4 children.
You'd have to use an electron microscope to find fault with this place. Laura was fantastic by email during our enquiry and booking process. She even magically produced a child seat for the pick up and return to the airport and didn't charge for it.
The villas exceeded our expectations. They are huge, comfortable and well equipped.
The pool was spotless and well maintained.
The meals we had on the property (either in the restaurant or on our porch) were ample, delicious and very reasonable.
We had arrange a whole suckling pig for Christmas Day. It was delivered to our villas on time, beautifully prepared and delicious and very reasonable. (Of course)
The staff couldn't do enough for us without ever being obtrusive or gushingly servile as you find in the larger hotels and resorts.
This is not the place if you're looking for bars, clubs and pushy street vendors when you put your nose out the door but if you want beautiful surroundings, with really good accommodation and willing staff at an affordable price, you won't find better in Ubud.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I just came back today from one of the most amazing holiday experiences. I was at the property with 17 folks from our family with many of them being senior citizens. Starting from the communication with Laura, to the reception at hotel, planning for our trip, one of the best staffs by way of guru, Devi, puthu, neoman ( the ever smiling driver) and many other countless drivers and of course agung, I have to say the team performed at the best...ever smiling, never had a no to our requests, and attention to detail was at the pinnacle best. For e.g, serving us breakfast at 530 in morning, helping us with the guides, shuttling us to ubud at unearthly hours, finding us vegetarian food, proactive about about umbrellas when we were stuck in rains inside a venue etc ..I could go on and on...

Just a note to say heartfelt thanks to your great staff...it was definitely much more than value for money..thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sridharvenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is our first time to Ubud, Bali with my parents, wife and 2 year old daughter for a short vacation. It was a beautiful experience. Although we arrived at night in pitch darkness after more than 1.5h of complimentary bus ride via a desolate bumpy road, we were stumped by the private pool, beautiful villa, spacious rooms and comfortable furniture.

We didn't do much homework before we arrived. However, Agung and his colleagues made sure we were surrounded by warm and friendly service, convenient shuttle service to Ubud which is just a mobile call away and helpful driver who whips up itinerary on the spot after we tell them our preferences and constraints.

This proved to be a nice holiday away from the hustle of the usual touristy surf and turf Bali. Just to chill and relax amidst the cacophony of crickets at night, tunes of the roosters and chirping birds in the day. Feel free to dip into your private pool to y r convenience or to relax after a day trip.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Colin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Umaya Ubud Villa
Umaya Ubud Villa
#32 of 622 in Ubud
101 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#15 of 622 in Ubud
307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#7 of 622 in Ubud
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lily Lane Villas
Lily Lane Villas
#18 of 622 in Ubud
275 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bali Bohemia Huts
Bali Bohemia Huts
#13 of 622 in Ubud
219 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anusara Luxury villas
Anusara Luxury villas
#45 of 622 in Ubud
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Agung Khalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Agung Khalia

Address: Banjar Sala | Pejengkawan, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $63 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Agung Khalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Agung Khalia consists of a new 3-bedroom and 6-bedroom villa, each with private pool and panoramic rice field views located 4km (10 minutes) northeast of central Ubud. The villas blend elements of traditional Balinese style and tropical outdoor living. An engineered vent design creates a natural cool environment day and night, with air-con as a back-up for those that prefer. Experience traditional Balinese culture from the comfort of your luxury villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Villa Agung Khalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Agung Khalia Hotel Ubud
Villa Agung Khalia Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing