We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary accommodations; good location”
Review of Villa Chempaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Chempaka
Ranked #400 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Dated, old accommodations. Not sure what a prison mattress feels like, but this has got to be from the same manufacturer. Breakfast - just average. Villa does not provide bottled water, but 'boiled from an artesian well'. In other words, we had to go buy our own bottled water. Some good: Staff was friendly and professional. Location was excellent for touring Ubud. The staff and location are the only things keeping this property up from a rating of 2.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mike54BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights recently. The villas are single storied so you don't have any noise from upstairs, they have a nice balcony to sit out on. The villas look out onto a few rice fields. You can find villas with nicer views but you will have to go out from ubud further. The villas are spacious and have nice Balinese touches. The ceilings are ornate and traditional, lovely to look up to. A big bed and shower. Tea and coffee, a kettle and small fridge. Everything you really need. The villa is cleaned well everyday and a fresh hibiscus placed on your bed. The staff are friendly but leave you alone and aren't intrusive and trying to sell you excursions, but if you need a driver they'll get someone for you. The location is very good, a short walk into town for all that has to offer, and peace and quiet wh:en you get back home. You can walk through Nick's Pension to Monkey Forest Rd in 5 min. Some of the other places that involve a longer walk through Monkey forest are a bit inconvenient. The grounds are small, the pool small as well, so don't expect grand spacious gardens. The balconies are open to view from other balconies so not complete privacy.
This is a good spot to stay a little out of the hectic town area but not too far out and is quite good value for the price. By the way, breakfast served on your balcony every morning as well, life is hard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeeponKrusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is the best hotel I’ve stayed in for many years. The location is 10 mins walk to Monkey Forest and Ubud’s main street, but it feels like it’s off the beaten track. If arriving by taxi, make sure the driver gets the right place, as the sign says Villa Cempaka and the house number is not the same as in some websites. Thankfully the staff here are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel consists of small bungalows (or chalets), each with a front porch and thatched roof. The rooms are beautifully decorated with high ceilings, wooden shutters and little statues. Breakfast is usually included and is served outside on your porch. My wife loved this place and did not want to leave. The hotel is close to rice fields. At night you can hear the sound of geckos and ducks. It’s wonderfully relaxing. Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to reception seem to be best in terms of cleanliness and decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulJGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Chempaka about 7 years ago, then in 2010 stayed somewhere else in Ubud which we were not that fussed about and wished we had gone back to Villa Chempaka. We decided to hop on our scooter to see what it still looked like after all those years and we really did kick ourselves for not going back! Then last year in 2011, I went with my 24 year old daughter - we even stayed in the same room at Villa Chempaka overlooking rice paddies and a small goldfish pond outside our verandah. I loved it again. My daughter thought we should not have bothered staying a whole week in Seminyak and spent the whole 2 weeks here, at Villa Chempaka Ubud. That is saying something from a younger person. The saying "Less is more..." is true. Chempaka is a very small complex (about 10 villas) a small pool, so not a whole bunch of children running and diving and yelling (sorry, I know kids have to have fun too, but this is a place where you won't get that kind of situation so therefore great for a quiet and serene break). We enjoyed walking into the village as lots to see on the way, shops, hairdressers, massage etc. Probably about 15 minutes but didn't feel like that big a deal to walk, actually prefer the very small enjoyable stroll. We hired a scooter for $5 per day and had fun exploring further out and going to Spa Hati for massages. There is a great cheaper spa on Jl Bisma across the road and a few steps from Chempaka we frequented lots, plus the hairdresser opposite the spa do good waxing. So basically outside Chempaka you have everything anyway if you don't feel like walking into "town" . There is also Cafe Artisans for good food or beer and wine if you just want to sit a while. Thank you also to Villa Chempaka for maintaining your beautiful property. The gardens are constantly maintained and there is always someone about quietly working away to make sure the paint is not peeling off somewhere. Its just small details like that which make a difference.

Room Tip: Villa 8 has a small goldfish pond and 2 villas away from the pool. There is one large villa at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FarAwayKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was a little bit confused with the reviews I had read but I have to say I had an excellent stay at Villa Chempaka. Marvellous and attentive staff, very quiet area and close to everything in Ubud. We were there for 19 nights and I can only say we had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoHoefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights in Ubud, place is a little distance away from the main attractions in Ubud, but nonetheless not to far away.
Walking distance might be a little bit far, but since we rented our own car then there's no issue for us.
Place is quiet and clean, staffs are attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast served was nice.
Great value for money.
they also provided free wifi, and the speed are acceptable fast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lawrence1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was a last minute booking and I have to say I was nervous about staying here because the reviews were so mixed. It was GREAT. Breakfast on the verandah ouside your individual house was sooooo good. Looking over the rice field at sunset after a quick refreshing dip in the pool.....perfect. Only negative was the pool is located directly in front of one house and you feel odd swimming there if anyone is around.

Room Tip: Villa 2 and 3 have less of a view. Villa 6 sits directly on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swissmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
21.6 mi away
Discovery Candidasa Cottages & Villas
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
2.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.0 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chempaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chempaka

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $45 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chempaka 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Villa Chempaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chempaka Hotel Ubud
Villa Chempaka Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing