We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far above average”
Review of Villa Chempaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Chempaka
Ranked #335 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Far above average”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is the best hotel I’ve stayed in for many years. The location is 10 mins walk to Monkey Forest and Ubud’s main street, but it feels like it’s off the beaten track. If arriving by taxi, make sure the driver gets the right place, as the sign says Villa Cempaka and the house number is not the same as in some websites. Thankfully the staff here are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel consists of small bungalows (or chalets), each with a front porch and thatched roof. The rooms are beautifully decorated with high ceilings, wooden shutters and little statues. Breakfast is usually included and is served outside on your porch. My wife loved this place and did not want to leave. The hotel is close to rice fields. At night you can hear the sound of geckos and ducks. It’s wonderfully relaxing. Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to reception seem to be best in terms of cleanliness and decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulJGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Chempaka about 7 years ago, then in 2010 stayed somewhere else in Ubud which we were not that fussed about and wished we had gone back to Villa Chempaka. We decided to hop on our scooter to see what it still looked like after all those years and we really did kick ourselves for not going back! Then last year in 2011, I went with my 24 year old daughter - we even stayed in the same room at Villa Chempaka overlooking rice paddies and a small goldfish pond outside our verandah. I loved it again. My daughter thought we should not have bothered staying a whole week in Seminyak and spent the whole 2 weeks here, at Villa Chempaka Ubud. That is saying something from a younger person. The saying "Less is more..." is true. Chempaka is a very small complex (about 10 villas) a small pool, so not a whole bunch of children running and diving and yelling (sorry, I know kids have to have fun too, but this is a place where you won't get that kind of situation so therefore great for a quiet and serene break). We enjoyed walking into the village as lots to see on the way, shops, hairdressers, massage etc. Probably about 15 minutes but didn't feel like that big a deal to walk, actually prefer the very small enjoyable stroll. We hired a scooter for $5 per day and had fun exploring further out and going to Spa Hati for massages. There is a great cheaper spa on Jl Bisma across the road and a few steps from Chempaka we frequented lots, plus the hairdresser opposite the spa do good waxing. So basically outside Chempaka you have everything anyway if you don't feel like walking into "town" . There is also Cafe Artisans for good food or beer and wine if you just want to sit a while. Thank you also to Villa Chempaka for maintaining your beautiful property. The gardens are constantly maintained and there is always someone about quietly working away to make sure the paint is not peeling off somewhere. Its just small details like that which make a difference.

Room Tip: Villa 8 has a small goldfish pond and 2 villas away from the pool. There is one large villa at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FarAwayKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao PauloBrasil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was a little bit confused with the reviews I had read but I have to say I had an excellent stay at Villa Chempaka. Marvellous and attentive staff, very quiet area and close to everything in Ubud. We were there for 19 nights and I can only say we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaoHoefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights in Ubud, place is a little distance away from the main attractions in Ubud, but nonetheless not to far away.
Walking distance might be a little bit far, but since we rented our own car then there's no issue for us.
Place is quiet and clean, staffs are attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast served was nice.
Great value for money.
they also provided free wifi, and the speed are acceptable fast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was a last minute booking and I have to say I was nervous about staying here because the reviews were so mixed. It was GREAT. Breakfast on the verandah ouside your individual house was sooooo good. Looking over the rice field at sunset after a quick refreshing dip in the pool.....perfect. Only negative was the pool is located directly in front of one house and you feel odd swimming there if anyone is around.

Room Tip: Villa 2 and 3 have less of a view. Villa 6 sits directly on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swissmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days at the start of our Bali holiday. It was a lovely place to chill and unwind away from the touristy hubbub of Ubud. We loved the simply styled villa and having breakfast served on our verandah. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although it is an older place it is well maintained and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would have enjoyed a bit more variety of breakfast choices rather than eggs every day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coochiedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

As per the other average review, this place is average and only worth $30/night
The place is 20+ years old, very very average and not to be confused with Villa Cempaka which are luxury villas on Echo Beach

Easily better accommodation on the same street at this one - my recommendation is to look elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.2 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma
Pertiwi Bisma
#103 of 198 in Ubud
342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
21.6 mi away
Discovery Candidasa Cottages & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Keraton Jimbaran Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chempaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chempaka

Property: Villa Chempaka
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chempaka 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Chempaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chempaka Hotel Ubud
Villa Chempaka Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing