We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise in a country side of Bali”
Review of Gayatri Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gayatri Villa
Ranked #188 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise in a country side of Bali”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

At almost 3 kilometes of Ubud, the Gayatri Villa offers a luxuruous residence for 2 or more people wanting to take advantage of a upper class taste, sound details, privacity, pool, special breakfast, quietness, free chauffeur to drive you to the city. And, as hoped in the spirit of Bali, the kindness of the manager and of all the personal.
Staying there several days is just a "gift" for every sensible and intelligent tourist wanting to get the best of this marvelous island and its population.
Kalina and Jean-Claude, from Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcbolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We came as 4 exhausted friends looking for rest and rejuvenation and we well and truly found it in 3 days. Our wonderful host Gighi could not do enough for us - from organising private yoga, massages, shopping outings and cooking school ..... All done with such graciousness. All of his staff were wonderful and the breakfast is amazing!!!

The Armata villa is heaven on earth. The pool is just stunning - we swam at morning, noon and night .... In sun and rain, overlooking the amazing view which should be on every tourist brochure - your typical Bali dream villa, and for us it fulfilled every wish.

Thankyou Gighi, Nyoman, Agung and the rest of the beautiful staff ....... we will be back :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazAndcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed at Gayatri for two weeks with fifteen friends on a meditation retreat. We looked at amany options and nothing was comparable in terms of privacy and generosity in accommodation. The three villas, each with their own swimming pool are gorgeous and the staff could not do enough to accommodate our every need. We felt cocooned and cared for. It is wonderful that this fantastic place is held in the gentle village of Sayan and you will feel welcomed as an honoured guest as you learn the rhythms of village life and can experience the creativity of art and local commerce around you. The views are magnificent, overlooking the river and facing the rice paddies.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhkoonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Our stay at the Gayatri Villa was an once in a lifetime experience. We stayed in the Villa Pratiwi with my parents, three young children ages 9 (twins) - 11. The villa itself is two story, with incredible views of the Sayan River Valley. There is a pool surrounded by beautiful local flowering trees/plants, which was well maintained every evening. The kids spent their free time in and out of the pool. We had a kitchen along with a small room with two beds and a bathroom. Everyone of us had a bed. The staff at the Gayatri where fantastic and they really made you feel as part of an extended family. Each request we had was fulfilled from eel fishing (Gigih, Villa Operations Manager, arranged for my son to head off to the rice fields for an attempt to Eel fish!) to erecting an special television antenna to receive the world cup matches. All of this would not have been possible without a "can-do" attitude from all the staff. Several concerns I had prior where immediately expelled upon arrival, namely we had a bottled water dispensary in our Villa and the pool was chlorinated and cleaned every night. We had wonderful breakfasts every morning and the shuttles given by Gigih into Ubud where frequent and free. Our family enjoyed being a bit out of the center of Ubud (which is very busy) though our frequent walks to Ubud through the rice fields was incredible. There is a wifi signal, strong enough to pick up e-mails and do a bit of web browsing. Of the 16 days we spent in Bali, the highlight was the hospitality we experienced and the friendships established at the Gayatri VIllas.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedlandsOranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2010

When it comes to holiday accommodation the publicity material often paints a far more idealistic and glamorous picture than the reality. However, we found that Gayatri Villas lives up to its publicity in every way.
My husband and I and two children (aged 3 1/2 and 2) spent 6 nights at Gayatri at the beginning of June, 2010. For us, it was perfect. We stayed in the beautiful Villa Pratiwi. It is considered the smaller of the three villas, however it was far beyond adequate for our family. Due to the young age of our children we occupied just one bedroom, which was huge. The entire villa though was for our private use.
Our days began with a lovely breakfast prepared by Nyoman. It usually included plates of beautiful fresh tropical fruit, banana lassi, nasi goreng, stir fried noodles, wonderful Balinese coffee and lemon grass tea. For an additional charge of just a couple of Australian dollars we could have chosen a Western style breakfast of bacon and eggs etc but we opted for, and thoroughly enjoyed, the local breakfast instead.
There are so many things to love about Gayatri from the architecturally designed buildings and tropical gardens to the beautiful locally made crockery and napkins in the well-appointed kitchen. I personally loved the frangapani flowers that were strewn daily over our bed as well as along the perimeter of the enormous bath and in numerous other nooks and crannies around the villa.
Then of course there is the wonderful staff lead by Gigih. I know it sounds cliched but they really did make us feel like part of the 'family' and needless to say we felt a sense of loss when having to say goodbye.
In a nutshell I think Gayatri is a quality property that offers all of the ammenities of a luxury hotel but is intimate and personal. Staying here allowed us to feel connected to the island's environment and it's people - whether it was by walking through the nearby rice paddies or our children meeting and playing with local children.
The centre of Ubud is just 10 minutes drive away and thanks to a 'shuttle' every 2 hours it's very easy to go in for some shopping or lunch and then retreat to the tranquility of Gayatri.
We loved our family holiday here and hopefully will return one day soon with extended family or friends. Perhaps next time we'll stay in Villa Amarta with its stunning views over the nearby rice paddies and mountains.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed having our own space after staying in several hotels. I didn't think we would use the kitchen much but our kids were sick and not keen to eat out so we went to the supermarket bought steak, tomatoes, corriander and bread and ate in each night. This ended up being a great break for us and we were ready for more restaurants by the time we moved on. The villas have a relaxing mood to them and are very roomy. It is a little out of town but the shuttle worked well for us and was always available at the scheduled time, Gigih is a lovely host and was very attentive, as were all the staff. The only thing I would say is make sure they don't turn the water off at night as my children were sick and needed water in the bathroom one night and there was none until 6am.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This villa is calm and peaceful. The service is great and the accommodations are amazing with great views.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.1 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#132 of 197 in Ubud
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#134 of 197 in Ubud
26 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#15 of 575 in Ubud
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kubu Bali Baik Villa & Resort
2.3 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#12 of 556 in Ubud
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saka Village Resort Ubud
Saka Village Resort Ubud
#141 of 197 in Ubud
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gayatri Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayatri Villa

Property: Gayatri Villa
Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Banjar Baung | Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gayatri Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of an escarpment, overlooking the rice terraces of the Ayung river valley are the Gayatri Villas. Three highly individual villas combines the services of five star resort with the space and luxury of a private house. Each villa has 3 spacious bedrooms with deep terraces and private garden with swimming pool, modern kitchen and open living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gayatri Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gayatri Villa Hotel Ubud
Gayatri Villa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing