We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection. Best view from our infinity pool in Ubud (Armata Villa)”
Review of Gayatri Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gayatri Villa
Ranked #223 of 653 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We came as 4 exhausted friends looking for rest and rejuvenation and we well and truly found it in 3 days. Our wonderful host Gighi could not do enough for us - from organising private yoga, massages, shopping outings and cooking school ..... All done with such graciousness. All of his staff were wonderful and the breakfast is amazing!!!

The Armata villa is heaven on earth. The pool is just stunning - we swam at morning, noon and night .... In sun and rain, overlooking the amazing view which should be on every tourist brochure - your typical Bali dream villa, and for us it fulfilled every wish.

Thankyou Gighi, Nyoman, Agung and the rest of the beautiful staff ....... we will be back :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazAndcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed at Gayatri for two weeks with fifteen friends on a meditation retreat. We looked at amany options and nothing was comparable in terms of privacy and generosity in accommodation. The three villas, each with their own swimming pool are gorgeous and the staff could not do enough to accommodate our every need. We felt cocooned and cared for. It is wonderful that this fantastic place is held in the gentle village of Sayan and you will feel welcomed as an honoured guest as you learn the rhythms of village life and can experience the creativity of art and local commerce around you. The views are magnificent, overlooking the river and facing the rice paddies.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhkoonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Our stay at the Gayatri Villa was an once in a lifetime experience. We stayed in the Villa Pratiwi with my parents, three young children ages 9 (twins) - 11. The villa itself is two story, with incredible views of the Sayan River Valley. There is a pool surrounded by beautiful local flowering trees/plants, which was well maintained every evening. The kids spent their free time in and out of the pool. We had a kitchen along with a small room with two beds and a bathroom. Everyone of us had a bed. The staff at the Gayatri where fantastic and they really made you feel as part of an extended family. Each request we had was fulfilled from eel fishing (Gigih, Villa Operations Manager, arranged for my son to head off to the rice fields for an attempt to Eel fish!) to erecting an special television antenna to receive the world cup matches. All of this would not have been possible without a "can-do" attitude from all the staff. Several concerns I had prior where immediately expelled upon arrival, namely we had a bottled water dispensary in our Villa and the pool was chlorinated and cleaned every night. We had wonderful breakfasts every morning and the shuttles given by Gigih into Ubud where frequent and free. Our family enjoyed being a bit out of the center of Ubud (which is very busy) though our frequent walks to Ubud through the rice fields was incredible. There is a wifi signal, strong enough to pick up e-mails and do a bit of web browsing. Of the 16 days we spent in Bali, the highlight was the hospitality we experienced and the friendships established at the Gayatri VIllas.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedlandsOranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

When it comes to holiday accommodation the publicity material often paints a far more idealistic and glamorous picture than the reality. However, we found that Gayatri Villas lives up to its publicity in every way.
My husband and I and two children (aged 3 1/2 and 2) spent 6 nights at Gayatri at the beginning of June, 2010. For us, it was perfect. We stayed in the beautiful Villa Pratiwi. It is considered the smaller of the three villas, however it was far beyond adequate for our family. Due to the young age of our children we occupied just one bedroom, which was huge. The entire villa though was for our private use.
Our days began with a lovely breakfast prepared by Nyoman. It usually included plates of beautiful fresh tropical fruit, banana lassi, nasi goreng, stir fried noodles, wonderful Balinese coffee and lemon grass tea. For an additional charge of just a couple of Australian dollars we could have chosen a Western style breakfast of bacon and eggs etc but we opted for, and thoroughly enjoyed, the local breakfast instead.
There are so many things to love about Gayatri from the architecturally designed buildings and tropical gardens to the beautiful locally made crockery and napkins in the well-appointed kitchen. I personally loved the frangapani flowers that were strewn daily over our bed as well as along the perimeter of the enormous bath and in numerous other nooks and crannies around the villa.
Then of course there is the wonderful staff lead by Gigih. I know it sounds cliched but they really did make us feel like part of the 'family' and needless to say we felt a sense of loss when having to say goodbye.
In a nutshell I think Gayatri is a quality property that offers all of the ammenities of a luxury hotel but is intimate and personal. Staying here allowed us to feel connected to the island's environment and it's people - whether it was by walking through the nearby rice paddies or our children meeting and playing with local children.
The centre of Ubud is just 10 minutes drive away and thanks to a 'shuttle' every 2 hours it's very easy to go in for some shopping or lunch and then retreat to the tranquility of Gayatri.
We loved our family holiday here and hopefully will return one day soon with extended family or friends. Perhaps next time we'll stay in Villa Amarta with its stunning views over the nearby rice paddies and mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed having our own space after staying in several hotels. I didn't think we would use the kitchen much but our kids were sick and not keen to eat out so we went to the supermarket bought steak, tomatoes, corriander and bread and ate in each night. This ended up being a great break for us and we were ready for more restaurants by the time we moved on. The villas have a relaxing mood to them and are very roomy. It is a little out of town but the shuttle worked well for us and was always available at the scheduled time, Gigih is a lovely host and was very attentive, as were all the staff. The only thing I would say is make sure they don't turn the water off at night as my children were sick and needed water in the bathroom one night and there was none until 6am.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VioletAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This villa is calm and peaceful. The service is great and the accommodations are amazing with great views.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mplstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

From 5-10 October 2009 we had an invitation from Ubud Writers and Readers Festival 2009 and chose Vila Pratiwi, a 3-bedrooms villa @ Gayatri villa complex-Sayan Ubud for our stay. We’re the group of 4 adults and 3 kids age 6-11 and found Gayatri was a perfect choice for us.

Compare to other villas surround Ubud, Gayatri was the best for location, rate and facilities-wise. The location was not too far from the Ubud center, the rate was within budget and the facilities were awesome. The rate was inclusive breakfast for 7 of us, transfer from the airport and daily transfer to the Ubud center.

Pratiwi was a nice villa with luscious bushes, succulent trees surrounding the area and along the nice line path. The pool was very big and all rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast was prepared and cooked in our kitchen. The view from the balcony was breath-taking; we could feel the breeze, saw the amazing valley, and the landscape of coconut trees and mountains. The staffs were friendly and helpful. We’re treated as our second home; even they picked fresh coconuts from the neighborhood garden for our tasty refreshment!

If you want to take a leisure walk to the village, please ask one of the staff to be your guide because stray dogs might be annoying and barking to you all the time. The staff can bring you down to the Ayung river or golden rice fields, even to the nearby Hindu ceremonies!

Things that could improve for Gayatri are perhaps the pillow qualities. We expected the four-star hotels standard and the bed in the mainroom should be one king-size bed instead of two single beds combined into one! Some spots on the bathroom mirror was also a minor. Aside from those, everything is satisfying.

Sure we’ll consider coming back again to Gayatri and trying the other villas.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matchahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#74 of 198 in Ubud
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gayatri Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayatri Villa

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Banjar Baung | Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gayatri Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of an escarpment, overlooking the rice terraces of the Ayung river valley are the Gayatri Villas. Three highly individual villas combines the services of five star resort with the space and luxury of a private house. Each villa has 3 spacious bedrooms with deep terraces and private garden with swimming pool, modern kitchen and open living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gayatri Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gayatri Villa Hotel Ubud
Gayatri Villa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing