We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$334
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $374/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$464
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$314
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$322
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$447
$380
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
$477
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$713
$665
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
132
103
26
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
103
26
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleafternoon teaoutdoor bathroomwarung mendezprivate poolopen air showergreat shuttle servicebalinese hotelquiet resortminute walkspa massagestayed for nightsa lovely stayfresh juiceubud citypoolsdriver
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 276 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Magical,spiritual.....we booked 4nights and ended up staying for 7nights!!....sooooo relaxing!!! the warmest welcome...with a free upgrade to a villa with private pool..the friendliest staff i have ever had the pleasure to meet...Eka,Semba,Kutut ....thankyou, you all made our holiday so special!!.delicious breakfast,so much variety...free afternoon tea...free shuttle back and forth to Ubud,.....we found our Balinese haven..and will be back for sure!! Carly&Martin xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxycox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sungu for 4 nights and really wished we had stayed longer! We had a duplex room and stayed there with our 2 kids - aged 10 and 12. The room was clean and well serviced. and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were very nice -with lovely fresh fruit served every day. Our stay included a complimentary 30 min massage - which was great. The hotel offers a shuttle bus to and from the centre of Ubud town - which we used regularly. The staff offered us advice on best places to eat and activities to undertake, without being pushy. It really was a lovely way to start out holiday - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie-in-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is 2nd place we stayed in Ubud, I much prefer this place to the last one.
We got a complimentary 30 min massage which was lovely, also took the free rice paddy walk - which I highly recommend. The guide works at the hotel and the paddies are just behind the hotel. It's a beautiful and interesting walk explaining how the fields work.
the bathrooms were clean and did not smell of sewer. It has a open outdoor bathroom.
The rooms had air con but we didn't always use it. The bed upstairs had a lovely mosquito net over it.
The free shuttle is brilliant, they will drop you anywhere in town and pick you up anywhere at any time. This was much better than a scheduled shuttle with only one stop like a lot of other hotels. We would get dropped off for dinner then ask the restaurant to call and get them to pick us up.
We are a family with young kids and there were other families staying here to share the pool and fun with.
Free breakfast which was delicious and a variety of Indonesian, American and European menu.
Lovely people that work here.
The location is great as its about a 20 min walk out of town ( we always caught bus due to kids), there are enough restaurants within 5 minutes for dinner when you couldn't be bothered with going to Ubud centre. There is Warung Mendez for Balinese, a Indian restaurant, famous Sari Organik and Alchemy for juices, salads. Also Kue bakery. There is also a great place next to Warung Mendez for car hire/taxi and 80,000 ($8 usd) massages! There is no need to go to town :)
We had room Tunjung 1- for a family. Queen bed downstairs for kids, queen bed upstairs and day bed. Close to main pool, no private pool ( which we didn't want). Great for a family of 4/5.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsF37yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the sungu resort,my husband and myself and our two children aged 7 and 10.We found the resort very good,rooms extremely clean and serviced constantly,the daily breakfast that was included was great,with a good choice of traditional balineses dishes and western dishes.We stayed in a two bedroom villa with its own lap pool,which although was quite a lot cooler in temperature than main pool was good as we could watch the children and relax as well.The free shuttle to ubud centre was priceless,and the staff were beautiful natured.The only negative is that the noise from the neighbouring villas can be a bit noisy.I do recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We opted for the Deluxe Villa with a sharing pool. This is a two storeyed villa with a traditional gate, separating it from the other villas and common areas. This is one of four villas that are around a sharing pool. Very convenient as you can step right out of the pool into your villa. It is also very close to the resort spa.

There is a small bed on the ground floor, and a master bed with mosquito nets on the first floor. There is a TV, air conditioning, bed side tables, pool facing windows, and a diwan with cushions on the first floor. There is a mini bar, coffee unit and semi open bathroom on the ground floor. Perfect decor and ambience.

Though it is said that 2 couples could stay in this villa, I would say that it is best for one couple. There is only one bathroom, and no separation between the two bedrooms. It could also be for 4 adults, or for a couple with 2 kids.

The package deal offered complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and snack, rice paddy trekking, free shuttle to and from Ubud centre and a 30 min full body balinese massage for each person. You can choose between 4 different kinds of breakfast: English, Balinese, Indonesian and Sungu breakfast. Each breakfast offered a juice, a fruit platter, a main dish and choice of hot beverage – Nescafe, Bali Coffee or tea. The free shuttle is a boon as there is no local transport other than taxis. There is a locker facility at the lobby, not in the villa/rooms.

The staff at Sungu are extremely helpful, welcoming and always smiling.

Everything was extremely clean including the villa, the pool, the spa and the restaurant.

Payment is accepted in USD as well as IDR. Change will be given in IDR.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjumatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews